$262 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

3 stars
2695 South Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
216 reviews
awesome family trup

nice hotel. Great location , beach across the street . everything you want you can find it there. See full review

  • Marius B.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great family vacation stay

Great location, facility, service. Walk across to the Beach park complete with showers and life... See full review

  • Satish of Simi
  • Oct 22, 2014
Beachside Kihei condo offers savings under the sun
The Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort spreads out 15 acres across the street from one of south Maui’s most popular beaches, Kamaole Beach Park III. Landscaped with lush lawns, fishponds and tropical gardens, the resort is an oasis on the sunny coastline. Condos have a fully-equipped kitchen. Guests mingle at the complimentary weekly mai tai pool party. Tennis courts, large swimming pool, fitness center, two Jacuzzis and nine barbecue areas mean fun for the whole family.
Highlights
  • Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen
  • Unwind in the resort’s lush setting of tropical gardens, waterfalls, fountains and fishponds
  • Swimming pool, four tennis courts and fitness center
Location
Situated in the popular coastal community of Kihei, on Maui’s south shore, the Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort is surrounded by affordable dining and shopping, and is near several of Maui’s most famous beaches. Visitor destinations such as Iao Needle and the town of Lahaina are within easy reach by car. The beautiful Kamaole Beach Park III is right across the street from the resort with swimming, sandy beach and exotic views of distant islands.
Rooms
The Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort offers 196 spacious condos decorated in soothing Island tones. Choose from one-, two- and three-bedroom suites, each with a fully-equipped kitchen, private patio, air conditioning, safe (fees may apply), washer/dryer, cable TV, VCR (videos available for a fee) and ceiling fan.
Dining
Guests save by cooking in the fully-equipped kitchens. Within Kihei and the surrounding areas, both affordable and upscale dining options abound. Several eateries are located just across the street from the Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort.
Recreation
  • Swimming and wading pool
  • Tennis courts
  • Jacuzzis
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (14.6 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (11.3 mi/18.1 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Lahaina Town (26.0 mi/41.8 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (50.1 mi/80.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite Standard Limited View
1 Bedroom Standard Suite Limited View - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Balcony, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Standard Suite
1 Bedroom Standard Suite - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Suite Standard Garden View
1 Bedroom Standard Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
1 Bedroom Superior Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
2 Bedroom Suite Superior
2 Bedroom Superior Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, 2 Twins, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 6.
2 Bedroom Suite Deluxe
2 Bedroom Deluxe Suite Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen, 2 Twins, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 6.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Services
Tour desk
Internet
High-speed internet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Runaway Adults
Business
Redding California
May 6, 2011

"Needs Maintance with a View"

We went to Maui to get away, soak up sun and snorkel. Maui was beyond our expectations. We have in the past stayed at the other end of the island above Lahaina. This time we were able to check out the south end of the island. The reserve at Ahihi Bay was way beyond our exspectations. The stay at Kamaole Sands turned out Ok. The room view was superb. The room was not ready at the check in time. We had to wait more than 1 1/2 hrs. (about 6 pm) I found the plumbing and interior appearance to not be maintained. Though they worked on the toilets, plugged the hole in the wall and replace the broken blinds, the carpets were pretty dirty and the couch stunk. The part that bothered us a lot was they charged a association fee of $25 plus tax. I thought we paid for it all in advance. We loved the area we stayed but would choose another place to stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We found ABC to be competitive for new items. We made friends where ever we went even at yard sales.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spanky & Snapper
Business
Clackamas, OR
Apr 17, 2011

Great location

This was our 1st trip to Maui. Our main objective was scuba diving. We also did alot of site seeing. As for the room, we paid for an upgrade for a garden view room, upon arrival they has us in a building with NO GARDEN VIEW, however they did change our room and we ended up with a great garden view. The hot water at the sink in the bathroom off the bedroom was not working in fact it was shut off under the sink because it was leaking. We didnt discover this until bedtime so we reported it the next morning and they did fix it that day. One of the gate key cards we were given would not work, leaving us stuck at the gate with cars waiting behind us and we could not back out causing a huge traffic jam. We reported this to the office, they reprogramed the key card and it still did not work at all. The 3rd time they gave us a different key card which only worked part of the time. We had to carry both key cards at all times and it was trial and error as to with one would work everytime we needed to open the gate. We used the BBQ area several times which was great and convenient and clean. Other than that the say was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Alot of great dining and shopping places within walking distance, or a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Johnstown, PA
Mar 12, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

