Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

3 stars
938 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
52 reviews
Good home away from home

It's a nice condo, close to Kihei beaches. The unit is on the first floor and the lanai is... See full review

  • kawaii112
  • Sep 24, 2013
Great trip.

it was really awesome. i had a lot of fun and traveled all across the island saw a lot of stuff.... See full review

  • cyrus2572
  • Aug 11, 2013
Sunny Kihei condos offer affordable oceanfront living for the family
Kihei’s oceanfront Kauhale Makai condominiums offer families a wide-open view onto the ocean and the neighboring islands of Lanai and Kahoolawe. A large lawn sprawls in front of the twin buildings right up to a narrow, peaceful beach, giving kids plenty of room to run and play. In addition to a swimming pool for adults, the property includes a wading pool plus fun extras like shuffleboard and a putting green. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom units feature a fully-equipped kitchen, allowing guests to cook “at home” and save on dining.
Highlights
  • Peaceful stretch of beach fronts the property
  • Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen
  • Shallow wading pool for kids
Location
The Kauhale Makai enjoys a quiet beachfront location in sunny Kihei on Maui’s south shore. The looming neighbor island of Lanai, just across the channel, adds an exotic element to the ocean panorama. Kauhale Makai guests also are within easy reach of Kihei’s many shops and restaurants.
Rooms
The six-story Kauhale Makai features studio, one- and two-bedroom condo units with air conditioning, private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, cable TV and traditional island décor. Most units offer ocean or mountain views. All units are professionally-cleaned in advance of guest arrival and stocked with starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Laundry facilities are on every other floor.
Dining
Kauhale Makai guests save by cooking in the fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and shops are plentiful within the area.

 

Recreation
  • Adult swimming pool, children's wading pool and Jacuzzi
  • Saunas
  • Shuffleboard and putting green
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)

 

Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Lahaina Town (21.5 mi/34.6 km)

Hotel Map

20.7579 -156.4574
Area served
Kihei, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport (OGG)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home Rooms

Two Bedroom Oceanview
This condominium includes queen bed; twin beds and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
Two Bedroom Oceanfront
This condominium includes queen bed; twin beds and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
Studio
Studio include queen hide a bed sofa or wall bed. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
One Bedroom
This condominium includes one queen bed and queen hides a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maui Dan
Business
Aliso Viejo, CA
Apr 27, 2013

Maui Condo # 612 was ok, but not bad for the money

The condo was easy to find on the drive over from the airport. I came in at night....so if you arrive during the day it should be even easier. The complex is nice, and right on the ocean! The beach is not all that great but it is a great walk and view. The condo is new, with an updated modern kitchen and appliances....unfortunately the carpet is very old in the bedrooms and dirty.....ceramic tile throughout the family room and kitchen. Beds are nice, but need to be updated with new mattresses... After two nights of sleep it was a rough sleep and could use more pillows. The bathrooms are nice, but a leak in the second bathroom by the toilet. Plenty of towels and that was a huge plus ! The ocean view from the bedroom is very nice and the sounds of the birds in the morning was incredibly awesome! Pool area was very nice, many friendly people you'll meet throughout the complex.....a very nice office staff as well. The location is great with many places to walk to or a short drive to almost any choice of restaurant and a few small shopping malls. (The location all in all was great) It surely is not worth over $200 per night but under $160 would be appropriate for the condition and all around cleanliness. I was able to find a good deal so I'm not complaining too much. I would recommend to all friends if the price was under $160 per night, or if it was much cleaner with updated bedrooms/carpet $230 would be excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Short walk to a couple fast food restaurants and a mall....but a longer walk to better night life and dinning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thaigirl22
Business
Oregon
Mar 20, 2013

Honeymoon

It's not the most luxury place for a honeymoon. But we loved it. It was great for the price we paid. We were close to everything and we didn't mind the drive into lahiana and other town. Our stay was amazing, we enjoyed staying here. We would come back again and recommend people. One thing that I was not as happy about was there was no wifi. Unless you have a password that the lady on the phone told us only the owner property have it. My husband use up 90% of his Internet while we were there. We only had iPhones and iPad on us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There's Safeway maybe less than a mile away from the condo. We cooked at the condo often. To help save money... On going out up eat. The condo have everything pot and pans ready for you to use.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RolandHannes
Business
São Paulo, Brasil
Mar 19, 2013

Fantastic couple getaway

Everything was great, the beach in front, pool, jacuzzi, full kitchen and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric from Ventura
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Sep 16, 2012

Kauhale Makai - Room 512 - 9/9 - 9/15/2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The complex is always clean. Our particular room came with a nice assortment of items for the beach (chairs, umbrella, toys, boogie board, etc...). It is an older building, but they have done a good job keeping it updated. It was nice to have a foodmart club card left on the bar for us to use. It saved us nearly $100 off our original $300 shopping bill. Nice pool, kiddie pool, and hot tub on the property. There's also grass volleyball court, horse shoes, and shuffle board court on the premise. Also has a nice grilling area (unfortunately we didn't get a chance to utilize it). I gave it 4 stars only because it doesn't have all the (overpriced) ammenities of the upscale resorts, but has all the comforts of a regular home. I would certainly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pauly G.
Business
San Francisco
Aug 17, 2012

