$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

3 stars
2695 South Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
208 reviews
Birthday getaway

For the price, doesn't get any better! Location, location, location!!! Right by one of the beaches.... See full review

  • Roxy2014
  • Jun 21, 2014
Super Condo Location

Kamaole Sands was perfectly located across from 3 beaches. 1-2 min walk. Grounds are kept... See full review

  • sister999
  • Apr 21, 2014
Beachside Kihei condo offers savings under the sun
The Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort spreads out 15 acres across the street from one of south Maui’s most popular beaches, Kamaole Beach Park III. Landscaped with lush lawns, fishponds and tropical gardens, the resort is an oasis on the sunny coastline. Condos have a fully-equipped kitchen. Guests mingle at the complimentary weekly mai tai pool party. Tennis courts, large swimming pool, fitness center, two Jacuzzis and nine barbecue areas mean fun for the whole family.
Highlights
  • Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen
  • Unwind in the resort’s lush setting of tropical gardens, waterfalls, fountains and fishponds
  • Swimming pool, four tennis courts and fitness center
Location
Situated in the popular coastal community of Kihei, on Maui’s south shore, the Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort is surrounded by affordable dining and shopping, and is near several of Maui’s most famous beaches. Visitor destinations such as Iao Needle and the town of Lahaina are within easy reach by car. The beautiful Kamaole Beach Park III is right across the street from the resort with swimming, sandy beach and exotic views of distant islands.
Rooms
The Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort offers 196 spacious condos decorated in soothing Island tones. Choose from one-, two- and three-bedroom suites, each with a fully-equipped kitchen, private patio, air conditioning, safe (fees may apply), washer/dryer, cable TV, VCR (videos available for a fee) and ceiling fan.
Dining
Guests save by cooking in the fully-equipped kitchens. Within Kihei and the surrounding areas, both affordable and upscale dining options abound. Several eateries are located just across the street from the Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort.
Recreation
  • Swimming and wading pool
  • Tennis courts
  • Jacuzzis
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (14.6 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (11.3 mi/18.1 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Lahaina Town (26.0 mi/41.8 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (50.1 mi/80.6 km)

Hotel Map

20.7153 -156.4458
Area served
Kihei
Nearby airports
15 miles south of Kahului Airport (OGG)
Area description
Located on the south shore in Kihei. At Kamaole Sands, you're directly across from one of Maui's best beaches and within a 15-minute drive of five great golf courses. You'll also find a health club, bike rental services, snorkeling and windsurfing nearby (check with our Travel/Activity Desk for details). Whether you're more comfortable in or out of the water, Maui has activities for all ages and interests.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite Standard Limited View
1 Bedroom Standard Suite Limited View - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Balcony, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Standard Suite
1 Bedroom Standard Suite - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Suite Standard Garden View
1 Bedroom Standard Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
1 Bedroom Superior Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
2 Bedroom Suite Superior
2 Bedroom Superior Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, 2 Twins, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 6.
2 Bedroom Suite Deluxe
2 Bedroom Deluxe Suite Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen, 2 Twins, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 6.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Services
Tour desk
Internet
High-speed internet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
delhi
Business
Irvine, CA
Sep 27, 2009

Not So Great.

Our retreat to Maui at Kamaole Sands is a spacious getaway for two. But beyond spacious there's nothing left good to say. What appears to be well tuck on the surface lies an allergist hell. Stay away if you have allergies. Due to our luck, the maintenance on plumbing was serviced every morning of our stay. Six in the morning is the wake-call from the plumbers talking outside our room. Work started at 7am with shoveling dirt and the echoes of their talks bouncing off every wall of our room. Their work top-off with a mid-week shut-off of all water supplies for half of the day as posted the night before and hours beyond. So if you like a noisy and dusty room this place is for you. Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pearl City,HI
Aug 28, 2010

It was not worth it

The room was not clean. There was bugs coming out of the sink and faucets. I had to go to walmart to get foggers for the room before I felt comfortable and I also had to buy cleaning supplies and rewash the linens. I could not access internet for a week in my room. Shower in master bedroom did not work. The parking was too far away from the room. The curtains to the patio was falling down. The staff was not helpful when I called to get directions when I could not get into the gate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
getseries
Business
Morgan Hill, Ca.
Aug 17, 2013

disappointed

This may be a 3 star resort but my room was 1 star at best. Kitchen minimally equipped and not cleaned well. Furniture so old and worn stuffing is coming out of cushions and no pillows for the couch. It has a security screen door with no way to lock it, and a dead bolt door with no key. Not warm and welcoming and certainly not paradise. I have vacationed in this area many, many times and have never been so disappointed in my accommodations. P.S. I was hit with a $25 resort fee at check in that I was not made aware of ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
So Cal
Jul 5, 2010

Worst stay- dirty, poor customer service

This was by far my worst experience at a condo/hotel. Our condo was dirty, small, and stinky. It did not have enough linens for two beds. In fact, it only had enough linens for one bed. Luckily, the weather was nice and we did not require extra blankets. The staff was rude and sometimes unhelpful. I was overcharged for everything, including fees I did not incur. I had to argue with them about almost every charge they added onto our stay, mainly faxes. Not only did they charge me fees that were way over market value, they also charged me incorrectly and for services I did not use. Though a second receptionist confirmed that I was being charged incorrectly, the receptionist helping me refused to correct the bill. I finally got fed up with having to argue with them, and said, "You guys really nickel and dime people around here." The receptionist helping me yanked the bill from me, threw it into a drawer, and snapped, "Fine. I just don't charge you anything!" I honestly did not know how to respond to that whether she was upset and really was going to remove the charges from our account or she was really upset that she would become vindictive about it. It was hard to tell. We felt threatened. But if she said she was going to remove the charges, then we hope she'll follow through. I really do not want to have to deal with them any time in the future. Other problems we encountered: gate keys did not work, the lock to our condo was problematic- it was difficult to unlock, our condo floor was filthy, the rooms reeked of a moldy smell, ineffective staff, poor or lack of instructions/guidance from staff. The only saving grace about this place was location. Our lanai had views of the mountains, garden, and ocean. It was quite beautiful. I would have to say that the unit itself was quite nice, only if the staff had been more helpful and friendly, and the unit been kept cleaner. If these issues were improved, I would definitely return, but I would have to see some effort on their part. Otherwise, I will never return to this condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisfied Maui Traveler
Business
Northern California
Jun 16, 2009

Absolutely Horrible!!! Do Not Stay Here!

