$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
390 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 390
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabriel sweet Gabriel
Los Angeles, California
Jun 26, 2014

We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They offer us a better room that we booked. The locations was fabulous in the middle of everything and also we have a private beach very charming. If we come back to Maui , we will stay in Aston Maui Lu again. Thank you very much Sincerely Ausberto and Mannolo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the front desk they will lead you to nice places to eat and get the free magazine with restaurants in the area.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Costa De La Calma
Sep 26, 2008

Nice place

Hi, I really liked my stay at this resort. Great area, in front of the beach. The facilities are clean and confortable. Large rooms, nice farmers market in the area, just conveniently located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Chases
Newport, New Hampshire
Feb 16, 2012

Most wonderful vacation

This vacation was for our 10th anniversary. We got married in Maui 02-02-02. For this 17 day trip we wanted a room with oceanview, so we researched and read lots of reviews. We chose Maui Lu because we could be right on the beach and it was affordable. Just as we had read in the reviews the building is older and in need of a face lift and the air conditioner was noisy, but we only used it a couple of times in the early evening after being out all day with the windows closed . Our maid was wonderful. The balcony and the veiw from our bed was amazing. We slept with the windows and balcony door open each night with the sound of the waves and the tropical breeze blowing over us. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I would ask for a room in building 400 on the second floor. If you are looking for fancy rooms and lobbies then this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for clean, comfortable, affordable and amazing sunsets it is perfect!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicken Plates every Wednesday and Saturday at roadside setup. South Kihei Rd in North Kihei

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peiheng
Taipei, Taiwan
Dec 11, 2013

Wonderful relaxing Maui getaway

Aston Maui Lu is a good choice if you have short budget yet hoping to stay in a "hotel" rather than hostel. We stayed in superior garden view room, the space is large enough for four. The room is very clean though a bit aged but doesn't matter at all. No ones staying indoor especially when you're in Maui!! The staff are very friendly. You got pool, central garden, the overall surrounding are nice and relaxing. Most occupants are elders, family, couples so very quite during night time. The location is nice, located on the beginning of S.Kihei Rd, you need to drive a short distance to Pilani Shopping center where surrounded with restaurant and shops. Ill come back again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Safeway at Pilani Shopping Center to store some food! Dinning out in Hawaii could be pricey. Also there's a Vietnam restaurant at the center where worth your money to eat.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angel-Perez
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 22, 2010

No SHARKS, just a li'l slice of heaven

Aston Maui Lu ReviewAugust 2010Before we arrived at the Aston Maui Lu we rang them up to timidly ask for a room upgrade. [...], the manager extraordinaire, came through with flying colors! When it is available an upgrade from garden view room to ocean view can be proffered. Ocean view room at the Aston Maui Lu means that we were literally just a few steps from the ocean. We went to bed hearing the welcome sounds of the waves and were lulled into an island calm and peacefulness, leaving our work troubles behind for at least a week, and the attentive and out of sight staff did their best to keep us thinking in "Maui time".The first thing that struck me upon arrival at the Aston Maui Lu front desk area was the view, which was expansive. Crystal blue Pacific, swaying palm trees, unending lawns and safe golf cart rides to our room if needed. The next thing I noticed was the smiling [...] at the front desk, ready to register us. The first day we waded from our sliding glass doors directly into the waist deep water where we saw octopus and small fish. Snorkeling opportunities are immediate and unending, right out of our room! As each day dawned we found a new part of the huge property to explore. White egrets led us to a grove of mango trees where the ripe mango fruit was falling off of the trees into our eager hands. The next day we found the large swimming pool. A laundry room, a huge luau area (our visit did not coincide with the incredible luau shows and Polynesian village). The enchanting island of Maui had many adventure waiting for us, too. My spouses job in the real world is Beverly Hills customer service. He has training to make customers happy, according to him (and I readily agree), the staff at the Aston Maui Lu was, hands down, a prime example of how customer service should be. The concierge services were comprehensive and knowledgable. They "dialed-in" our cruises and shopping needs, and when we had to cancel an excursion [...] had incredible follow-through and got out refund in a timely manner with a smile.Excellent, quick service. Unbridled, sincere enthusiasm to ensure guests happiness are some of the things that we experienced. One gentle suggestion… fix up those cottages that exist on the property. Provide snack service/Deli store.Will we be coming back to the Aston Maui Lu? Yes, soon and often.Signed, Pampered Guests from Beverly Hills, CA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Let the concierge tailor an adventure(s) for you.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fairly excited
Montana
Mar 21, 2014

Great Value

This place is amazing. Great private beach. Amazing grounds. Older resort but very charming and the staff are wonderful! Loved that Calvary Chapel meets on the property. If you can overlook a few things that need remodeling, you will absolutely love this place. It has a great location in Kihei too. Amazing worship!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stella Blues has phenomenal food!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Waynesburg PA
Nov 21, 2010

Great motel, friendly staff

We were only there for a couple of days. Staff were very informative on places to see and eat while visiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Although the Road to Hanna takes the biggest part of the day in a car, the scenery was magnificent and worth the time.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Keihe
Dec 16, 2010

Great trip

we went scuba diving everyday. we where close to everything,right on the beach what more could we ask for beautiful view and sunset

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Keihe
Dec 16, 2010

Great trip

we went scuba diving everyday. we where close to everything,right on the beach what more could we ask for beautiful view and sunset

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angel-Perez
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 22, 2010

No SHARKS, just a li'l slice of heaven

Aston Maui Lu ReviewAugust 2010Before we arrived at the Aston Maui Lu we rang them up to timidly ask for a room upgrade. [...], the manager extraordinaire, came through with flying colors! When it is available an upgrade from garden view room to ocean view can be proffered. Ocean view room at the Aston Maui Lu means that we were literally just a few steps from the ocean. We went to bed hearing the welcome sounds of the waves and were lulled into an island calm and peacefulness, leaving our work troubles behind for at least a week, and the attentive and out of sight staff did their best to keep us thinking in "Maui time".The first thing that struck me upon arrival at the Aston Maui Lu front desk area was the view, which was expansive. Crystal blue Pacific, swaying palm trees, unending lawns and safe golf cart rides to our room if needed. The next thing I noticed was the smiling [...] at the front desk, ready to register us. The first day we waded from our sliding glass doors directly into the waist deep water where we saw octopus and small fish. Snorkeling opportunities are immediate and unending, right out of our room! As each day dawned we found a new part of the huge property to explore. White egrets led us to a grove of mango trees where the ripe mango fruit was falling off of the trees into our eager hands. The next day we found the large swimming pool. A laundry room, a huge luau area (our visit did not coincide with the incredible luau shows and Polynesian village). The enchanting island of Maui had many adventure waiting for us, too. My spouses job in the real world is Beverly Hills customer service. He has training to make customers happy, according to him (and I readily agree), the staff at the Aston Maui Lu was, hands down, a prime example of how customer service should be. The concierge services were comprehensive and knowledgable. They "dialed-in" our cruises and shopping needs, and when we had to cancel an excursion [...] had incredible follow-through and got out refund in a timely manner with a smile.Excellent, quick service. Unbridled, sincere enthusiasm to ensure guests happiness are some of the things that we experienced. One gentle suggestion… fix up those cottages that exist on the property. Provide snack service/Deli store.Will we be coming back to the Aston Maui Lu? Yes, soon and often.Signed, Pampered Guests from Beverly Hills, CA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Let the concierge tailor an adventure(s) for you.

Back to menu Return to top