$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Aston at the Maui Banyan

3 stars
2575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
123 reviews
great time

Nice clean and great location. very help full staff. See full review

  • gjdj
  • Jun 21, 2014
Great Family Stay

The staff were excellent and polite/professional. We rented a 2 bedroom that sleeps 8, which were... See full review

  • AZSuperMomto3
  • Aug 14, 2014
Save with a full condo unit, free Wi-Fi and free parking in sunny Kihei
Located across the street from Kamaole Beach Park II in sunny Kihei, the Aston at the Maui Banyan is an affordable condominium hotel. Families and friends save big by sharing a spacious one- or two-bedroom suite, which accommodates four to six people and features a full kitchen as well as washer/dryer. Free Wi-Fi and free parking add value to a stay.
Highlights
  • Suites offer a full kitchen
  • Camp Kaanapali on-site children’s program
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property, plus free parking
Location
Situated in the popular coastal community of Kihei, on Maui’s south shore, the Aston at the Maui Banyan is surrounded by affordable dining and shopping, and near several of Maui’s most famous beaches. Visitor destinations such as Iao Needle and the town of Lahaina are within easy reach by car. The beautiful Kamaole Beach Park II is right across the street from the property with swimming, a sandy beach and exotic views of distant islands.
Rooms
The Aston at the Maui Banyan is a condominium resort offering a variety of comfortable, island-decor accommodations. Rooms range from standards with two twin beds, private balcony, air conditioning and mini-refrigerator to spacious two-bedroom, partial oceanview suites for up to six people and equipped with a private balcony, two bathrooms, washer/dryer and a full kitchen. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi.
Dining
Save on dining by booking a suite with full kitchen facilities. Within Kihei and the surrounding areas, both affordable and upscale dining options abound. Just across the street from the Aston at the Maui Banyan, guests have access to several eateries.
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Jacuzzis
  • Tennis court
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (11.8 mi/19.1 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (13.1 mi/21.0 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (18.4 mi/29.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (26.6 mi/42.8 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (50.7 mi/81.6 km)

Hotel Map

20.7156 -156.446
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Located near the heart of Kihei, across the street from Kamaole Beach. Nearby or on-site recreational and leisure activities include, bike rental, golfing, luau's, putting green, snorkeling, tennis, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Maui Banyan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aston at the Maui Banyan Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed, 2 twin beds and a sofabed, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen, iron/board, cable TV, dataport, coffee maker and lanai.
Standard Room
Standard room with 2 twin beds. Includes full bathroom, lanai, iron/board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and color TV.
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed, full bathroom, kitchen, iron/board, cable TV, dataport, coffee maker, lanai and partial ocean view.
One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed, full bathroom, kitchen, iron/board, cable TV, dataport, coffee maker and lanai.
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed, 2 twin beds and a sofabed, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen, iron/board, cable TV, dataport, coffee maker, lanai and partial ocean view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Maui Banyan

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 123
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gjdj
Business
valley forge pa
Jun 21, 2014

great time

Nice clean and great location. very help full staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emma P
Business
Vancouver, BC
Apr 19, 2013

Great location dated facility

The staff are friendly and the location is great close to beach, shops, and restaurants. The room we were in was very dated shag rug, rusting air conditioner, hole in the ceiling of the bedroom were the fan used to be. The room was large and clean, no bugs or mold. I would likely not stay again as would prefer something a little more modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aloha Traveler 66
Business
Surprise, AZ
Nov 29, 2012

Good Location, room needs upgrades

This hotel has a beautiful entrance and landscaping surrounding the grounds. But, the room has a need of upgrades. We felt like we went back in time about 20 years. The towels were so cheap, that the lint came off the towels when drying after a shower. The room was very small. Got some kind of bug bites when sleeping in the bed. (maybe bed bugs). The best view was the top of the parking lot, where you could see the ocean and the hillside. Otherwise our view from our room was the 3 story parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe O'Lei was a wonderful place for lunch or dinner. Good Service and Great Food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonumanoj
Business
Fremont, CA
Nov 27, 2012

best place to stay and reach all areas in maui

we liked the hotel and its location, most of the nice places are located nearby and you can take this as center for all locations to reach faster. We enjoyed the hotel and trip, you really want to relax this is the place for you. Enjou

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peruboy
Business
Singapore
Nov 7, 2012

very quiet hotel

long walk from the center, but they provide bicycles to use for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a car and circle the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road to Hana
Business
H.B. California
Oct 25, 2012

Walk to the beach

Nice and clean, with beautiful landscape, well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Safeway store in Kihei on Pi'ikea Ave. and Costco near the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunscreen T
Business
Seattle
Aug 30, 2012

Twin beds for our Honeymoon! Worst customer service of all time.

