$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Ocanfront rooms are best!

Really enjoyed staying here. Before coming did not expect a lot but when arrived found ir... See full review

  • id02121
  • Aug 8, 2014
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 278
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BabyNet
New Orleans La.
Jul 24, 2012

Not recommended

This place needs a renovation like yesterday. Old, smelly, run down. I read the reviews prior to booking this place, but I always like to give the under dog a chance. What a huge mistake that was. If you do stay here, you must have a rental car, for there is no restaurant, or activities on site or even close, so taxi rides can get very expensive. When I entered the room, I wondered why there were no comforters or bedspreads, then I figured out thats because the a//c in at least three of the rooms, I'm sure there were others, I just didn't ask anyone else.The highest rating was for the staff, and the is mainly due to the maintenance crew that drove me over from the ocean front rooms to the office, by way of cart. Oh and the room safe doesn't not look safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Long Drugs, is a good place to buy items, its like CVS, which now owns them. Its open 24 hours and the prices are the same as home, where as there others are much more expensive.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Heyman
Newport Beach, Ca.
Mar 24, 2013

Vacation

Was frustrated there Internet was not accessible on my I- pad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tyler Oahu
Oahu, HI
Sep 8, 2013

Take A Pass

Place hasn't been updated since it was opened... probably in the 60s or 70s. It also doesn't look like it's been really cleaned in the last 10 or 20 years. Basically its a dump that doesn't deserve any comparison to a chain hotel, it's like a motel. They charge $10/day for amenities... basically internet, an open parking lot, and a pool. I've stayed in 3rd world countries that didn't have amenity fees for those extremely basic hotel features.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, Wa
Jun 15, 2009

low price included a lot

After seeing the gardenview room assigned to me, I elected to upgrade to an oceanview room which I hoped would be better. I was wrong. After sitting on the bed of my first oceanview room and feeling the springs in the mattress I asked for a different room, there was no way I could sleep on this bed. My second oceanview room had a bed that was not much better than the first but it was becoming obvious that all the beds were similarly beyond their good years. Both rooms so far had two double beds and both beds in the previous room had springs in the mattress that would not support my weight of 180 lbs. This room had atleast one bed that was slightly better than the other. I opted to take this room. After a night of trying to get comfortable on a bed that was beyond it's better years, I got up and tried to have a shower. The shower worked fine but the drain just would not work. I gave up trying to get the drain to work and asked for a different room. I was now onto room number 4, oceanview room number 3, after one night on a similar bed as the others, I woke up with multiple bites on my arm and shoulder. This room also had two double beds but because of the location of the other bed directly below wooden beams of the ceiling, it was covered with what I thought was sand, only to be told by the cleaning staff that the wooden beams were termite infested and what I thought was sand was infact wood debris. I decided that I had had enough of changing rooms, so I removed all the bedding and asked the cleaning staff to replace them because of the multiple bites. The following morning the second bed was again covered with wood debris. I was told by the same cleaning staff member that she had found an ants nest below the bed which she thinks may have caused the bites. For the rest of my stay I tried to spend the least amount of time in the bed. I guess the best thing I can say about my stay is that the management elected not to charge me the additional amount for the oceanview upgrade and they were willing to move me to a different room after each incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from the airport

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
1brudda
stamford CT
Jan 12, 2011

not a hotel more like a hostel

no room service. leaky ceiling, funny smelling room - like a moldy carpet, terrible bathrooms, rickety elevator & a very old mattress that was very hard to sleep on. And the absolute worst is the cancelation policy that you are stuck too - otherwise I would have checked out right away - now I know why they have that - it must have happened many times. NEVER AGAIN!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jbjohnny
Portland, OR
Feb 4, 2011

great location, tired seedy facilities

I loved the grounds, and the staff is nice and helpful, but I got the feeling ownership is merely marking time. There is noone in the pool for good reason and the rooms are simply unacceptable by any standards on Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Big Wave cafe south of the hotel for breakfast is good.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TicMaui
Pittsburgh
Jul 15, 2014

hotel

Not recommend for vacation may be to spent one night if necessary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
ca
Aug 25, 2010

vac

[...]booking stated it was ocean from, but once there it was not. The staff stated I had to pay to upgrade, but then put us in a side ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is good area.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leecarltoncruz
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Welcome to the 70s

The good: friendly staff, nice location, beautiful grounds, affordable for Maui. The bad: rooms have not been updated in 40 years. Carpet, paint, furniture, bedspread, curtains straight out of the 70s. Dingy, dark, and smells like mildew. But the bed was comfy, and since it was basically just a place to sleep at night, it worked. What surprised me was when I went next to Kauai and staid at the Aston Aloha. I paid the same rate, expecting about the same experience, but it was like ten times nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 12, 2009

needs cleaning, but is a nice quiet plac

the staff is friendly, they just need to dust the rooms and paint the walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search