$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 268
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redding, CA
Jun 10, 2010

Great price...but needs renovation!!

It was a great deal pricewise but nothing to brag about. It's old Hawaii alright! Really needs total renovation and updating. Such a quiett location and beautiful grounds but no room appeal at all. Elevator carpeting was the first turnoff and the room carpeting was almost as bad. Associates were very friendly. Room was as clean as possible and bed was comfy, but with old carpet, lino, and furniture, even clean looks dirty! Not inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

You must have a rental car!! Location was perfect for quiet and close enough to get to anything but there is nothing close by...I was thankful we were not there much!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fulton Mo
Jan 1, 2010

poor stay

hotel is old and needs to be reworked, one building on the property is being wrecked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
comfort?
Kailua, HI
Feb 9, 2010

Aston Maui Lu

This property doen't compare to other Aston hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jul 13, 2009

Centrally located budget option

The hotel was OK for a budget option. Kihei is a nice location for those who are planning on traveling all over the island, with fairly easy access to everywhere from Ka'anapali to Haleakala. The rooms are dark, even with the curtains open during the day, and look due for a renovation. There also appear to be a number of unoccupied/unmaintained buildings on the property. The in-wall air conditioner was noisy when the compressor kicked in throughout the night. Wi-fi was only available at the front desk, but was free. There are a couple of "private" coves on the property which are nice for lounging when they're not occupied by locals fishing. Aston also gives a coupon book to guests which saved us at least $50 throughout the trip. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to budget-conscious travelers who aren't looking for all the amenities of a resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kihei Caffe is a great spot for delicious breakfast and also has very good coffee.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ski Babe
Merced, CA
Dec 17, 2013

Beautiful setting

We upgraded to the beach front section and were glad we did. The room definitely needs some TLC. The property has great potential to be a very special place, but it is overdue for major refurbishing. I was told that the property is up for sale and the staff is maintaining it until a new owner takes over. Since we didn't spend much time in our room or on the property, the room was adequate and inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Indian restaurant nearby!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Bargain Hunter deceived....
San Diego, Ca.
Dec 23, 2009

Could have been worse, I think....

Accomodation photos online are deceiving compared to the reality of the facility...False advertising, I'd say.......I'd be really upset if I'd paid full price instead of $88 per night....!!!!! It's a dump inside the standard garden view room but located on beautiful grounds....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The McDonalds is great....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raphael17
Buffalo, NY
Jan 28, 2012

Good location, affordable price

Not far from the OGG airport, north side of Kihei area. Location is good. But, rooms are too old. If you don't have enough money and will just sleep at room, book it. If you just married, do not book it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Goodhue, Minnesota
Jun 26, 2011

Better than we expected!

The Maui Lu was the cheapest option [...] and we arrived expecting a shady, run-down place with a broken shower and an empty pool. This place was great! It is across the street from a small beach, the pool is large and goes to a depth of 9 or 10 feet. Each room has it's own private balcony and we received the daily edition of the Maui News everyday.We had scheduled most of our activities online before we arrived, but the concierge was very helpful in suggesting restaurants, tours, etc. They also hold a luau right on the premises Tues, Thurs, and Sun nights. It's a non-alcoholic luau, which makes it 20 or 30 cheaper than the other luaus. They also suggested some not-so-traditional-tourist options, such as the local maui baseball team, the Na Koa Ikaika and the women's roller derby. The shower was a nice pressure and having a refrigerator in the room was very nice. They also have safes in the rooms that you can use for an extra fee, we opted not to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Kihei Cafe is open from 5am-2pm...reasonable prices and large portions of food. We originally went for breakfast (delicious banana macadamia nut french toast) and we stopped back later in the week for lunch.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
falecomtadeu
Sacramento, CA
Jul 15, 2009

No pool at all

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
That one girl
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2011

Wonderful vacation in paradise

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful grounds and our room was 20 steps away from the beach. Amazing views and the deep pool was great when we needed a break from the ocean. Shops and restaurants are a good 20min walk away. Car rental recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Shops and restaurants are a 20min walk away which isn't bad until you've loaded up on souveniers or had a few drinks and are ready to be at the next destination or back to the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search