$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 17, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 2695 South Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Johnstown, PA
Mar 12, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

We went to Maui to get married and enjoy the island. The location of the condo was within walking distance to all the shops and the beach was in a great location. The condo itself was fully stocked in the kitchen and overall we would go back and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mattoon, Illinois
Feb 27, 2011

We love the Kamaole Sands

This is our 5th stay at the Sands. This was one of the better units we have stayed in there unit 6-205. [...] The location is in south Maui, considered the dessert part of the island. That means that there is little rain, the winter is the wet season for Hawaii. We only had rain 1/2 of a day while there. There are lots of eating places within walking distance of the Sands. We like to eat at "Da Kitchen" real hawiian food. We also like the Denny's for breakfast, we tend to get up early the first couple of mornings and they are open 24 hrs. The beach and park are right across the street from the Sands. The street can be busy at certain times of the day but they always respect the pedestrians and stop to let them cross. We love Maui and plan to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop at Walmart in Kahului to get your basic food items. The milk, bread, and snacks seem to be cheaper here. If you shop at Safeway or Foodland, get a store card to get the special prices. The Sands provided us with a store card to Foodland which was so nice, no papers to fill out at the store to get one. I buy some souveniers at Walmart and Kmart too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Been to Maui a lot
Business
Redlands, CA
Feb 16, 2011

Won't stay here again

This resort was quite disappointing. Our room was not ready on check in and the condo needed a face lift. The 'air conditioning'in the bedroom was a portable unit that never blew cool air out.There was a partially eaten ice cream cone in the freezer and we had to call maintainance to fix the garbage disposal on the first day but had to call several times before the phone was answered. The resort is nicely situated at the south end of Kihei across from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fredjoe
Business
Oregon
Jan 6, 2011

kihei xmas 2010

Checkin/Checkout were efficient and helpful. Condo kitchen was lacking pot scrubbers, baking tray and over mits/gloves. Location was ideal. Safe for kids to head to the beach, easy access to grocerys and many great local restaurants. Recommend 808 deli and bistro, Cafe o Lei and McGillCuddies - all within walking distance. Quiet hours were really well observed - even with teenagers next door ! Pool was fine - nothing special, but kept the kids occupied. Watch out for the pricing with the Concierge travel experts. The presentation listed 2010 prices - suddenly upped these to 2011 prices, plus the taxs and fees. I saved $10 per person on a snorkel trip with Pacific Whale Foundation booking online directly - plus they offered a better time for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

808 deli and bistro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TDR
Business
Richfield, Utah
Jan 4, 2011

very nice accomodations at a reasonable

Beaches were great , golf was great(expensive til we found Maui Dunes GC) fancy restaurants too pricey for what you get. Condo very good. Overall a good vacation, Maui is abit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

[...] Overall a very good vacation experience. Would definitely stay at same place again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TDR
Business
Richfield, Utah
Jan 4, 2011

very nice accomodations at a reasonable

Beaches were great , golf was great(expensive til we found Maui Dunes GC) fancy restaurants too pricey for what you get. Condo very good. Overall a good vacation, Maui is abit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

[...] Overall a very good vacation experience. Would definitely stay at same place again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colubmus, Ohio
Nov 21, 2010

Maui Waui vacation

The condo was great. Nicely furnished and nicely addorned with kitchen supplies. We went scuba diving and the condo wasn't too far from the Harbor. Enjoyed the pool and being so close to the Ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui Dive Shop was great. Several locations and great staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland, CA
Nov 8, 2010

Enjoyed the condo

Overall, enjoyed the condo. I was there with my 86 year old aunt so having separate sleeping rooms (I slept on the sofa bed) and 2 bathrooms was great although the shower in the second bathroom was rather small and the fan in there was noisy. Really appreciated the use of the computers at no charge in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great variety of dining within short driving distance. The facility grounds very well maintained. Beach is just across the street with walking trail.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Nov 5, 2010

kamaole sand stay

the rooms were clean the staff was helpfull the china in the kithen was chipped and abused the floor was warped and the bedroom was along way from the airconditioner and it didnt cool down the bedroom. but the cieling fan worked just fine. so we able to get alittle air in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

moose mcgillicuttys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Oct 30, 2010

Perfect Location.

The Resort is really nice, this was our second visit. The condo and the Gardens or very clean, we love it. We used the BBQ facilities often and spent a lot of time in the Pool and Gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Safeway Grocery is a 5 min drive away, make sure to join their free Club Membership for extra savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top