$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Ocanfront rooms are best!

Really enjoyed staying here. Before coming did not expect a lot but when arrived found ir... See full review

  • id02121
  • Aug 8, 2014
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fightattack
Seattle
Apr 27, 2012

Cheap, chill, easy.

This is not a hotel you go to be pampered at. There are plenty of expensive places all over Maui - this one is probably the cheapest and simplest of them all. We enjoy the Maui Lu primarily for the price. The oceanside rooms are great - you have a small 'private'-ish beach on the north side and a larger rarely-used public beach on the south side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sansei is close by in Kihei. Great sushi. Arrive and order between 5:30-6:00pm and get 25% off your food orders.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
we belong
San Bernardino, CA
May 21, 2012

Clean and adequate

Older motel, clean, refrig, no microwave, good, I will stay again, the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCD1980
SLC, Utah
Jun 7, 2012

Overall-worth it

We stayed here on our second trip to Maui. The location was perfect. The hotel is older and therefore lacks in some areas. Our room was cleaned daily. The staff was nice - we only spoke to them at check-in and check-out. We did "upgrade" to the ocean view room which (from what I read in a review before we came) are the "newer/updated" rooms. Beds and pillows were comfortable enough. Parking was TIGHT on our ocean view side but we always had a spot. Falling asleep and waking up to the ocean was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just down the street is a farmers market with amazing pineapple & mango

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TWS IV
Moss Bluff, La
Aug 1, 2012

Had a nice time staying at the Aston Maui Lu

The hotel over all was nice. a little out dated in the bathrooms. Other then that, Had a great stay. We spent 80% of our time on the beach, around the pool or sight seeing. So for us it realy didnt matter what the inside looks like as long as the rooms are clean and they were. Will stay again if we go to Maui again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the local food spots around the island, road side venders have some of the best foods. To save a little money, buy at the local stores and bring back to your room to make snacks etc.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have had many travels
Santa rosa, ca
Aug 28, 2012

Simple and peaceful

I loved the grounds and location so close to the secluded beach. The room smelled very musty and I thought it was perhaps moldy. i thought I would leave but I was tired so I opened the front and patio doors and the breeze mostly took it away. it is an older place and other than the smell in my room, it was very clean. I heard that many of the other rooms had been updated but i was glad the and the price was great. Even though it was not in walking distance of restaurants the bus was easy to use. It has wifi and complimentary fresh fruit, muffins, coffee and juice for breakfast which are both a big plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A sizeable and secluded beach

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chanoch
israel
Sep 12, 2012

mr

the motel is very good i will cam agein we lave the plaice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stage With Grace
Toms River, NJ
Oct 8, 2012

The Best!!!

I LOVE this Hotel. Not just for an incredible ocean views, but for coziness, feeling "home". If any issues - just calling the front desk - it's done very quickly! This time is the second time around for me. I would never go anywhere else. It's something magical about this place (ocean front upstairs, anyway!!!). Thank you for this wonderful experience - to all the Staff of Aston Maui Lu Mahalo and Aloha in Hawaiian, Grace Carter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

It's NO Nightlife in Maui. If that's what you looking for - you are on a wrong Island. If you're for Peace, Reflection, HEALING, sense of Love and total Relaxation (feeling of "go with the flow") - you are HOME!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Leonard
Washington State
Oct 18, 2012

Loved!

I upgraded to an Ocean Front/view Room and it just couldn't get much better. The view was amazing just feet from the ocean and the staff were very nice. one set back if you can call it that was that I would have loved to have had a microwave in my room, spending several days I would have loved to have been able to at least warm something up in the room. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb the traveler
Slovenia
Oct 27, 2012

Kihei - good location of the hotel

Hotel has a nice position for trips around the island, location is in the palm-trees park, pool is nice, staff at the reception is ok, cleaning staff is more friendly and helpful though. Rooms are ok, eventhough not very modern and have a special smell as the house is wooden. We have enjoyed our staying in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice shopping in Weilea :-) and good Hawaiian ice-cream too.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ramachandra
Oregon
Nov 20, 2012

Good value, comfortable stay!

Stayed 3 nights, it was clean, spacious rooms, views from rooms, free parking. Enjoyed our stay and will come back for a longer stay next time. Staff was very kind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

DVD free rental card, play station , free breakfast with advice on nearby attractions and deals! On first day.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search