$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 6, 2014 Check-out: Nov 9, 2014

Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

3 stars
1310 Uluniu Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
26 reviews
Wonderful value stay

Hale Kai O Kihei is a great little condo with prime beach access. The walk from your condo door to... See full review

  • Dr Steph
  • Sep 16, 2014
Good stay for this price!

It seemed every unit was different. So we were lucky to have a really good one. It was clean and... See full review

  • happy german vacationer
  • Jan 3, 2014
Fully-equipped Kihei condos offer oceanfront views and extra value
Located on the beachfront in sunny Kihei, the three-story Hale Kai O Kihei offers guests fully-equipped condos and a peaceful setting perfect for island-style living. Every unit faces the ocean, providing magnificent sunsets, views of Lanai and Kahoolawe and whale watching in winter. Families and friends save by sharing a unit and cooking in the full kitchen. The property features an oceanfront swimming pool, shuffleboard and barbecue areas, plus free parking and free in-unit Wi-Fi. Shops and restaurants are within walking distance.
Highlights
  • Free parking, free in-unit Wi-Fi and oceanfront views from each condo balcony
  • Fully-equipped kitchen
  • Swimming pool, shuffleboard and barbecue areas
Location
Situated beachfront in sunny Kihei, on Maui's south shore, guests at Hale Kai O Kihei enjoy sweeping ocean views of neighboring islands Lanai and Kahoolawe, plus incredible whale watching in winter. A grove of coconut trees and swimming pool grace the manicured front lawn, which overlooks a secluded white sand beach. Shops and restaurants are within walking distance of Hale Kai O Kihei.

 

Rooms
The three-story Hale Kai O Kihei offers one- and two-bedroom privately-owned condo units, all directly facing the oceanfront. Each unit includes a private balcony, fully-equipped kitchen, air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV/VCR and free Wi-Fi. Laundry facilities are available on site.

 

Dining
Guests save by cooking in the fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants and other shops are within walking distance of Hale Kai O Kihei.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool
  • Shuffleboard
  • Barbecue areas
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (8.6 mi/13.9 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (15.1 mi/24.4 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.4 mi/37.6 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (47.5 mi/76.4 km)
Policies and fees
NOTE: The property is strictly non-smoking. Guests who will smoke in the property will be charged a $350 fee. Smoking is also not allowed in the balcony.


CHECK-IN PROCEDURES & DRIVING DIRECTIONS

If you arrive in Kihei before 5:00 PM (WEEKENDS BEFORE 3:30 PM):
Go directly to our new Check-in & Guest Services Center. Register and pick up your check-in packet and keys (exceptions on some holidays).


Directions from the Kahului Airport to our Check-in & Guest Services Center:
(Drive time is approximately 20 minutes):
1. Follow Hwy 311 (Mokulele Hwy) to Kihei
2. Hwy 311 (Mokulele Hwy) will become Hwy 31 South (Piilani Hwy)
3. Drive past 2 stoplights
4. Turn LEFT at the 3rd stoplight on Ohukai Rd.
5. Take 1st RIGHT turn on (Huku Li'i Pl.) immediately after Tesoro gas station.
6. Immediately turn RIGHT into the Kihei Gateway Plaza. The Check-in & Guest Services Center is on the ground floor, suite #102 (phone 874-5151) (Weekends #204 upstairs; phone 879-2778).


If you arrive in Kihei after 5:00 PM (WEEKENDS AFTER 3:30 PM):
Go directly to the condominium property and call the posted number or the emergency cell# 264-2454 for your keys.


Directions from the Kahului Airport to Hale Kai O' Kihei:
(Drive time is approximately 22 minutes):
1. Follow Hwy 311 (Mokulele Hwy) to Kihei
2. Hwy 311 (Mokulele Hwy) will become Hwy 31 South (Piilani Hwy)
3. Turn RIGHT on E. Lipoa St.
4. Turn RIGHT on Uluniu Rd.
5. The HALE KAI 'O KIHEI is on the left side - 1310 Uluniu Rd.
6. In the middle of the building, there is a hallway leading to the front office
7. Use the courtesy phone to call 264-2454 for your keys

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7489 -156.4575
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport
Area description
Location (Character limit: 250) Hale Kai O Kihei is conveniently located on a beautiful white sand beach. The property is only a short 20 minute drive from Kahului Airport. Many shops and restaurants are within walking and driving distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property Rooms

1 Bedroom
All the 1 Bedroom units at Hale Kai O Kihei have unobstructed views of the Beautiful Pacific Ocean. You can enjoy a Hawaiian sunset or watch Humpback whales frolic in their winter playground from your private lanai. Each unit comes equipped with a full kitchen, air conditioning, cable TV, Telephone and answering machine, hair dryer and beach towels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
There are no restaurants located directly on the property, however there are many within walking and driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Ga.
Jun 25, 2011

Great place to stay!

Late check in was a breeze. The best thing about unit 108 was that it was on the ground floor and ALL units are only about 30 feet from the beach. You look out your sliding glass door, or walk out it, and there's the beach, the surf, Lanai, Molokini, and that other island. The view is perfect. You can see brilliant sunsets. The beach is great for walking or sunbathing, or moon gazing. In June it's cooler in Hawaii than Atlanta! The main problem with the units is that those whose main bedroom is the first room you enter from the parking lot, ours was, it's safe to assume most are, gets all of the morning sun. In June sunrise if 5:30 am. Our unit was in serious need of "Black out" curtains. Many units don't have but one air conditioner and it's in the west side of the condo. It's difficult to get the bedroom as cool as the rest of the place. Our unit had a ceiling fan which we left running 24/7. It did a fair job of cooling us. The grocery store (Ward's)? is a short stroll around the corner. The barber shop is next to the grocer. The barbers are women. You need to be very specific when ordering a haircut. Don't use their number system. Tell them in inches how much hair you want left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

I think it's great to dine in, but "She who must be obeyed" loves to dine out, and who can blame her? You're in Maui for crying out loud.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
May 15, 2011

Great package: hotel, air and car!!

