$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 2695 South Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
216 reviews
Yes, I could live there.

The unit and grounds very nice. A short walk to beach. Wish I could have stayed longer. I would... See full review

  • diana y.
  • Feb 14, 2015
awesome family trup

nice hotel. Great location , beach across the street . everything you want you can find it there. See full review

  • Marius B.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Beachside Kihei condo offers savings under the sun
The Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort spreads out 15 acres across the street from one of south Maui’s most popular beaches, Kamaole Beach Park III. Landscaped with lush lawns, fishponds and tropical gardens, the resort is an oasis on the sunny coastline. Condos have a fully-equipped kitchen. Guests mingle at the complimentary weekly mai tai pool party. Tennis courts, large swimming pool, fitness center, two Jacuzzis and nine barbecue areas mean fun for the whole family.
Highlights
  • Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen
  • Unwind in the resort’s lush setting of tropical gardens, waterfalls, fountains and fishponds
  • Swimming pool, four tennis courts and fitness center
Location
Situated in the popular coastal community of Kihei, on Maui’s south shore, the Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort is surrounded by affordable dining and shopping, and is near several of Maui’s most famous beaches. Visitor destinations such as Iao Needle and the town of Lahaina are within easy reach by car. The beautiful Kamaole Beach Park III is right across the street from the resort with swimming, sandy beach and exotic views of distant islands.
Rooms
The Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort offers 196 spacious condos decorated in soothing Island tones. Choose from one-, two- and three-bedroom suites, each with a fully-equipped kitchen, private patio, air conditioning, safe (fees may apply), washer/dryer, cable TV, VCR (videos available for a fee) and ceiling fan.
Dining
Guests save by cooking in the fully-equipped kitchens. Within Kihei and the surrounding areas, both affordable and upscale dining options abound. Several eateries are located just across the street from the Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort.
Recreation
  • Swimming and wading pool
  • Tennis courts
  • Jacuzzis
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (14.6 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (11.3 mi/18.1 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Lahaina Town (26.0 mi/41.8 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (50.1 mi/80.6 km)
Policies and Fees
The elevator will be under renovation from 30 Mar 2015 to 18 Sep 2015. Work hours will be from 7:30 AM to 10:30 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite Standard Limited View
1 Bedroom Standard Suite Limited View - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Balcony, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Standard Suite
1 Bedroom Standard Suite - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Suite Standard Garden View
1 Bedroom Standard Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
1 Bedroom Superior Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
2 Bedroom Suite Superior
2 Bedroom Superior Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, 2 Twins, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 6.
2 Bedroom Suite Deluxe
2 Bedroom Deluxe Suite Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen, 2 Twins, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 6.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Services
Tour desk
Internet
High-speed internet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
freelance traveller 2013
Business
Westerly, RI
Oct 15, 2013

Kamole Sands

From CHeck in to Check out this resort provided all the comforts of home and despite its size the place provides a well manicured and well manged place to stay. Located right across from one of the best beaches on Maui Kamole Sands is perfectly located to all activities and shopping and dining to make anyone's stay extremely enjoyable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Right up the street in Wakalia is shopping at the open air mall there little more pricey than Kehie's local shops but has everything a shopper could ask for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris from Chula Vista
Business
Chula Vista, California
Sep 20, 2013

Not all units are equal - staff helped us with a switch

We traveled to Maui in mid-September and it was HOT. The 2-bedroom unit we were given was on the top floor and the master bedroom was really a loft with a vaulted ceiling (read: no insulation). The sun beating down on the roof turned the loft bedroom into an inferno, and the tiny air-conditioning unit on the 1st floor was wholly inadequate to cool anything but about a 10-foot radius around it. We contacted the front desk and they were able to provide a different room but, due to a miscommunication, it was also one of the units with a vaulted ceiling. It wasn't until the next day that we were able to get a single-floor 2-bedroom unit, but it was worth it. All the while, the staff was very understanding and accommodating. The woman at the front desk turned a disaster into a very nice stay. In any case, if you need a two-bedroom, you should request a single-story unit. That said, this is a really nice complex with beautiful grounds, and it's located right across the street from Kamaole Beach Park III, which is nice for a quick swim or just hanging out. In addition, the road that bounds the north end of the complex leads directly to Pilani Hwy, so you can quickly be on your way to anywhere else on the island. By the way, there is a lot of excellent snorkeling in the Makena-Wailea area, so you really don't need to drive all the way to Ka'anapali. In short, I highly recommend Kamaole Sands and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great snorkeling at Maluaka Beach (one of the locations sometimes called "Turtle Town").