Kihei Keeper

This was our second stay at Kauhale Makai, and it was even better than the first time, mostly due to the room being on an upper floor. (the 6th) This time I came to Maui with my parents and my brother with his wife, we travel separately living in different cities, and all booked different rooms. We all loved the rooms as they are close to the beach, (150yds) just up the street from downtown Kihei, (walking distance) but I like best that the rooms I have seen are 1 bdrm condo's rented out by the owners, and the staff do a great job of maintaining them. If I don't stay with family when I come to Maui, I will stay at Kauhale Makai in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Check out their activities, tours and rates when you book on their website, or attend the morning brief the staff will tell you about.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David of SJ
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 22, 2012

Good values & clean

We were nervous coming here but it all turned out really nice. This place operates like a time-shared. Each unit is own by different owner and some units are updated and some are not. Make sure you do a walk through before accepting. The ladies at the front desk has nothing to do with the condo. They are there to hand you the room combo, facility key, and the phone number of the condo management company. You have call to get any help. The room was really clean. It has all the beach stuffs for us to use (i.e. 4 chairs, umbrella, boogie board, beach towels, inflatable toys, beach ball, etc). It was a real plus. The only thing you need is to rent the snorkel gears from local shops for $1.5/day. There are no daily maid service. The location is not so great. The complex is next to the beach but it's separated by a football field - can't build on it for some reason. There are no one on this stretch of the beach. It's about 3 miles from the nearest tourist traps. Down the street in the other direction is little shady.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe O Le, 808 Bistro, Coconut Fish Taco. These were all 4 starts Yelp places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PTay
Business
Sacramento, California
Jul 18, 2012

Very nice and comfortable

At first we were given a unit facing the parking lot and from the corner of the balcony we could see the ocean in the distance. We had paid for an ocean view and we were not happy with the room. However, after making a couple of phone calls we were given a much more satisfying room with nicer view of the facility and ocean. The complaint was that each night we were smelling cigarette smoke in our room (coming through the vent system). We told the office and they were aware of the issue and trying to find out who was breaking the rules and smoking in their unit. Also, we checked in on July 4th and no one was in the office due to the holiday. This made it difficult to check into a room and would have been impossible had we not had our cell phone with us. The amenities in the room we had were very nice (full kitchen with needed equipment), but all units are not equal so beware of that issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The comedy/magic act at Warren and Annabelle's was extremely enjoyable. Would definitely recommend going.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New York Mark
Business
Horseheads, NY
May 28, 2012

Peaceful stay in Unit 122

We had a great 7 day stay at this condo complex. Our room was very clean, modern & well stocked when we arrived. It had a keyless entry which made our late arrival very convenient. All cookware and appliances for cooking were provided, and there were beach items (towels, boogie boards, etc) in the closet. Tons of closet space & drawer storage! The interior was comfortable & nicely decorated. This is a ground level room located toward the rear of the courtyard. Not much of an ocean view, but the courtyard was beautiful! The room was convenient to the parking lot, and didn't require stairs or elevator to access. The courtyard was beautifully maintained daily, and had a putting green, swimming pool, wading pool, hot tub, volleyball net & dual shuffleboard court. The ocean was just a short walk across the lawn and dunes. The beach is a nice hard sand walking beach, with lots of washed up coral to investigate. It is not a swimming beach. The nice sandy swimming beaches begin about a mile south at Cove Park and southward from there. There are a series of gas grills in the center of the courtyard which were meticulously maintained. We cooked several meals on them during the week. I was a great place to cook & meet your neighbors! The condo complex has several laundry rooms available, and there is a concierge desk to help plan your activities (and get you good discounts too!) The condo complex is in a quieter area, away from the touristy areas, but is a central, convenient driving distance to just about everything. It is only 20 minutes from the airport & large shopping areas of Kahului. It is about 15 minutes from the Ma'alaea Harbor activities. Our favorite beach was Big Beach, all the way down on the south end of the island, and even that was only 20 minutes away. There are a number of local grocery stores, restaurants, craft markets, etc, just south of the complex, some even in walking distance. We took the Road to Hana Tour, and they conveniently picked us up right at the condo complex. This is a "must do" tour when visiting this island! If you are looking for a nice peaceful place to base your Maui vacation from, the Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo & Home is a great choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Saturday morning there is a wonderful local swap meet/flea market in Kahului on the college grounds. Prices and variety there were better than the local craft markets, and most items were made in Maui/Hawaii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hey mom
Business
Denver
Apr 6, 2012

perfect little getaway!

We stayed for 9 days and enjoyed every bit of it. The putting green was a big hit with our 12 year old son, the hot tub was perfect at the end of a long beach or hiking day! The staff was super helpful and accommodating! Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VondaMay
Business
lynchburg\ danville
Mar 25, 2012

my maui vacation

The condo was excellent, some of the people were rude, some were not sociable, but my overall stay was a good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The south side offers more to do and the people are friendlier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top