It was a condo. It was WONDERFUL!!! Exceeded our expectations! Clean, beautiful, convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

excellent snorkeling just down the road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Littleton, CO
Mar 12, 2011

Spectacular Ocean Front View!

What a cozy, quiet and comfortable condo, right on the beach - literally! All 60 of the condos in this complex have full ocean front views. The view was absolutely spectacular. While the condo is not new and in some cases, shows a little wear and tear, overall it was a very nice place to stay and the location is out of this world. The kitchen had everything we needed and there were lots of extras we did not expect, like beach chairs, suntan lotion and board games. We had a small issue with our safe that was taken care of very quickly. We were on the third floor and there is no elevator - but we didn't mind, as the view more than made up for it. The condo location is one block off the main road yet close enough to walk to restaurants and a supermarket. You will not find luxury in this condo. What you will find is an obstructed view of the ocean, a clean, cozy and comfortable condo, one block off the main road. This is our third year in Maui and the first two we stayed at a hotel. Having a condo versus the hotel was more like home and we really enjoyed being able to cook, do laundry and have a nice living room to just hang around. We look forward to staying there next year....for 3 weeks instead of 2!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
badsign
Business
suisun city
Feb 27, 2011

great location and price

central location,free parking,very close parking,fantastic view's,room was totally updated. very nice grounds(cleaned and mowed).no dining on-site,but close to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 2, 2011

Excellent location with ocean view

This condo complex (not a hotel) is at a very good location in Kihei. Every condo has its patio (lanai) facing the ocean. The location is quiet too and is not on a busy road. The rooms are dated in terms of the keys, furniture and carpet but the room is stuffed with tons of kitchenware, beach towels etc. The view from the patio more than makes up for these minor flaws. We spent several of our evenings watching the sunset from the lanai. We had a good time in this location; it's perfect for anyone who wishes to use the kitchen as part of a longer stay rather than eat out every time as the location is close to a lot of restaurants on S Kihei Rd and grocery stores as well. What we did not like was that when we arrived at the location on the first today, we came to know there was no on-site office. We had to call the managers up and then drive to their office (around 3 miles away) to checkin/pick up the keys and come back to the location. It would be nice if we had been informed of this earlier either through email or phone. We did mention this to the management and they weren't even apologetic and said it was [...]'s responsibility to inform us (basically passing the buck). But, other than this, it was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aloha, Oregon
Oct 24, 2010

Little extras

There were those little extras that you really appreciate. Beach chair and umbrella. Magnifing mirror. Extra pillows. The kitchen was well stocked. Everything was clean and in working order. The Lanai was the best part. We ate all our meals there and spent many hours just soaking in the views. We were able to walk for groceries, to eat out and a quilting shop. Three snorkel places in walking distance. SHort drive to some of the best South Maui beaches. Would have liked a few more towels and an extra bar of soap. Otherwise, we'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Maluaka(Makena)Beach near the Westin Maui Prince. Good snorkeling, swimming, facillities and beach area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Ray
Business
Portland
Apr 30, 2010

Great value!

This place was in a great location. The view from the room was amazing. Everynight we were able to watch the sunset from our private balcony. There is a great grocery story about a block away where we bought food to cook in our fully stocked kitchen! Walk the long stretch of beach out front or talk a drive down to Kam 2 to swim!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Times grocery store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ron and deb
Business
lincoln, california
Apr 29, 2010

Place on the beach

quiet location and access to so much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Buffalo, Michigan
Apr 9, 2010

Fantastic Family Getaway

This trip was great. The condo was wonderful and so was the housekeeping staff. Housekeeping got right back with us when we called. We will not go back to a hotel after experiencing a condo. We had everything we needed and then some. We had a great time. We did the drive to Hana, went to a great luau, went on a 3 hour snorkel trip, watch wonderful sunsets and spent many hours just relaxing in the sun. Our family also enjoyed reading the journal in condo 102.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make the drive to Hana. It is beautiful. Take a cooler with drinks and a picnic lunch. We froze drinks. They were nice and cold by the time we wanted a drink. We took our time, made all the stops and swam in a waterfall. Also, we did not turn around and drive back the way we came. We drove all the way around. It was great. Begin your drive with a full tank of gas and lots of cold drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hale Kai O Kihei - A CRH Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harried Frequent Traveler
Business
Roy, UT
Mar 17, 2010

Very happy and impressed

I was a bit apprehensive when I reserved this, the reviews were nice but I normally stay in Hotels that are part of reliable chain. Well I can tell you not only was I very pleasantly surprised I was awestruck. The view from the condo is incredible, the condo I stayed in is an older unit maybe not the most modern in interior design but well maintained and felt like home. This unit had two bedrooms kitchen and nice living area, the lanai had table and chairs. Pool right outside my room and the ocean not more than a stones throw. Nothing between the ocean and the room but grass and sand. WELL WORTH IT STAY HERE. This is on my list of Top 10 places to return to. I plan on requesting this same room when I come back for pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top