Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ninjin274
Long Beach, CA
May 28, 2009

Bug filled hotel

The hotel does not have direct access to beach. The beach is across the road and hotel does not provide any chairs or towels on the beach. On our 2nd night after we returned to the hotel we found almost 10-15 cockroaches on our bed. The hotel staff immediately sifted us to different rooms. We had 3 rooms and misplaced one key during move. For next 2 days we were in Hana and hotel did not accept the key back after our return. We were still charged $25 as per their policy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fulton Mo
Jan 1, 2010

poor stay

hotel is old and needs to be reworked, one building on the property is being wrecked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, HI
Jan 26, 2011

Terrible

I would never go back to that hotel again!! Had difficulty finding location. No signage for hotel and parking facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mthlmh
Sacramento CA
Feb 11, 2014

WHAT A DUMP!!!

All the pictures shown on this website are not this location! Our room (308) has not been updated since the 1960's. All night we heard rats outside. Save your money and go someplace else! HIGHLY DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE! When I went to talk with the front desk there were 2 other couples with similar compliants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
China
Apr 2, 2010

very old room

hope they can re-build their room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MagicL1
Burbank, CA
Jun 17, 2012

Booked two week, stayed one night

Staff is nice and friendly, but this place is way, WAY, past its prime. I think Aston bought the property for redevelopment, but postponed such plans. Deferred maintenance everywhere. Room smelled ! My wife who is usually a trooper, insisted on a move and we found a great place for not a lot more money. Saved my vacation by moving. Don't stay here if you want to do anything other than save money. Sorry Aston, this place does not live up to your name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisfied Oahuan
Oahu
Nov 30, 2009

Leaking Ceiling & Other Misfortunes

We checked in and were pleased with our view of the bay, and the lanai and high ceilings. We were only staying one night and it was my girlfriend's birthday so I wanted it to be special. Previously I was sold on an upgrade to ocean view. The room was not very clean, and no new rennovations. At 11:30pm, when my girlfriend had gotten to sleep, the ceiling began to leak water, and the water landed in multiple areas of the room including the floor and my girlfriends forehead. I called the front desk to report the issue. At first the attendant was helpful, and sent up a maintenance person. It took about 15 minutes for him to get up there. We packed our things and were moved to a different room. This room was on the lower floor and had no lanai. The maintenance man may have had a few drinks that night, because he seemed to stumble a bit, and walked around the yard looking confused and stared inside our sliding glass door from the edge of the yard for a moment. This creeped my girlfriend out. I called the front desk to express my dissatisfaction with our new room as it was not as nice as the other one. She told me that this room was an upgrade, which was surprising because it was on the bottom floor with no lanai and much less of a view. Also it was right across from the smoking section which we did not enjoy. After some slight attitude and poor customer service, she said that she would leave a note for her manager. We noticed ants and small spiders in the new room. In the morning when checking out I expected to be refunded my "upgrade" money. We first asked for the manager, and the new front desk attendant rolled her eyes when we asked for her. The manager was semi-helpful. She said to contact [...] about the compensation for our dissatisfaction. [...] So the only option I had was to express my dissatisfaction through this review. We live on Oahu, and have traveled throughout the islands. This was our least favorite hotel, and it was the most expensive. The view was very nice and at first we though we were going to be pleased. Appartently all of the rooms on the 2nd floor of the ocean view wing have leaky roofs. This is something the hotel knows about, but they expect that it will not rain. And don't expect to be compensated for your dissatisfaction if you say here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
R and J escape
Wisconsin, USA
Jan 8, 2012

very disappointed

The hotel was not on the beach as it stated in their description. The room was old and run down, the bathroom door was peeling off, grungy tile and tub. The counter top looked as though it was installed in the 70's. Beds very uncomfortable. Musty smell when entering room. Pool cold and because of all the trees offered little hope of ever warming. We were charged a $10.00 per day fee for amenities, not even sure what these were? Did they mean I had to pay $10.00 a day to drag my bread to the lobby to use a toaster? Would never stay here again and would warn anyone else to stay away too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the lad
Business
San Francisco, California
May 24, 2013

Call health inspector

The swimming pool was so dirty I could not see my feet and there was brown scum on the surface. I was told by locals not to leave anything of value in my rental car as there was a rash of car break ins in that parking area. I was very disapointed in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mainland
Apr 15, 2011

No Returns

While I enjoyed the refrigerator, iron and twice the normal TV channels, the shower experience was not good. The first morning I took a shower at dawn. I waited the normal time for the hot water to start. Once I stepped in I rotated the temperature valve fully CCW waited ten seconds, then center, then CW and waited, no hot water. I repeated this sequence three times waiting in each position. I then decided to only wash my hair. I put soap in my left hand and started to wet my hair with my right when I finally detected some warmer water. Day 2 I started my shower 2.5 hours later and had a better experience, but a pressure balanced shower valve is definitely needed, other people primed the hot water pipe. The room was clean but in my top five motels needing a complete remodel. Why is it that $100 + rooms try to nickle and dollar you for local calls and internet access? The mid priced chain motels give these for free and continental breakfast too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search