$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 2695 South Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Catrina
Business
Fremont, Ca
Oct 6, 2011

Can't wait to stay here again.

I love this condo, its big, beautiful and right across from an awesome beach. They were doing some repaving during our stay but it didnt stop us from enjoying our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay here you gotta try Freds and Moose's, two resturants with bars 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
enchantedraisin
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Perfect Honeymoon

We stayed 10 days and the first night, the room was terrible. Old furnishings, broken dishwasher. We understand that each room is independently owned (they are condos) but this room was not so good! We went to the front desk the following morning and asked them if there was anything they could do for us. No problem! They gave us keys to a few other rooms and let us go room shopping! Beautiful, new rooms! We picked a nice one with flat screen TVs, dvd player, new kitchen & appliances, beach chairs and umbrella (which we used every day!). The pillows were very uncomfortable and HARD. We were given shampoo, conditioner and lotion in every bathroom. One single use laundry detergent for our whole stay was not enough though. We asked for more and they said the first is complimentary but we have to buy our own after that. So make sure to bring more! We had air conditioners in both bedroom and livingroom which is absolutely necessary in Maui! We enjoyed the weekly Mai Tai pool parties! We also liked the pool and hot tubs! There was a hot tub that wasn't so hot which I lked because it is so hot in Maui. They also had another one that was REALLY hot and bubbly if that's what you like. Keep in mind that since these are condos, they are always under construction. Occasionally we had to listen to power tools and drilling. NOT SO NICE while you are trying to enjoy peace and quiet during the middle of the day at the pool! We decided to hit the beach instead which were very nice and right across the street! We would absolutely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
enchantedraisin
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Perfect Honeymoon

We stayed 10 days and the first night, the room was terrible. Old furnishings, broken dishwasher. We understand that each room is independently owned (they are condos) but this room was not so good! We went to the front desk the following morning and asked them if there was anything they could do for us. No problem! They gave us keys to a few other rooms and let us go room shopping! Beautiful, new rooms! We picked a nice one with flat screen TVs, dvd player, new kitchen & appliances, beach chairs and umbrella (which we used every day!). The pillows were very uncomfortable and HARD. We were given shampoo, conditioner and lotion in every bathroom. One single use laundry detergent for our whole stay was not enough though. We asked for more and they said the first is complimentary but we have to buy our own after that. So make sure to bring more! We had air conditioners in both bedroom and livingroom which is absolutely necessary in Maui! We enjoyed the weekly Mai Tai pool parties! We also liked the pool and hot tubs! There was a hot tub that wasn't so hot which I lked because it is so hot in Maui. They also had another one that was REALLY hot and bubbly if that's what you like. Keep in mind that since these are condos, they are always under construction. Occasionally we had to listen to power tools and drilling. NOT SO NICE while you are trying to enjoy peace and quiet during the middle of the day at the pool! We decided to hit the beach instead which were very nice and right across the street! We would absolutely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring all the food you possibly can from home, it is SO expensive even at the grocery stores in Maui. We packed our carry-ons with tons of snacks and food for our trip (that didn't have to be kept cold). We recommend shopping at Safeway which is pretty close, especially if you are a club member there the prices are alright. Enjoy going out to eat only for happy hours (Ocean's Bar and Grill was our favorite...$2.50 mai tais and $2 off every pupu and they were delicious). Also make a lot of food at the condo since you have a full kitchen and pots and pans...like breakfast and dinner. Only go out for lunch and happy hour and you will save a lot of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Florin
Business
Sacramento,CA
Sep 11, 2011

Nothing special

The place needs to be updated! You can get a better place for the price! Staff not friendly at all , and unwelcoming>

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to pay extra for using the pool and parking your car when you check in,mandatory!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bradlee
Business
Oahu, Hawaii, USA
Sep 7, 2011

weekend getaway

over all the experience i had was great, no complaints here, staff were professional, location of hotel was great, walking distance to the beach. Rooms were clean, area was much bigger then expected, quiet no noisy neighbors.. peaceful surroundings. short distance walk to the beach, shops and restaurants close by. Overall if u wanna get away from the fast pace life of the big city and slow it down a little i would recommend this place a peaceful getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maxu
Business
PA
Sep 1, 2011

Vacation trip

This condo was very pretty and well maintained. Overall had a good experience. WATCH OUT for an additional resort fee that was not very clear in the Orbitz package!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Familyof5
Business
soCal
Aug 31, 2011

Nice location

this place is a private condo rental, thereby it differs services from the hotels. Nice property area though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach right across from the condo area. Easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FinnArch
Business
Alameda, CA
Jul 8, 2011

Just What the Doctor Ordered

Very nice accommodations, close to beautiful beaches that are great for swimming, snorkeling and some surfing. When I go back to Maui, I will definitely try to stay at Kamaole Sands. Perfect for our family. We all had a great time. The Wednesday afternoon Mai Tai pool party hosted by the resort is worth stopping by for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Everyone talks about snorkeling at the Molokini crater as a "must do" while in Maui. We rented gear for the week and went snorkeling at several other coastal locations while we were there, the best of which was Honoloa Bay. Each of the other events were just as beautiful (or more so) that Molokini. But Molokini IS great - especially if you're only snorkeling for one day or with pre-teen children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF
Jul 5, 2011

Good place to stay.

This is a good place to stay on. Neat, clean and well maintained condo. The management is very helpful and co-operative. The only thing I was missing was the AC in bedroom. I had a ocean view condo building 10-202. you just need to cross the road to hit the beach. grocery stores and dinning are at walking distance. even after having dinner you can go for beach walk. would love to come back and stay at same place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Wailea Shopping mall is at short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corydon, IN
Jun 26, 2011

Our Home on the Islands

The Condo was great! It was in a wonderful location-right across the street from amazing beaches! The staff and other guest at Kamaole Sands were very polite and friendly. Be sure to snorkel and catch a Luau while in Maui!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The resort has great BBQ areas,so to save money grill out a few nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top