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nickname1234567
Business
California
Sep 19, 2013

Reasonable room, noisy construction

Condominium was nice enough, though there was some heavy renovation going on during the time I was there. About every day at 10:00am I would hear deafening power tools and tile saws working directly above me. Not a huge deal as we were out most of the time, but apparently nobody cared about our vacation schedule when they were planning major renovations. Otherwise was pretty good value, room was large and had nice amenities, but some minor things in the room were broken or falling apart and I could tell that the owner hadn't put any work into it for a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vital1381
Business
Santa Clara, California
Sep 15, 2013

Summer vacation 2013

We have stayed in Camaole Sands for two weeks in one bedroom apartments. Overall experience is very good, apartment was very clean, and also there is a cleaning service each 5 days. They vacuum sand, clean kitchen, change towels and bed sheets. There was two bathrooms in the apartment, which is very convenient. Full kitchen, quite large living room with patio. Location is very good, 5 minutes walk to the Kamaole 3 beach, 10-15 minutes walk to some shops and restaurants. About 10 minutes drive to Kihei downtown(shopping centers and restaurants). Kamaole 3 beach is very clean, in early morning you can see turtles there. 15 minutes drive to Makena beach and La Perouse bay. There is a swiming pool, not so big like in 5 start hotels, but enough to swim, half side of the pool is deep(for adults) and half side is shallow for kids. There are two hot tubes with bubbles, one is very hot(could be a little bit colder for summer), another is normal. Territory is green with highlighted fountains, BBQ places and some space to play ball. Cons: air condition is noisy (we used it during the day to cool down apartment and turned it off during the night)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe O'Lei is a nice place to eat. Reasonable prices and good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
getseries
Business
Morgan Hill, Ca.
Aug 17, 2013

disappointed

This may be a 3 star resort but my room was 1 star at best. Kitchen minimally equipped and not cleaned well. Furniture so old and worn stuffing is coming out of cushions and no pillows for the couch. It has a security screen door with no way to lock it, and a dead bolt door with no key. Not warm and welcoming and certainly not paradise. I have vacationed in this area many, many times and have never been so disappointed in my accommodations. P.S. I was hit with a $25 resort fee at check in that I was not made aware of ahead of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ari Happy Lady
Business
Texas
Aug 12, 2013

Feels like second home

The room itself was extremely organized and clean. It feels like going to a second home. The location of resort is located in an area where parks and other attractions are at driving distance. There is easy beach access at walking distance. I would definitely stay at this location again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Must do (am explore island) helicopter ride (pm), (winery noon) dinner cruise (pm) and (am haleakala park) definitely luau (pm)Explored the island during morning and noon time, then did one activity per day and it worked out perfectly!!! Although you definitely need more than 5 days to really explore island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TLC Relaxin
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 30, 2013

Overall good stay, but start was buggy, literally

Our initial room assignment was infested with cockroaches! When I immediately called the front desk to tell them we could not stay there, they tried to say it was the only 1 bedroom available and we would have to pay for the upgrade. I said NO WAY, you find us a room that is habitable. Suddenly a room was available. I was disappointed that management never followed up to apologize over the initial room that while being a newer unit had cockroaches literally crawling on the walls, all over the kitchen, and in every cabinet. The next room was very outdated but was clean and we managed just fine. It is across from a great beach, and a few blocks walk from restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Be prepared to walk a little, but Maui Taco's is great for fish tacos!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
To Chicago
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 19, 2012

Good location, but very outdated and ... dirty

This was our long time expected annual vacation and it started with a cancellation of our fight to Maui. We missed our 1st night from our hotel stay. When we called the hotel we were told that there will be refund but we may keep the reservation. They didn't even let us stay a few more hours when we were leaving (late flight#. We were told we could, but there is a charge for each hr. after 12pm. The only good thing about this condo #9411 was the ocean view. When we arrived the condo was not clean, you could see remaining from the prev. visitors. There was a wet and smelly towel in the laundry machine, a lot of sand on the flour, dust everywhere, in one of the bathrooms there was a yellow liquid around the toilet bowl!!!. O, and yes, on one of the chairs in the living room there was a lonely sock left behind. There were no hand towels and yes, please bring your own shampoo and conditioner. You have to beg for these. The lotion brand is Office Max #and we are in Maui#. We were brave enough to use the laundry machine after trying to clean it and the sacrifice were three or our shirts. We got them well adorned with black/ brown mark. After all, we manage to get over all there "small " details and enjoy our stay in this beutiful island. But we will not be returning to Kamaole Sands. We've been any some of the other Castle Resorts locations #in Kauai# and we leve it there but this was a little disaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glas
Business
Los Angeles, California
Nov 1, 2012

Nice place to stay with family

I would like to recomend stay in this resort. It equiped with everythink what you need for wonderful vacation and they keep all of them in good working condition. Stuff was very friendly and resolved any issue momentary. Common area include a lot of activities: exercise room, pool, wading pool, family spa, four tennis courts, lobby computers can use free without limitation, wednesday Mai Tai Party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui Ocean Center/aquarium/, Boss Frogs morning snorkel trip to MOLOKINI

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kicks yeah
Business
USA
Oct 30, 2012

Kastle Kamaole

like it a lot cuase it was what i expected. they have lots of nice things close by. the suites are nice private and have a garden view the staff was polite. the nearby beach was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fred's is a nice place ot relax

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top