$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Aston at the Maui Banyan

3 stars
View map of 2575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston at the Maui Banyan

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandecky
Couples
Cypress, CA
May 2, 2012

Hawaiian Honeymoon

My husband and I booked our honeymoon just 2 weeks prior to the wedding. It was honestly the last thing on our minds. We books the Maui Banyon as a recommendation from a friend of a friend of a friend kind of situation and we really had no expectations going in except for a standard cheep hotel room with a bed and maybe a small fridge. To our great surprise and delight, we opened the door to a home away from home. It literally felt like our apartment back at home with a bit of a stereotypical Hawaiian feeling. Yeh, the decor and furniture was a bit cheesy, but that was kind of charming in a way and more than anything, we loved having all of the space. We stayed for 9 nights and the ability to run to the grocery store and cook a few meals on our own was a fantastic amenity. I hate going on long vacations sometimes simply because you eat out for EVERY meal. It was so nice to be able to cook a few meals on our own and just relax and enjoy the hotel room. So often people book a hotel room and the only reason you have for going into the room is for sleeping. I love the fact that we could spend some time in the room and sit down for a meal. I would never do that in a standard hotel room. And although we didn't utilize the blu ray player or the PS2 console, it's a great addition that we thought would be great for a family. I'll definitely remember this place as a go-to for any of my future trips to Maui. I did notice that the rooms are condos that the owners sublet so the rooms could very well vary drastically in decor and amenities since all of the furniture, decor and kitchen utensils/appliances/bake ware/etc. were purchased by the owner, not the hotel. The hotel provides the standard room service and they make your bed with fresh linens, clean up the immediate messes, empty the trash and refresh the bathroom towels. For what we experienced though with our specific condo, we loved it so it's definitely worth checking out another room in the complex that may have a totally different feeling to it. Overall, we loved it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a more spacious broken in home feeling with a bit of cheesy tourist charm. Great for families and a good value. 5 minute walk to the beach, several yummy restaurants [Fred's Mexican, Cafe O Lei (Really good drinks and fusion food. A little pricier, but worth it.) and even a Denny's if you're dying for mainland mainstream], a few small clothing retailers, gift shops and Ice Cream for the kids. It is at the very bottom of Kihei so your walk is a one way trip to the right if you want to get any shopping done. Probably helps keep the cost down, but we didn't mind the location since practically everything on the island is a 1 hour or less drive away, with the exception of driving around the eastern side of Haleakala (Road to Hana).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkeling at Molokini is so amazing. It was a 30 minute drive to the Harbor from Kihei. We saw humpback whales, dolphins, snorkeled with every beautiful fish you usually only see in aquariums, a small, harmless baby shark and green sea turtles. You just don't get that kind of experience on the mainland since most of the beaches are so polluted from urban living. We took the Maui Magic ship which from our research was one of the faster boats you can take. Minimal shade, but you get from dive spot to dive spot much faster so you see more.

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shell she'll
Family
Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Great for families

Good location close to beach. Kids liked the room and that they had their own bathroom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
islandsgirl
Family
North Vancouver, BC
Mar 23, 2012

Room Change

We had been to the Banyan before so knew what building we preferred and sent them an email to request it. When we checked in, they had us in another building. The lady at the desk spent a while rearranging things so that the next day we could move into our preferred building - her extra work was much appreciated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J and M H
Single
Elk Grove, CA
Dec 15, 2011

JH

Hotel is located across street from nice beach, particularly for children. Nice pool, easy parking and close to shopping and restaurants. Staff was courteous and helpful. Good value for price point. Downside of stay: room had door to attached suite and noise, conversations, and aromas from adjacent room were very noticable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many nice beaches within short drive distance.

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
maui vacation for 5
Family
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Family vacation

I usually don't book hotels with less than 3 stars, but this was definitely a 2 star or less condo. I took my chance with Aston at the Maui Banyan since it was cheap, but I think should of stuck to a higher star hotel. The carpet in the rooms were disgusting with huge stains everywhere. I called front desk for more towels and tide detergent but never came, so I had to go down to the front desk to get it myself. The beds and pillow were old and worn. I felt all the springs from the mattress and the pillows were extremely flat. The shower head was horrible. The location is pretty good if you want to be around Kihei, it's close to the beach, and they have pools and hot tubs for use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dale in Atlanta
Family
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Hawaii vacation

We had a great time in Maui. Like the idea of staying in a condo. Much better than a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
texas
Jul 24, 2011

