Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

3 stars
View map of 938 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Kauhale-Makai---Maui-Condo-and-Home-Hotel-Exterior
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
42 reviews
Spur of the Moment Trip

My Girlfriend and I really wanted to do something adventurous so we booked a room here a couple... See full review

  • Robert M.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Perfect For a Family of Five

Location, Location for a family on the go, its not to far and not to close. For those times of rest... See full review

  • FnAVilla
  • Jun 17, 2014
Kihei’s oceanfront Kauhale Makai condominiums offer families a wide-open view onto the ocean and the neighboring islands of Lanai and Kahoolawe. A large lawn sprawls in front of the twin buildings right up to a narrow, peaceful beach, giving kids plenty of room to run and play. In addition to a swimming pool for adults, the property includes a wading pool plus fun extras like shuffleboard and a putting green. All studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom units feature a fully-equipped kitchen, allowing guests to cook “at home” and save on dining.
Location
The Kauhale Makai enjoys a quiet beachfront location in sunny Kihei on Maui’s south shore. The looming neighbor island of Lanai, just across the channel, adds an exotic element to the ocean panorama. Kauhale Makai guests also are within easy reach of Kihei’s many shops and restaurants.
Dining
Kauhale Makai guests save by cooking in the fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and shops are plentiful within the area.

 

Rooms
The six-story Kauhale Makai features studio, one- and two-bedroom condo units with air conditioning, private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, cable TV and traditional island décor. Most units offer ocean or mountain views. All units are professionally-cleaned in advance of guest arrival and stocked with starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Laundry facilities are on every other floor.
Highlights
  • Peaceful stretch of beach fronts the property
  • Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen
  • Shallow wading pool for kids
Nearby attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (8.8 mi/14.2 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • Lahaina Town (21.5 mi/34.6 km)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
Recreation
  • Adult swimming pool, children's wading pool and Jacuzzi
  • Saunas
  • Shuffleboard and putting green
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home also booked these hotels.

★★★
$134
3.9 / 5 194 reviews
★★★
$152
4.3 / 5 461 reviews
★★
$105
3.5 / 5 304 reviews
★★★
$140
4.3 / 5 24 reviews
★★★★
$309
4.2 / 5 339 reviews
★★
$99
3.1 / 5 118 reviews
★★★
$149
3.6 / 5 106 reviews
★★★
$187
4.2 / 5 23 reviews

Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home Rooms

Two Bedroom Oceanview
This condominium includes queen bed; twin beds and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
Two Bedroom Oceanfront
This condominium includes queen bed; twin beds and queen hide a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
Studio
Studio include queen hide a bed sofa or wall bed. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.
One Bedroom
This condominium includes one queen bed and queen hides a bed sofa. All condominium resorts have a swimming pool and are close to shopping, restaurants, golf, activities and the airport. All resorts have BBQ's. All condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, telephones, color cable TV or complex satellite and private lanais. All condominiums are considered a "home away from home" and the inventory includes microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishes, glasses, silverware, pots and pans, utensils, baking dishes, towels, lines, iron, vacuum, alarm clock and many other items to make your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. Accommodations are professionally cleaned and prepared for all guests prior to arrival, and include starter supplies of paper products and soaps. Additional supplies are the guest's responsibility. Maid service is available for an additional fee.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bomoblini
Family
Chicago
Dec 19, 2011

Great time

Everithing was great.Location,view,service,and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert M.
Couples
Lindenhurst
Apr 6, 2015

Spur of the Moment Trip

My Girlfriend and I really wanted to do something adventurous so we booked a room here a couple weeks before time and for the price we paid the room was astounding. Although we didn't spend as much time in the room, it served its purpose, had a very nice lanai and close to the bbq pits/ beach to walk around. Very clean place as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
William K.
Couples
Santa Rosa
Jan 6, 2015

