$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

3 stars
2695 South Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
213 reviews
Great family vacation stay

Great location, facility, service. Walk across to the Beach park complete with showers and life... See full review

  • Satish of Simi
  • Oct 22, 2014
Birthday getaway

For the price, doesn't get any better! Location, location, location!!! Right by one of the beaches.... See full review

  • Roxy2014
  • Jun 21, 2014
Beachside Kihei condo offers savings under the sun
The Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort spreads out 15 acres across the street from one of south Maui’s most popular beaches, Kamaole Beach Park III. Landscaped with lush lawns, fishponds and tropical gardens, the resort is an oasis on the sunny coastline. Condos have a fully-equipped kitchen. Guests mingle at the complimentary weekly mai tai pool party. Tennis courts, large swimming pool, fitness center, two Jacuzzis and nine barbecue areas mean fun for the whole family.
Highlights
  • Each unit includes a fully-equipped kitchen
  • Unwind in the resort’s lush setting of tropical gardens, waterfalls, fountains and fishponds
  • Swimming pool, four tennis courts and fitness center
Location
Situated in the popular coastal community of Kihei, on Maui’s south shore, the Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort is surrounded by affordable dining and shopping, and is near several of Maui’s most famous beaches. Visitor destinations such as Iao Needle and the town of Lahaina are within easy reach by car. The beautiful Kamaole Beach Park III is right across the street from the resort with swimming, sandy beach and exotic views of distant islands.
Rooms
The Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort offers 196 spacious condos decorated in soothing Island tones. Choose from one-, two- and three-bedroom suites, each with a fully-equipped kitchen, private patio, air conditioning, safe (fees may apply), washer/dryer, cable TV, VCR (videos available for a fee) and ceiling fan.
Dining
Guests save by cooking in the fully-equipped kitchens. Within Kihei and the surrounding areas, both affordable and upscale dining options abound. Several eateries are located just across the street from the Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort.
Recreation
  • Swimming and wading pool
  • Tennis courts
  • Jacuzzis
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (14.6 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (11.3 mi/18.1 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (17.8 mi/28.6 km)
  • Lahaina Town (26.0 mi/41.8 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (50.1 mi/80.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom Suite Standard Limited View
1 Bedroom Standard Suite Limited View - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Balcony, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Standard Suite
1 Bedroom Standard Suite - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Suite Standard Garden View
1 Bedroom Standard Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
1 Bedroom Suite Superior
1 Bedroom Superior Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans, 2 Bath. Maximum Occupancy 4.
2 Bedroom Suite Superior
2 Bedroom Superior Suite Garden View - 1 Queen, 2 Twins, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 6.
2 Bedroom Suite Deluxe
2 Bedroom Deluxe Suite Partial Ocean View - 1 Queen, 2 Twins, Queen Sofabed, Kitchen Facilities, Fans. Maximum Occupancy 6.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Services
Tour desk
Internet
High-speed internet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (213)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
213 out of 213
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve E.
Business
La Pine
Dec 22, 2014

Hawaii is beautiful

Overall this is a nice place. They are condos which are owned by others and managed by others. This is very little maid service. (unless you pay extra). Location in this project is very important. Our condo was located next a busy through fare into the complex behind ours. It had a lot of traffic right below our room. The room was outdated big time. (furnishings) Analog TV, very little to speak of as far as linens. Out dated furniture. Now, nothing wrong with it, just don't want to be in Hawaii and feel like I just rented furnishings for Motel 6. The ceiling fans didn't have lights so it was dark in the rooms. The fan in the living room buzzed real bad. Spend some money and up grade the fans to some nice ones, purchase some nice flat screen tv's and add a dvd player, up grade the furniture and bed linen and I give it a 4 star. I would stay again because it was in a great location, no resort fees, free parking and internet, pool and tennis. One block from the beach. $2000.00 up grade and this place is beautiful. Nothing you can do about the traffic. Just the way it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Read reviews.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackiecd
Business
las vegas, nv
Nov 25, 2014

Family Vacation

I was on a family vacation for a renewal of wedding vowels. I was searching for a long time with prices my needs location etc. I talked to on of the reps and she told me about a couple of other locations. I pulled up Kamaole and she said the rating weren't all that good. I told her but I love the way it looks and it is in a very good location. She went ahead and booked this condo for me. It was beautiful. The pictures don't do it justice. I had a wonderful view, This condo was so spacious. I didn't want to leave it. When and if I come back I will be staying here. Everyone should.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marathon Beach Mama
Business
Utah
Nov 19, 2014

Nice Hotel If You Get Lucky!

This is a nice place to stay if you get lucky. Kamaolie Sands has low standards for the owners of the condos. That means some condos are nice and others are dumps. Our condo was one of those dumps. The bed was a joke. It would have been more relaxing to sleep on a slab of concrete. We got close to three hours of sleep a night. The whole condo was outdated. A lot of the fixtures did not work. The hair dryer was corroded. We had bugs throughout the condo. Any food not put in the fridge was covered in bugs. The service man gave me a can of spray to take care of the problem. One bathroom didn't have hot water. The water tanks are really small. Enough for a 5 minute shower. The people above us had what sounded like college drinking parties from 7-1 am every night. The people next to us smoked on their patio. Basically we avoided our room the whole week. When I brought our concerns up the front desk personnel they acted put out. If I could say one nice comment it would be the pool is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kihei Cafe, Fat Daddy's, and Coconut Fish Tacos are delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Birthday2014
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 16, 2014

Birthday celebrations!