Fairly Good Accommodation

Very good/clean accommodations particularly having the full kitchen. Staff were friendly and accommodating. One minor concern upon checking out, when we were to be charged for "amenity fee per day" which we were not told in advance upon arrival nor had any need for safe deposit, paper deliver, or DVD player. These are standard in the any hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Koolbreeze
Couples
Baltimore md
Jul 15, 2011

Honeymoon

The hotel was nice although the ten dollar a day amnesty fee i dont agree with and they made it seem like u had to pay it but it was located across the street from a beach and u could get to dinning and entertainment fairly easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Colorado
Jul 9, 2011

Maui Banyan

Rented two bedroom condo. Unit P404 was on the top floor of building P. The lanai was small but you could see the ocean and the sunsets. The AC units were window units and they stuck out on the lanai so had to turn them off when out there. The two bedroom unit was a combo of a one bedroom unit with a hotel room. The hotel room had its own AC unit so we could cool the room down before bedtime. It also had a really nice tile shower (no tub). The one bedroom side had the standard tub shower. Because of the placement of the light in the shower, it was really dark with the shower curtain pulled. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and stuff, except there was no can opener! The fridge had no water or ice dispenser so we used the old-fashioned ice trays and tap water which the kids complained about. Some of the light fixtures had CFL bulbs, but not all and that just heated up the rooms. The dishwasher, while functional, tipped out when the trays were pulled out. The microwave had no light. The beds were all nice, a king bed in the one bedroom side and two full sizes on the other size. Kids finally got their own beds on vacation. Pillows were a bit hard. The room had a lot of pocket doors. The pocket doors to the one bedroom unit would not close properly. Even when adjusted it left a gap. These doors had nice glass inserts, but somewhat limited privacy. Had three ceiling fans. The one bedroom side had the AC unit in the main room, not the bedroom which made cooling off the bedroom somewhat hard. No beach equipment for use. Had to buy our own umbrella and boogie boards. Stayed at the Maui Hill a few years ago and much appreciated the closet full of beach stuff. Maid service was good. They refreshed the towels and emptied the trash every day and changed sheets every few days. Some of the front desk staff were great. Some were grumpy. Just depended I guess. They have an activities desk in the front desk too. The front desk is open from 9 AM to 10 PM so be careful for the late flights. The rooms had wifi which worked okay. Could access it from the pool and BBQs too. Parking is covered if lot is not all full. Many slots are reserved for owners, but still had plenty for guests. The complex had one tennis court which we did not use. Not much grassy area in complex. However, there were lots of nice plants and the landscaping was well maintained. The Banyan has elevators and you can use shopping carts to move stuff too and from your condo. The Banyan is across the street from one of the Kam beaches. Also did morning jogs on the beach. Very nice! Expected the pools to be crowded but they weren't Jellybean shaped, but worked for us. The BBQs were very nice and cleaned daily by the Banyan workers. Went on a fourth of july fireworks cruise with Pacific Whale Foundation. They did a good show and avoided the crowds of Lahaina. Did this a few years ago and we were much closer then, but the show was still good. The prices were higher than a few years ago, but gas prices are too I guess. Served a nice dinner and had non-alcoholic drinks because choose the non-alcohol cruise. Went to Maui Ocean Center which was nice. This is somewhat pricey, but we got the week long pass and went again when it was less crowded. Ask for AAA discount. Liked eating at the Flatbread Pizza Company in Paia. Ordered two large pizzas for two adults and two children (9 and 12 ) and had a whole pizza to go at the end. The salad was good but expensive. Also liked Cafe O'Lei in Kihei. Lunch specials are very good and reasonably priced for Maui. Within walking distance of Banyan. Did grocery shopping at Safeway, Walmart, Longs, K-mart, and Whole Foods. Drove up to Haleakala and had a good day trip. Park service charged $10 for a three day pass. Can also use this on the Hana side of the park. Check weather up there before you go. We picked a day that was sunny and had less wind. Made for a more pleasa...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Walmart

Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
P-Town Vacationer
Family
Portland, OR
Jul 6, 2011

Kihei Maui Vacation

Liked the fact it was close to everything! Beach, stores, restaurants. Fun to just walk the strip at night. We had no complaints. If you're looking for the basic condo, no frills, this is a good find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try DaKitchen. Great local Hawaiian food, good price! Huge portions.

Back to menu Return to top