I didn't get the Condo Specified

I ordered up an Oceanfront and Got an Ocean view. The company did reimburse me though. The complex was having work done which was very noisy, but it was conducted during the day, which was okay, because I didn't plan to spend my day in, but rather away touring the island. My unit was a little on the rough side of being in need of a remodel. Parking spaces were very narrow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FnAVilla
Family
Vacaville, CA
Jun 17, 2014

Perfect For a Family of Five

Location, Location for a family on the go, its not to far and not to close. For those times of rest the beach is right there, but not so close that you are a nervous wreck watching your kids. Very clean. Fully stocked kitchen for cooking. The only thing that threw us off was the TP supply. Other than that it was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Work the coupons! If you have time to listen to a time share spiel. Big time savings... Also found on a few things that if you go straight to the web sight of the activity or directly to there booth its a lot less.

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui X
Family
boston
Jan 6, 2014

Excellent location, clean and mostly updated

Excellent location, clean and mostly updated kitchen and bathroom. Bedroom and living room could be more updated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui Tacos

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Hui Hou
Menlo Park, CA
Nov 26, 2013

Great Location

This condo complex is at the north end of Kihei, which makes driving to various location a breeze. Going down various beaches along Kihei, Wailea, and Mackena are all within 10-15 minutes, as well as going to Kahului and Lahaina is a short drive. Complex is a little older in appearance but kept in good shape and clean. Gas grills and jacuzzi are a plus for making dinners after a day out, and a good place to meet other friendly travelers. Condo condition and amenities vary according to owner usually.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Safeway and a complex of various shops including Hilo Hattie are just a short drive near the complex toward Pilani Hwy; it's a good way to avoid traffic going to Kihei Road to other supermarkets.

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kawaii112
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 24, 2013

Good home away from home

It's a nice condo, close to Kihei beaches. The unit is on the first floor and the lanai is practically next to the parking lot. That makes for easy loading/unloading, but also made me feel a little unsafe. Very quiet, didn't hear the neighbors when we were in the unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy family vaca
Family
Central California
Sep 17, 2013

Family getaway

We had a great time. The condo was more than we expected. The clerk and all staff were very helpful. The condo had great amenities with items we could use on the beach, which was nice since we did not have to rent or buy them. The concierge was very helpful. We plan on going back and will stay here again. Everyone we talked to.could not believe the real we got for a rental car, condo and airfare! Thank you again, it was a memorable family vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use coupons and try local only restauraunts and shops.

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thaigirl22
Couples
Oregon
Mar 20, 2013

Honeymoon

It's not the most luxury place for a honeymoon. But we loved it. It was great for the price we paid. We were close to everything and we didn't mind the drive into lahiana and other town. Our stay was amazing, we enjoyed staying here. We would come back again and recommend people. One thing that I was not as happy about was there was no wifi. Unless you have a password that the lady on the phone told us only the owner property have it. My husband use up 90% of his Internet while we were there. We only had iPhones and iPad on us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There's Safeway maybe less than a mile away from the condo. We cooked at the condo often. To help save money... On going out up eat. The condo have everything pot and pans ready for you to use.

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RolandHannes
Couples
São Paulo, Brasil
Mar 19, 2013

Fantastic couple getaway

Everything was great, the beach in front, pool, jacuzzi, full kitchen and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kauhale Makai - Maui Condo and Home

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric from Ventura
Friends
Ventura, CA, USA
Sep 16, 2012

Kauhale Makai - Room 512 - 9/9 - 9/15/2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The complex is always clean. Our particular room came with a nice assortment of items for the beach (chairs, umbrella, toys, boogie board, etc...). It is an older building, but they have done a good job keeping it updated. It was nice to have a foodmart club card left on the bar for us to use. It saved us nearly $100 off our original $300 shopping bill. Nice pool, kiddie pool, and hot tub on the property. There's also grass volleyball court, horse shoes, and shuffle board court on the premise. Also has a nice grilling area (unfortunately we didn't get a chance to utilize it). I gave it 4 stars only because it doesn't have all the (overpriced) ammenities of the upscale resorts, but has all the comforts of a regular home. I would certainly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top