We have stayed at Kamaole Sands on and off for over 20 years, but given our experience during our most recent stay (in 6/2009), we will definitely never return. The first unit we were assigned was infested with bugs. One of the bathtubs had cockroaches in it when we first checked in. When we pulled back the blankets and sheets on the beds in the bedrooms, we noticed that the beds were full of small bugs (which we assume were "bed bugs.") When we complained to the Front Desk worker, he was very condescending and dismissive of our complaints. It was not until we told him that we were calling the Health Department that he finally assigned us another room. The grounds are well kept, but the condo units are old and many have not been updated. There are cockroaches everywhere (which is pretty much par for the course in Maui, but there really seems to be a problem at this complex.) The pool is ok, but the "Pool Monitors" pretty much prohibit any type of pool play, including Marco Polo (go figure.) So kids get bored very quickly when they are only allowed to swim laps. The pool is also the temperature of a bathtub and is not in any way refreshing. The Front Desk Staff is a joke. There simply is no customer service. We asked for some replacement garbage bags and had to wait over 7 hours before someone brought some to the unit. So if you like bugs, peeling grout, old tile, moldy smelling carpets, rattling air conditioners, lousy management and desk staff, then this is the place for you. If not, keep shopping for better accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 15, 2010

Will hit you for extra fees at check-in

The condo was not bad, but they really irritated me with an extra charge. I had paid the full advertised price plus "fees and taxes" in advance, then when we arrived they told us that they require another fee to check in. Kamaole Sands charges $15.00 as a "resort fee" and won't let you check in unless you pay. Not a huge amount but it seems unethical and downright sleazy to add a mandatory fee after you've already made a deal and paid. They know you're trapped -- you can't leave without forfeiting the full payment you've already made, but you can't use the condo you've already paid for unless you pay more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julep
Business
Spokane, WA, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Won't stay here again.

Unit was very dated and in need of new carpet, paint and general upgrade. Tiny bugs everywhere. Window air conditioner didn't reach bedroom area. Not the quality we had been expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Auto tour around flank of Mt Haleakala to Kula.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deal seaker
Business
seattle,wa
Aug 17, 2012

needs updating

Our unit was very outdated with cabinets in bathroom and kitchen falling apart, shower upstairs was very dirty in the grout. Living room was fairly clean with air conditioning. Having a full kitchen and washer/dryer and good (quiet) location is why I gave it this rating. I had asked for an updated unit, and we did see some that were, but the staff did not follow through with that. Location is good, quiet area of Kihei and close to all the activites we wanted to do. I was disappointed with our room but feel that if all the units were updated this would be a 4 star condo. I will not stay here again until all the units have been updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

grab the magazines/fliers at the airport and car rental places, quite a few good restaurant deals and good maps of the area. Foodland down the street had good prices with their club card

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
To Chicago
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 19, 2012

Good location, but very outdated and ... dirty

This was our long time expected annual vacation and it started with a cancellation of our fight to Maui. We missed our 1st night from our hotel stay. When we called the hotel we were told that there will be refund but we may keep the reservation. They didn't even let us stay a few more hours when we were leaving (late flight#. We were told we could, but there is a charge for each hr. after 12pm. The only good thing about this condo #9411 was the ocean view. When we arrived the condo was not clean, you could see remaining from the prev. visitors. There was a wet and smelly towel in the laundry machine, a lot of sand on the flour, dust everywhere, in one of the bathrooms there was a yellow liquid around the toilet bowl!!!. O, and yes, on one of the chairs in the living room there was a lonely sock left behind. There were no hand towels and yes, please bring your own shampoo and conditioner. You have to beg for these. The lotion brand is Office Max #and we are in Maui#. We were brave enough to use the laundry machine after trying to clean it and the sacrifice were three or our shirts. We got them well adorned with black/ brown mark. After all, we manage to get over all there "small " details and enjoy our stay in this beutiful island. But we will not be returning to Kamaole Sands. We've been any some of the other Castle Resorts locations #in Kauai# and we leve it there but this was a little disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 26, 2009

Getting worth

I've stayed in this condo complex many times but this time was my last. It's getting older and since each unit is individually owned not maintained well. For example, the shower in the bedroom's bathroom was broken. I had to use another shower which was small and inconvenient. I stayed 7 days so I was eligible for a midweek maid service. The maid just changed the towels and linens but did not clean anything. If you want a maid service it costs about $40/day extra. The quiet hours in the complex are 10PM - 8AM. However, it seems that people check in at all hours of the night making a lot of noise with rolling luggage etc. Ground-keeping crew will wake you up early in the morning. It's not a good place if you want to sleep in. Besides the shower, the mattress was quiet old and squeaky. Linens had holes and the pillows felt like bricks. I highly recommend bringing your own pillows if you plan on staying in this place. The AC in the unit was old and did not keep up. The bedroom did not have an A/C - just a ceiling fan. The fan was OK at lower speeds, but was rocking and rolling at higher. As I mentioned before, I stayed in this place many times, but it's been consistently getting worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top