$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
390 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clarksville
Dec 31, 2008

Good Value, Uncrowded

Stayed about 10 nights at the Maui Lu over Christmas. 28 acre grounds with only about 100 rooms and 800 coconut palms was the highlight. Resort was uncrowded, as was the beach across the street. Good location. Rooms dated, especially bathrooms (think 1982), reasonably clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Aug 6, 2007

convinient location

The hotel was close to major roads. The room was a little bit too cold. AC unit was not adjustable it was on (70F about) ot off...the room was a lttle bit too dark, even with curtins on the side of the window... However it was quite and relaxing....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

snorkol, close to airport, and major hwy to Lahaina, winery and Hana.... nice walk on the beach across the hotel... wake up early 6-7 a.m. no traffic at all!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Сан-Франциско, Калифорния, Соединённые Штаты Америки
Feb 6, 2012

It was nice!

It was awesome trip! But we were sad at first day in check-in in hotel. They said us that our reservation is subject to a mandatory Amenity fee of $10/day. We have to pay this.... But We didn't see it when we made our reservation. It was so strange.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Da kitchen express near Kamaole Beach I is nice place for eating from 9AM to 9PM. Nice food, nice staff and cheap price.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kihei, Maui, HI
Jun 6, 2011

Nice place and friendly faces

Hotel was a nice and staff was friendly. The dvd player did not work, but other than that a very nice stay helpful people. It is a bit far from some of the better beaches, but that is okay because it is quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Be prepared to walk about 1.5 to 2 miles to the better beaches. It is pretty close the the whale watching place.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Us 2
Kaunakakai, HI
Jun 27, 2013

nice easy going place if you want to save

good location. helpful staff. good price. worth it to stay if you just need a place to shower and sleep and not be bothered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Junebug
Anchorage
Mar 14, 2011

No frills at a great location

When we arrived we were pleasantly upgraded from an oceanview room to an oceanfront room. Our neighbors were quiet couples and families. Our 7-year-old daughter loved the beach and nearby Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary office. She met other kids to play with on the beach and at the pool. We visited with other guests at the picnic table and on the lanai. Very friendly atmosphere. The staff were helpful. Our needs are simple. We had free access to a computer for early flight check-in (other than that you have to pay for internet access) and beach towels are freely distributed near the pool. There is a sharing box with beach and pool toys that we used. The things we missed were (1) a microwave in the room (although they had one in the lobby for general use), (2) no voice mail on phone system (so we couldn't leave messages for other guests and they couldn't leave message for us), and (3) tight parking on the oceanside but we got used to it after a while. We spoke with several guests who had been returning year after year, and we may become one of them! Last year we stayed in a yurt on the windward side of Oahu, and five years ago we stayed at a hostel and camped around Maui - so this was a big upgrade for us. Our daughter enjoyed the fact that there were no insects in the room and only 1 rat was seen near the picnic table. I might add we were there during the recent tsunami and the staff gave us good information about where we needed to go when the sirens sounded. No panic, we had several hours to collect our belongings and drive a few miles inland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

FREE: Sugar Beach to the north of the resort is a great beach for walking on. And the Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary office is to the south near the ancient fishpond.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ju e Fi
Florianopolis, Brasil
May 1, 2013

Aventureiros do Brasil

Muito bom, Pegamos uma promoção de ficar 4 dias e pagar 3 diárias , Ficou muito em conta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui 1st.
Santa Ana, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Family Getaway

I liked the staff and room. Very friendly and clean. I wish there were kitchen in the rooms and bigger refrigaters. But or all a good and safe stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you have kids, the coupons are great for families on a budget. The Aston Maui Lu Hotel advertise these coupons, which were a time and money saver.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mountaingal
CA
Apr 18, 2011

Exactly what I wanted

I was looking for a quiet, peaceful setting on the water without that giant block of concrete/highrise feel. The Maui Lu was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful and my room clean and comfortable. I'm saving up for next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Leonard
Washington State
Oct 18, 2012

Loved!

I upgraded to an Ocean Front/view Room and it just couldn't get much better. The view was amazing just feet from the ocean and the staff were very nice. one set back if you can call it that was that I would have loved to have had a microwave in my room, spending several days I would have loved to have been able to at least warm something up in the room. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top