Boo. Reserved a room with a "Queen or King" bed for our honeymoon. Got keys at the desk, but when we got up to our unit, it was two twin beds. Called the front desk- they said they'd call back. No apology. A few minutes later they call to tell me there's nothing they can do about it. I complain. Again, waiting for a callback- when the call comes they say they can offer me a condo unit with a King size bed- for a greatly discounted fee. Feels like extortion to me, When I protest they say that the reservation "requests" a King or Queen-sized bed, but doesn't guaranty either. Really? I refuse their buy-out on principle and ask for a discount at least. They say the manager will give me a call to discuss. Never heard from her, tho we weren't spending any more time in the room than we had too, it being Maui and all. The next night we were moved to a tiny, uncomfortable room with a TV from 1987. And an A/C unit that blasted the bed with ice-cold air. It did have a Queen sized bed, at least. On checkout I explained the mishap with the twin beds on the first night and heard my first "oh, I'm sorry about that" but, after checking her computer, the lobby clerk informed me that the rate is "non-refundable." Worst customer service I've had anywhere ever. I don't get mad easily, but this place had me seething within one hour of arrival. Maui is AMAZING- just don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waikapu
Business
California
Aug 28, 2012

Not what was expected

It was further than I expected from Kahului and Wailuku. Hallways was constantly wet from people coming back from the swimming pool and left a wet smell. The room was sufficient for one person, but not for two people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex01
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jul 6, 2012

Last minute getaway

Well like the subject states it was a last minute vacation so with that being said I can't complain. The room was fairly decent and spacious with all the necessities which was a plus. I was very happy to have all those extras. My only complaint is the TV's were very old and out dated, but when you're on Maui I guess you shouldn't be in the room. The location was great and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandecky
Business
Cypress, CA
May 2, 2012

Hawaiian Honeymoon

My husband and I booked our honeymoon just 2 weeks prior to the wedding. It was honestly the last thing on our minds. We books the Maui Banyon as a recommendation from a friend of a friend of a friend kind of situation and we really had no expectations going in except for a standard cheep hotel room with a bed and maybe a small fridge. To our great surprise and delight, we opened the door to a home away from home. It literally felt like our apartment back at home with a bit of a stereotypical Hawaiian feeling. Yeh, the decor and furniture was a bit cheesy, but that was kind of charming in a way and more than anything, we loved having all of the space. We stayed for 9 nights and the ability to run to the grocery store and cook a few meals on our own was a fantastic amenity. I hate going on long vacations sometimes simply because you eat out for EVERY meal. It was so nice to be able to cook a few meals on our own and just relax and enjoy the hotel room. So often people book a hotel room and the only reason you have for going into the room is for sleeping. I love the fact that we could spend some time in the room and sit down for a meal. I would never do that in a standard hotel room. And although we didn't utilize the blu ray player or the PS2 console, it's a great addition that we thought would be great for a family. I'll definitely remember this place as a go-to for any of my future trips to Maui. I did notice that the rooms are condos that the owners sublet so the rooms could very well vary drastically in decor and amenities since all of the furniture, decor and kitchen utensils/appliances/bake ware/etc. were purchased by the owner, not the hotel. The hotel provides the standard room service and they make your bed with fresh linens, clean up the immediate messes, empty the trash and refresh the bathroom towels. For what we experienced though with our specific condo, we loved it so it's definitely worth checking out another room in the complex that may have a totally different feeling to it. Overall, we loved it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a more spacious broken in home feeling with a bit of cheesy tourist charm. Great for families and a good value. 5 minute walk to the beach, several yummy restaurants [Fred's Mexican, Cafe O Lei (Really good drinks and fusion food. A little pricier, but worth it.) and even a Denny's if you're dying for mainland mainstream], a few small clothing retailers, gift shops and Ice Cream for the kids. It is at the very bottom of Kihei so your walk is a one way trip to the right if you want to get any shopping done. Probably helps keep the cost down, but we didn't mind the location since practically everything on the island is a 1 hour or less drive away, with the exception of driving around the eastern side of Haleakala (Road to Hana).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling at Molokini is so amazing. It was a 30 minute drive to the Harbor from Kihei. We saw humpback whales, dolphins, snorkeled with every beautiful fish you usually only see in aquariums, a small, harmless baby shark and green sea turtles. You just don't get that kind of experience on the mainland since most of the beaches are so polluted from urban living. We took the Maui Magic ship which from our research was one of the faster boats you can take. Minimal shade, but you get from dive spot to dive spot much faster so you see more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top