$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Aston at the Maui Banyan

3 stars
View map of 2575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
106 reviews
Best bargain in Lihue

The room is clean, comfortable, carpet free, and very functional. This is a great cost effective... See full review

  • Macbeth1234
  • Feb 28, 2015
great time

Nice clean and great location. very help full staff. See full review

  • gjdj
  • Jun 21, 2014
Located across the street from Kamaole Beach Park II in sunny Kihei, the Aston at the Maui Banyan is an affordable condominium hotel. Families and friends save big by sharing a spacious one- or two-bedroom suite, which accommodates four to six people and features a full kitchen as well as washer/dryer. Free Wi-Fi and free parking add value to a stay.
Location
Situated in the popular coastal community of Kihei, on Maui’s south shore, the Aston at the Maui Banyan is surrounded by affordable dining and shopping, and near several of Maui’s most famous beaches. Visitor destinations such as Iao Needle and the town of Lahaina are within easy reach by car. The beautiful Kamaole Beach Park II is right across the street from the property with swimming, a sandy beach and exotic views of distant islands.
Dining
Save on dining by booking a suite with full kitchen facilities. Within Kihei and the surrounding areas, both affordable and upscale dining options abound. Just across the street from the Aston at the Maui Banyan, guests have access to several eateries.
Rooms
The Aston at the Maui Banyan is a condominium resort offering a variety of comfortable, island-decor accommodations. Rooms range from standards with two twin beds, private balcony, air conditioning and mini-refrigerator to spacious two-bedroom, partial oceanview suites for up to six people and equipped with a private balcony, two bathrooms, washer/dryer and a full kitchen. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi.
Highlights
  • Suites offer a full kitchen
  • Camp Kaanapali on-site children’s program
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property, plus free parking
Nearby attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (11.8 mi/19.1 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (13.1 mi/21.0 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (18.4 mi/29.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (26.6 mi/42.8 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
Recreation
  • Two swimming pools
  • Jacuzzis
  • Tennis court
  • Golf (nearby)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at the Maui Banyan also booked these hotels.

★★★
$134
3.9 / 5 194 reviews
★★★
$140
4.3 / 5 24 reviews
★★
$105
3.5 / 5 304 reviews
★★★
$152
4.3 / 5 461 reviews
★★★
$209
4.2 / 5 31 reviews
★★★★
$309
4.2 / 5 339 reviews
★★
$95
3.4 / 5 102 reviews
★★★
$139
4.6 / 5 18 reviews

Aston at the Maui Banyan Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed, 2 twin beds and a sofabed, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen, iron/board, cable TV, dataport, coffee maker and lanai.
Standard Room
Standard room with 2 twin beds. Includes full bathroom, lanai, iron/board, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and color TV.
One Bedroom Partial Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed, full bathroom, kitchen, iron/board, cable TV, dataport, coffee maker, lanai and partial ocean view.
One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suite with queen bed and sofabed, full bathroom, kitchen, iron/board, cable TV, dataport, coffee maker and lanai.
Two Bedroom Partial Ocean View Suite
Two bedroom suite with queen bed, 2 twin beds and a sofabed, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen, iron/board, cable TV, dataport, coffee maker, lanai and partial ocean view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Maui Banyan

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunscreen T
Couples
Seattle
Aug 30, 2012

Twin beds for our Honeymoon! Worst customer service of all time.

Boo. Reserved a room with a "Queen or King" bed for our honeymoon. Got keys at the desk, but when we got up to our unit, it was two twin beds. Called the front desk- they said they'd call back. No apology. A few minutes later they call to tell me there's nothing they can do about it. I complain. Again, waiting for a callback- when the call comes they say they can offer me a condo unit with a King size bed- for a greatly discounted fee. Feels like extortion to me, When I protest they say that the reservation "requests" a King or Queen-sized bed, but doesn't guaranty either. Really? I refuse their buy-out on principle and ask for a discount at least. They say the manager will give me a call to discuss. Never heard from her, tho we weren't spending any more time in the room than we had too, it being Maui and all. The next night we were moved to a tiny, uncomfortable room with a TV from 1987. And an A/C unit that blasted the bed with ice-cold air. It did have a Queen sized bed, at least. On checkout I explained the mishap with the twin beds on the first night and heard my first "oh, I'm sorry about that" but, after checking her computer, the lobby clerk informed me that the rate is "non-refundable." Worst customer service I've had anywhere ever. I don't get mad easily, but this place had me seething within one hour of arrival. Maui is AMAZING- just don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jmc57
Business
hawaii
Feb 14, 2013