Location was good, but all the beach accessories in the condo we stayed in were broken and no spares available when asking the concierge. Big disappointment from the get go! Kitchen stuff all mismatched, 3 toasters not all working. Room service for clean towels, toilet paper, changed linens, etc. was suppose to be on 5th day, didn't show up until 8th day! Having 2 bathrooms was nice, but all in all built for short or very small people. A/C noisy, but at least worked. Bed uncomfortable & couch uncomfortable to sit on for too long!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Staying on the Kihei side gives you more choices for good snorkeling by the beaches! And FYI DA Kitchen is onolicious for afterwards! But Ruth Chris is for the BEST fine dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OTraveler
Business
New York
Nov 8, 2014

We mostly liked the unit we had,

Seems to be individually owned condos so your milage may vary. Ours was a one bedroom, with 2 baths, and a good size lanai facing the pool. Plenty of room, nice grounds, good view, quiet after 10pm, not much to complain about other than and the place could use some updating with the older bathrooms (and dirty shower curtain) and kitchen. only one A/C wall unit was a little loud in the living room and cooled it down enough for me but personally I don't like it too cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satish of Simi
Business
SImi Valley, CA
Oct 22, 2014

Great family vacation stay

Great location, facility, service. Walk across to the Beach park complete with showers and life guard. Condominium has everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Hut has great pizza at very reasonable price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abyss
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 26, 2014

Nice family getaway

Nice, clean, well-kept. Close to famous beaches and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chas. h.
Business
lake tahoe area.
Sep 25, 2014

Good resort, excellent location.

Stayed here several times, great location. Right across the street from Kam. 3 beach, walking distance from several good restaurants. Five to ten minute drive to Wailea beaches and a lot more excellent restaurants. Nice pool and the grounds are well kept. Free Mai Tai's at the pool on Wednesdays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fred's Mexican Cafe. Great food, good prices, excellent cocktails. Easy stagger back to the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaii Coastie Family
Business
Oahu, HI
Sep 22, 2014

Not Bad, Good Deal For What We Paid

So from other reviews, it seems that it's hit or miss on whether you are going to get a refurnished room or not. We did not. The room was about 5-10 years past it's prime. It was a good deal for what we paid, $150 a night for 1 bedroom with an ocean view. They do tack on an $85 one time cleaning fee even though they only clean once in the middle of your stay. The condo was pretty huge. Even though I'll list my complaints below, for what we paid, you can't find much that is anywhere near as big. It was the perfect thing for traveling with two young kids. Plus, it has two bathrooms and a washer/dryer. We showed up on island to find out that the house we rented online didn't come close to matching the ad and got out of there. That left us stranded with no hotel at 8pm. We found this place after a few minutes of looking. Even with it's faults we really enjoyed staying there. This is a long term stay kind of place and does not have the pampered resort type things (shops, massages, bar) so if you are looking for that, look elsewhere. If you want a comfy home type feel for a longer trip than this should work. Having a kitchen and a separate bedroom was a god send for waking up with the kids. Being able to make them breakfast while we enjoyed our coffee and woke up was great. Also, if you are going out and doing much, the washer and dryer is a must. We went hiking/swimming/exploring a bunch and always came back muddy or dusty or sweaty. The good: 1) Great location. Kihei is a cool town. The condo is a few blocks from a lot of good resturaunts and bars. It's far enough from everything though that it's quiet and chill. 2) Size. This place was huge compared to anything I've seen in Hawaii. I've lived on Oahu for six years and stayed at dozens of hotels on almost all the islands. This was the biggest place I've seen hands down. 3) Price!!!!!! Made any of the minor complaints just that. Bads: 1) Our place needed updating. It was kind of a mishmash of older appliances and decorations in there. The washer and dryer worked fine but was rusting through. A/Cs were loud and I am pretty sure the one in the bedroom was on it's last leg. 2) It was kind of dirty. Carpet needed replacing but they came in and at least shampooed it when I complained about it being dirty. The light fixtures could use a good dusting. Other peoples old stuff was left in the room. It worked out because we used two of the coolers left behind but some of the stuff was obvious junk and should have been tossed. All and all I would recommend this place if you can get a good price. By the time we had gotten to the condo and settled in I didn't care about it's faults. If I was to do it again, and I would stay here again, I would push to be moved into a nicer room. If you look online you can see they exist. Hope this helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do some looking around online and stay way from the guided tourist stuff. There are so many hidden hiking trails, creek swimming pools, and secluded beaches that you won't see if you don't expire on your own. Ignore most "Stay on Trail" signs and you will be rewarded with spectacular views and amazing hidden gems. We stayed 7 days And barely scratched the surface.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avie A
Business
Manhattan, New York City, N.Y.
Aug 21, 2014

"A Good Time"

I enjoyed my stay at the Castle Kamaole Sands. The staff was hospitable and courteous. It might be nicer if you would have more modern furniture. Yet, I would be more than happy to recommend it to my friends and family. Also, the location and the maintenance of the gardens are superb and beautiful. The trip to Hana was breath-taking. My eternal gratitude to everyone who made my trip to Maui awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Road to Hana is a must. Beautiful landscapes and picturesque shruberry, healthy livestock, Oprah's home location and warm and helpful locals make one want to stay permanently in Maui. Restaurants are in abundance and the beach is located across the street from the condominium. In fact, all beaches are public. Superb place to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top