Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Experienced Travelers.
Kansas
Jun 13, 2010

Good value and great location.

We stayed in a ocean view room and enjoyed the room and view. The room was clean and we encountered no problems. This is not a 5 star resort hotel, but a great place to stay and a good price for travelers. We came to Maui to see the sights, not to stay in one place, and this fit our needs. This is a hotel, not a resort. We were especially glad to have a small fridge in the room. The front desk was very helpful on telling routes to drive. Ask to borrow the CD on the drive to Hana. I had been hesitant from reading earlier reviews, but we thoroughly enjoyed our room. Would stay here again, if/when we return to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, CA
Jul 5, 2011

Convenient, simple, pefect

The hotel is located about 20 minutes from the airport, has access to a small but very pretty beach. The rooms are very spacious, very clean, with great bay windows and just right in their simplicity. There is a fan which can be used as an A/C (a great option as we do not like A/C). The shower is powerful and hot. The hotel is also supremely located to have access to all the places one would want to go to - La Perouse bay, Haleakala, Lahaina,the south coast -, yet provides enough of a secluded feel not provided in my humble opinion by the hotel strips further south or along Lahaina . Best of all, on our last day we were allowed to leave our belongings at the hotel and use the hospitality room just prior to our flight at the hotel. Staff were helpful, patient and incredibly friendly. WIFI access was reliable and fast. Truly great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monterey Peninsula, California
Sep 24, 2010

Great layout on grounds close to ocean!

I attended the Maui Marathon and this was the second time I stayed at this resort location! Thank you for assigning me this great hotel which has its own chapel on the grounds! And I hear this hotel has some Maui history as well. signed Donald Roy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Simi
Jul 21, 2011

maui lu

Great hotel . Had been before . Still love it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ramachandra
Oregon
Nov 20, 2012

Good value, comfortable stay!

Stayed 3 nights, it was clean, spacious rooms, views from rooms, free parking. Enjoyed our stay and will come back for a longer stay next time. Staff was very kind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

DVD free rental card, play station , free breakfast with advice on nearby attractions and deals! On first day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MCD1980
SLC, Utah
Jun 7, 2012

Overall-worth it

We stayed here on our second trip to Maui. The location was perfect. The hotel is older and therefore lacks in some areas. Our room was cleaned daily. The staff was nice - we only spoke to them at check-in and check-out. We did "upgrade" to the ocean view room which (from what I read in a review before we came) are the "newer/updated" rooms. Beds and pillows were comfortable enough. Parking was TIGHT on our ocean view side but we always had a spot. Falling asleep and waking up to the ocean was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just down the street is a farmers market with amazing pineapple & mango

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Dec 30, 2009

A nice budget hotel

The hotel is average. If it wasn't for the amazing sunny weather and beautifully manicured grass all around, I might have given it fewer stars. But the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful, so despite the leak in our ceiling and the overall dingy feel of the room, we ended up loving our stay. In the morning we were awakened by the warm sun and the view of their lavish (for a hotel) landscape of greener than green grass and palm trees. The pool was very clean (though just as cold) and lying next to it in the morning was sheer bliss. The location is incredible - within minutes of dining, beaches and all the activities. I would have liked it if they had even a continental breakfast, but we did just fine without it, especially with a cute fridge in our room. Overall, our complaints are minor and we had one heck of a vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't book a luau before you get to Maui. Once there, ask around for the best recommended, or just read reviews before making your decision. We got a pretty iffy one (Royal Lahaina) because it was offered alongside our tickets. Choose your activities once you get to the island. You'll have a LOT of choices and price ranges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
israel
Jul 22, 2009

good place ...

good hotel , we stayed there for 3 nights and it was quiet & convinient .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the safe way store in the shopping center haves everything .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama L.
Pleasanton, CA
Jan 13, 2010

Astom Maui Lu

The hotel is on a huge, beautifully landscaped lot with expansive lawns, plentiful trees, and a park-like feel. The pool is very large and there are plenty of lounges for relaxing. The Maui Lu's beach area is not especially large, but it was private and quiet. The view from the beach was beautiful. The center of town was a short drive (less than 5 minutes) and the hotel is only about 10 minutes from the main highway, so travel to other parts of the island was very easy. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to any couples or families on a vacation. I wish we could have stayed longer there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Big Wave Cafe in the Longs Center for great food and Ocean's and Fred's for food/bar/nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jowilan
Maui, Verenigde Staten
Mar 7, 2013

Perfect location for good price

. Perfect location, few steps from the ocean, and view, building is old but the rooms are clean and a lot of room, special the second floor with the roof high, friendly staff, more than enough towels, A great place to be. From here you can drive easy to all points of Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You can drive easy to a lot places from here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search