$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
390 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dan MCK
Oakland, Oregon
May 8, 2012

Upgrades everywhere

When we got there, we were advised that there is an "amenity upgrade" of $10 per day over the agreed price. I asked what it was for and they said the newspaper and parking. It was not optional. They claim I was supposed to have told that when it was booked (it wasnt). We were given a terrible room far from the pool and ocean, and when we asked for something better they offered a room on the ocean side of the highway for $20 per day more. Most of the rooms are a very long hike to the ocean with no view. The ocean rooms were agreed to was pretty worn out. Not recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pacific Whale Foundation Molokini/Lanai snorkeling tour is a great value with good food/drinks and a nice boat.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Boktabb
Chicago
Feb 18, 2013

Good place to stay

We had a great time. The rooms were relatively clean (needed some work). The beds were clean but the interior was old, worn out and a hint of mustiness. The TV was very small and the cable wasn't very good (fuzzy most times) The staff were excellent and helped you plan out your vacation activities. It was a good central location for us as we had a rental vehicle. I would recommend this hotel to my friend's and I would go back there again myself

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car!!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leecarltoncruz
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Welcome to the 70s

The good: friendly staff, nice location, beautiful grounds, affordable for Maui. The bad: rooms have not been updated in 40 years. Carpet, paint, furniture, bedspread, curtains straight out of the 70s. Dingy, dark, and smells like mildew. But the bed was comfy, and since it was basically just a place to sleep at night, it worked. What surprised me was when I went next to Kauai and staid at the Aston Aloha. I paid the same rate, expecting about the same experience, but it was like ten times nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maui first-timer
Eugene, Oregon
May 4, 2009

Rough in paradise

Right on the beach. Good access. Very friendly staff. Rooms are very aged. Mildew smell we couldn't get rid of. Old appliances (A/C, refer, tv) and toilet made noise. Keep busy and the room serves its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wahmei
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 28, 2011

beautiful view, but needs an update

FABULOUS view! Other than that, not the most memorable hotel. It is in need of an update to not feel so rustic. They still issue keys - not a key-card. It's an ok place for the budget-conscious traveler, but make sure you upgrade to the ocean view because it's not worth it otherwise. Coffee is limited to a bag a day ($1 a bag after) but, they offer complimentary coffee every morning at the front desk (if you want to walk there). There is a fridge, they provide a hairdryer, there is a TV (albeit little), and air-conditioning. Not too much in a short, walkable distance and the road it sits on isn't the best for walkers - it's dark and there's no sidewalk. It's not horrible, but it's not going to wow you either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chester, Va
Jun 20, 2011

maui lu

Sadly, the hotel I stayed at in 2000 has gone downhill. What was once a nice, old-Hawaii charmer is now rundown, with boarded up buildings and peeling paint. The grounds are still lovely and well maintained, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is good, and it is generally quiet (except for luau nights). It's main problem appears to be that it is struggling to survive, and failing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a nice sushi place right next door, with half price sushi after 10:00

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maui Deb
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2014

Maui Lu

The hotel is extremely outdated and needs a major overhaul. We were also told at time of check in that there was a $10 a day amenity fee. The only amenity available was free dvd rental in the lobby. No room service, no food/drinks available on site. No continental breakfast. Very, very basic place to stay. But, the location was great and the staff was very friendly. We don't spend much time in our rooms, so the fact they were in need of help did not ruin our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive south to the Big Beach. Well worth it!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Bargain Hunter deceived....
San Diego, Ca.
Dec 23, 2009

Could have been worse, I think....

Accomodation photos online are deceiving compared to the reality of the facility...False advertising, I'd say.......I'd be really upset if I'd paid full price instead of $88 per night....!!!!! It's a dump inside the standard garden view room but located on beautiful grounds....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The McDonalds is great....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ski Babe
Merced, CA
Dec 17, 2013

Beautiful setting

We upgraded to the beach front section and were glad we did. The room definitely needs some TLC. The property has great potential to be a very special place, but it is overdue for major refurbishing. I was told that the property is up for sale and the staff is maintaining it until a new owner takes over. Since we didn't spend much time in our room or on the property, the room was adequate and inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Indian restaurant nearby!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 25, 2010

Book an ocean front room

We booked a wonderfully located room right on the oceanfront for a higher fee. It was so relaxing to hear the surf breaking from within your room and being steps away from the small beach. The downside was in the housekeeping area. The maid service was minimal, one small bar of soap per unit, free coffee on the first day only, peeling paint in the tub. The room itself was more than adequate. The beds very comfortable. Also the wireless connection did not work for my laptop in the lobby area. Parking was free right next to the units, but the lot filled up quickly. All in all, it was a pleasant stay. Now that I know what to expect, I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are no food service provisions on site, but multiple restaurants and grocery stores within a short driving radius.

Back to menu Return to top