We went to Maui to get married and enjoy the island. The location of the condo was within walking distance to all the shops and the beach was in a great location. The condo itself was fully stocked in the kitchen and overall we would go back and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mattoon, Illinois
Feb 27, 2011

We love the Kamaole Sands

This is our 5th stay at the Sands. This was one of the better units we have stayed in there unit 6-205. [...] The location is in south Maui, considered the dessert part of the island. That means that there is little rain, the winter is the wet season for Hawaii. We only had rain 1/2 of a day while there. There are lots of eating places within walking distance of the Sands. We like to eat at "Da Kitchen" real hawiian food. We also like the Denny's for breakfast, we tend to get up early the first couple of mornings and they are open 24 hrs. The beach and park are right across the street from the Sands. The street can be busy at certain times of the day but they always respect the pedestrians and stop to let them cross. We love Maui and plan to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop at Walmart in Kahului to get your basic food items. The milk, bread, and snacks seem to be cheaper here. If you shop at Safeway or Foodland, get a store card to get the special prices. The Sands provided us with a store card to Foodland which was so nice, no papers to fill out at the store to get one. I buy some souveniers at Walmart and Kmart too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Been to Maui a lot
Business
Redlands, CA
Feb 16, 2011

Won't stay here again

This resort was quite disappointing. Our room was not ready on check in and the condo needed a face lift. The 'air conditioning'in the bedroom was a portable unit that never blew cool air out.There was a partially eaten ice cream cone in the freezer and we had to call maintainance to fix the garbage disposal on the first day but had to call several times before the phone was answered. The resort is nicely situated at the south end of Kihei across from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fredjoe
Business
Oregon
Jan 6, 2011

kihei xmas 2010

Checkin/Checkout were efficient and helpful. Condo kitchen was lacking pot scrubbers, baking tray and over mits/gloves. Location was ideal. Safe for kids to head to the beach, easy access to grocerys and many great local restaurants. Recommend 808 deli and bistro, Cafe o Lei and McGillCuddies - all within walking distance. Quiet hours were really well observed - even with teenagers next door ! Pool was fine - nothing special, but kept the kids occupied. Watch out for the pricing with the Concierge travel experts. The presentation listed 2010 prices - suddenly upped these to 2011 prices, plus the taxs and fees. I saved $10 per person on a snorkel trip with Pacific Whale Foundation booking online directly - plus they offered a better time for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

808 deli and bistro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TDR
Business
Richfield, Utah
Jan 4, 2011

very nice accomodations at a reasonable

Beaches were great , golf was great(expensive til we found Maui Dunes GC) fancy restaurants too pricey for what you get. Condo very good. Overall a good vacation, Maui is abit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

[...] Overall a very good vacation experience. Would definitely stay at same place again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colubmus, Ohio
Nov 21, 2010

Maui Waui vacation

The condo was great. Nicely furnished and nicely addorned with kitchen supplies. We went scuba diving and the condo wasn't too far from the Harbor. Enjoyed the pool and being so close to the Ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui Dive Shop was great. Several locations and great staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland, CA
Nov 8, 2010

Enjoyed the condo

Overall, enjoyed the condo. I was there with my 86 year old aunt so having separate sleeping rooms (I slept on the sofa bed) and 2 bathrooms was great although the shower in the second bathroom was rather small and the fan in there was noisy. Really appreciated the use of the computers at no charge in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great variety of dining within short driving distance. The facility grounds very well maintained. Beach is just across the street with walking trail.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Nov 5, 2010

kamaole sand stay

the rooms were clean the staff was helpfull the china in the kithen was chipped and abused the floor was warped and the bedroom was along way from the airconditioner and it didnt cool down the bedroom. but the cieling fan worked just fine. so we able to get alittle air in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

moose mcgillicuttys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top