No Good

room was not what was on review carpet dirty outlets not working dirty old bedspreads I will not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mardi Gras Vacationers
Couples
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 15, 2009

Beware Condo/ Hotel with No Hot Water

This condo complex rents "hotel" type rooms with condos. Unforntuantly, th hot water heater is not designed to heat one room, but two. We never had hot water the people in the room next to us the entire time had hot water. The hot water heater was smaller than my 1000 sqft house. We always were woken up by the neighbors cooking breakfast at 6 am due to the thin wall and we had to smell their aweful cooking everyday. Thank goodness Maui has tons to offer as we stayed as little as possible in the place and only to shower with cold water and sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fustrated Traveler
Friends
Hillsboro, OR
Feb 11, 2010

POOR

I booked 2 rooms and learned that the HOTEL booked me for 4 ROOMS. THen they are trying to charge me for last cancelation when it was NOT my fault. Unless this is resolved to my satisfaction I won't go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fred's Mexican

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 14, 2010

old dirty stinky!

I checked out after 30 minuntes and looked for another place. The AC didn't work, the room stank like fish and i could here every luittle thing from the neighboring unit. Did not stay for more than 30 minutes and would like my money back!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
maui vacation for 5
Family
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Family vacation

I usually don't book hotels with less than 3 stars, but this was definitely a 2 star or less condo. I took my chance with Aston at the Maui Banyan since it was cheap, but I think should of stuck to a higher star hotel. The carpet in the rooms were disgusting with huge stains everywhere. I called front desk for more towels and tide detergent but never came, so I had to go down to the front desk to get it myself. The beds and pillow were old and worn. I felt all the springs from the mattress and the pillows were extremely flat. The shower head was horrible. The location is pretty good if you want to be around Kihei, it's close to the beach, and they have pools and hot tubs for use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aloha Traveler 66
Couples
Surprise, AZ
Nov 29, 2012

Good Location, room needs upgrades

This hotel has a beautiful entrance and landscaping surrounding the grounds. But, the room has a need of upgrades. We felt like we went back in time about 20 years. The towels were so cheap, that the lint came off the towels when drying after a shower. The room was very small. Got some kind of bug bites when sleeping in the bed. (maybe bed bugs). The best view was the top of the parking lot, where you could see the ocean and the hillside. Otherwise our view from our room was the 3 story parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe O'Lei was a wonderful place for lunch or dinner. Good Service and Great Food!

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hrobchester
Friends
Vancouver, BC Canada
May 19, 2013

Resort Needs Some Improvement

Classifying this resort as a hotel is a mistake. These are timeshares with private owners for the spaces being rented by vacationers. They need updating as they are not soundproof and the air conditioning needs improvement. Had I known that this is what Aston at Maui Banyan was I would not have stayed here. Customer service needs improvement as it is not even close to the level what you would receive at a hotel. Grounds are beautiful and the pools are great as well. I had difficulties with getting access to my room as there as a problem with the door and key. It was not until after several complaints that something was finally done but only after my complaints. In the end I had to request a discount to the amenities fee due to the issues I had. In regards to the amenities fee, there was absolutely no mention of this when the booking for my stay was completed. This was a complete surprise and needs to be included in the information when booking a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Connecticut
May 4, 2009

Not up to snuff

When we arrived they gave us room we couldn't get into-keys didn't work. We were very tired from trip and I had to go back down to desk which was two buildings away to get new keys! Went back to room and it had only one bed and we reserved a room with two beds. After arguing again at the desk we got a room with two beds. They didn't give us a two for one luau-even though we stayed six nights. Said that we did not qualify- and that we should take that up with you.I had no printout to show them on this even though Orbitz told me I would qualify.Coffee in room is only free the first night -you have to pay for it after that. There is also a charge to use the safe each day. I don't like getting nickel and dimed especially when these items are mentioned in the amenities and are usually free. Also there was no microwave in the room. I am not sure that I would travel with Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hitraveler
Business
san mateo
May 14, 2009

Maui Condo

Adequate room for the money and business. Getting a little dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Kihei has everything for the budget traveler.

Back to menu Return to top