$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bus super
Houston tx
Dec 20, 2012

Great view but lacking comfort

We checked in and staff was very nice but was told if parking area is full to park in a lot across the street from the room and carry our stuff .In room no microwave at all , you have to walk or drive over to office to use one.Basic items such as a comfortable chair to sit in or a mattress that is good to sleep on ( the one we had was rock hard and the pillows were small flat squares that needed to be stacked in 3 to be like home ) .We checked out very early because we could not sleep and was not able to sit in the room except on the bed ! Next time I will not stay at Maui Lu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fat Daddy's BBQ at Makena shopping mall across the road from Foodland , carried a bunch back to Honolulu with us for our dinner . It broke da mouth ,very Ono !

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ANACLETO
Austin, TX
Dec 11, 2007

Disappointing

It's sad that a hotel with a great ocean view and close to everything would end up not being reccommened by me because of the lack or detail to cleanliness.Our first night when we arrived it was raining and we draged mud in,four days later the mud was still there never sweeped or mopped even after we had request it. Also our room was not cleaned and the beds not made or the towels replaced (once),I had to go get towels just so we could shower. last thing the glassware and mugs provided were never cleaned, we used them the first day and were NEVER replaced our entire stay,we just ended up buying cups so we would know they were clean,it created alot of friction with my girlfriend and we did not enjoy our vacation as we should of!!! if only the simple basics were taken care of by the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to many restaurants.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traumatized
O'ahu
Apr 24, 2009

Bad Experience!

I cannot believe the pictures online are nothing like the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There was a crack head in the parking lot all day just being weird in her old car all day for two days. I told the front desk about the weird woman when I first seen her yet she still remained there after. Then there were people making what looked like drug deals in the parking lot. The building next to our was condemned (missing windows, doors, etc.). I do not recommend being outside by yourself at night at this hotel. Inside the room the a/c sounded like it was going to break down and catch fire and it smelled old and musty. The door had a door knob with lock, a dead bolt, and a chain lock. However, next to the door were jalousie windows which aren't the best security. The walk way to the room was constructed of wooden boards so when someone passes by your room with their rolling luggage you hear clank, clank, clank, clank...Oh and the people above our floor paced for hours at odd times of the night. We were there for 3 nights! I thought I was getting a good deal at a decent hotel. No, no, no it was not decent in any aspect. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. In my honest opinion it needs to be shut down indefinitely. You could not even remodel this place to look decent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
neonlite13
Fremont, CA
Aug 27, 2013

Nice location, cheap rooms

The location of this hotel is very nice -- you can literally walk to the beach. And that's where the goodness ends. The staff at the front desk was very rude and patronizing. Don't waste your time on the first morning breakfast orientation -- you'll waste two hours listening to someone yak about all the promotions you don't need for a pitiful breakfast. Our A/C broke down and the staff didn't do anything to fix it; Our fridge stopped working the second night but I somehow managed to get it working. Don't have much positive to say about this hotel,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, Wa
Jun 15, 2009

low price included a lot

After seeing the gardenview room assigned to me, I elected to upgrade to an oceanview room which I hoped would be better. I was wrong. After sitting on the bed of my first oceanview room and feeling the springs in the mattress I asked for a different room, there was no way I could sleep on this bed. My second oceanview room had a bed that was not much better than the first but it was becoming obvious that all the beds were similarly beyond their good years. Both rooms so far had two double beds and both beds in the previous room had springs in the mattress that would not support my weight of 180 lbs. This room had atleast one bed that was slightly better than the other. I opted to take this room. After a night of trying to get comfortable on a bed that was beyond it's better years, I got up and tried to have a shower. The shower worked fine but the drain just would not work. I gave up trying to get the drain to work and asked for a different room. I was now onto room number 4, oceanview room number 3, after one night on a similar bed as the others, I woke up with multiple bites on my arm and shoulder. This room also had two double beds but because of the location of the other bed directly below wooden beams of the ceiling, it was covered with what I thought was sand, only to be told by the cleaning staff that the wooden beams were termite infested and what I thought was sand was infact wood debris. I decided that I had had enough of changing rooms, so I removed all the bedding and asked the cleaning staff to replace them because of the multiple bites. The following morning the second bed was again covered with wood debris. I was told by the same cleaning staff member that she had found an ants nest below the bed which she thinks may have caused the bites. For the rest of my stay I tried to spend the least amount of time in the bed. I guess the best thing I can say about my stay is that the management elected not to charge me the additional amount for the oceanview upgrade and they were willing to move me to a different room after each incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from the airport

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JoanDB
Seattle, WA
Mar 16, 2012

Only one night thank goodness!

This hotel is located across the street from the water and about a mile from stores and restaurants. Grounds are adequately cared for and it has a pool and lounge chairs. Staff was very pleasant, bed was comfortable and the room had a small refrigerator. In the room, paint was chipped on woodwork, carpet needed cleaning and shutters were wedged closed on two windows. There were small ants in the bathroom sink and the bathroom door was warped so it was difficult to close. When we walked in the room there was an overwhelming smell from a deoderizer that tried to mask the mustiness. All in all, the hotel appears to be a victim of neglect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, California
Aug 17, 2010

Over rated/over priced

Unfortunately, the description of the hotel online, verses what we found was very different. Not only was the hotel very old and rundown, but there were no towels upon arrival, and no fitted sheets the whole time we were there? The sleep, as a result, was minimum. Not a great place to honeymoon unfortunately. Would definitely NOT recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WAHEENE
MAUI lu
Jan 9, 2014

NIGHTMARE AT THE ASTON LU

OMG THIS IS THE DIRTIEST HOTEL IVE HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED : CARPET DIRTY TO THE CORE, REDBLOOD LIKE STAINS ON THE FLOOR. I WONDER WHEN THE LAST TIME THEY SHAMPOOED THE ENTIRE CARPET WAS NOT JUST DIRTY BUT FILTHY . i MOVED TO A SECOND ROOM, WHICH WAS JUST AS BAD.IF NOT WORSE. I WAS TOLD BY CORPORATE THEY WERE GOING TO REBUILD, SO WHY THEN RENT THESE FILTHY ROOMS TO THE PUBLIC IS MY QUESTION? WE WERE BITTEN IN OUR SLEEP BY WHAT? THE TUB PARAMETER WAS FILTHY AS WELL AS THE CURTAINS. I WOULD NEVER GO BACK TO THIS PLACE EVER AGAIN.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 15, 2011

Don't stay here!

The Aston Maui Lu is a run down and outdated hotel. As we entered the room not only was the temperature extremely hot but there was an unpleasant smell. The smell persisted throughout our stay there. To make matters worse the beds were very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deeder
Charlotte, NC
Feb 26, 2011

wont be coming here again.

Room was clean. That's all the good that can be said for it. It was terribly run down, leaked at night, was noisy, smelled of mold, and was generally very over priced for what it was. We are used to and happy with modest accomodations - we come for the diving and don't need luxurious. This disappointed even us. We would've been loathe to pay a quarter of what we paid for this kind of room on the mainland. Motel 6 would've been embarrassed by this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay in Kihei. All the activities are elsewhere and the nicer places are about 30 minutes away.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search