$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
395 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (395)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
395 out of 395
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 25, 2007

wonderful location and service

we were very impressed with the level of service provided. when i asked (at the very last minute) if there was a possibility of staying an extra day (even though every motel in the area had no vacancies) they made the necessary againgments and not only did they grant my request but, upgraded me to an ocean front room at no extra expence. i will definately stay there again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of shopping and dining choices nearby

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pueblo West
Jun 12, 2008

Excellent bargain for the Price

This is traditionally one of the least expensive hotels on the island. The room was not huge, but very comfortable. The service was outstanding...free daily paper, coffee in the lobby, and a local coupon book to mention just a few. Of course, the views of the ocean, the sunsets, and the West Maui Mountains were breathtaking, not to mention being able to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean a scant few feet from the room. The location of the hotel is great...less than 10 miles from the airport, the Ocean Center, and the fabulous South Maui beaches. Overall, this has to be one of the best bargains I have ever come across. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The South Maui beaches are only a few miles further down South Kihei Road. These beaches have smaller crowds and longer stretches of white sand than their far more famous West Maui counterparts.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 25, 2007

wonderful location and service

we were very impressed with the level of service provided. when i asked (at the very last minute) if there was a possibility of staying an extra day (even though every motel in the area had no vacancies) they made the necessary againgments and not only did they grant my request but, upgraded me to an ocean front room at no extra expence. i will definately stay there again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of shopping and dining choices nearby

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson
Sep 2, 2008

Friendly Check In Staff

The check-in staff was very friendly and informative :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Apr 28, 2007

Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

My wife and I stayed at the Maui Lu for our honeymoon, and I have to say.... We absolutely loved it! We stayed in the oceanfront building 400, room 404. No other resort in all of Maui has a building as close to the ocean as this one is! We kept the windows open all the time and fell asleep and woke up to the sound of the ocean. We decided to stay on the bottom floor instead of the top and we are very glad we did. All we had to do was open the sliding glass door, walk about 20 feet, and jump in the ocean! I got up every morning to go for a swim in the private cove we had. Hardly anyone ever there, warm, clear water with a small coral garden about 100 yards out and still only about 4 feet of water! The cove also had a freshwater shower which came in real handy. If you want somthing alittle bigger to play on than the cove, there is a huge stretch of beach about 100 feet to the right of the cove. There was also a long grassy area covered with palm trees right outside our glass door which helped make sunsets amazing. From our room we had views of the harbor across the bay, the island of Lanai, and Molokini Crater. Our room was very clean when we got there and remained clean everyday as it was visited by room service who provided new glasses, towels, and vacumed daily. We also received a complimentery bottle of champange and bottles of water upon arriving at the hotel. The hotel is located on the far west side of Kihei, which in our opinion is the best town on the island ( yes we visited almost all of them and they are all very nice but Kihei is the best ). The hotel is secluded, but just a short drive away from shopping, restaurants, and some of the most amazing beaches we have ever seen. We visited the rest of the hotel one day, and even though we didnt go into the rooms, the grounds were very beautiful. Green grass, plants and palm trees everywhere you looked. The buildings are old looking on the outside but thats the point of the hotel.... To give you that old school Polynesian feel. We went swimming in the pool which is very large with sloping sides which made getting out kinda difficult. The pool was cold but refreshing since it was hot out. The parking lot on the oceanfront side was small and difficult to manuver, but there is an overflow lot right across the street. The lot also had a garden hose which allowed me to wash our jeep after the road to Hana. Our room also had a small refrigerator which was a good place to store groceries for the week we were there. The top shelf of the fridge was a freezer which we kept ice trays in. Next to the Fridge was a small safe which we stored valuables when we went out. There is also a small cable T.V. on the dresser which gave you access to many channels. A small gecko would come out at night and say hi. Watching him was very entertaining. We read all of the bad reviews prior to our trip and are so glad that we paid them no heed. We appreciated their concerns, but honestly, in the building we statyed in, they were completely unfounded. One women pointed out that part of the hotel is boarded up, and yes, one building off to the side is boarded up and no longer functioning..... but so what! Is anyone staying in that building? No! Anyways I cannot speak for the cleanliness or bugs or whatever in the other buildings because we did not see the inside of them, but trust me, I can guarantee if you stay in the 400 building you will not be dissapointed in any way, shape, or form. If you're looking for a huge, 10 story resort with a bunch of pools, tennis courts, saunas, and all the charm of a busy shopping mall, then this place is not for you. But if you want absoulute peace and quiet, away from all the hustle and bustle of town, then this hotel is defenitely for you. Anyways, hope this helps you in deciding where to stay. We are coming back to Maui for our 1 year anniversary and we will definetely be staying at the Aston Maui Lu again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Aston Maui Lu is on the very northwest side of Kihei, which in our opinion is the best town on the island of Maui. There is tons to do there. Shopping of every kind from groceries to gifts. Tons of restaurants to eat at. Some of the most beautiful beaches on the island with every water activity availiable to you.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pueblo West
Jun 12, 2008

Excellent bargain for the Price

This is traditionally one of the least expensive hotels on the island. The room was not huge, but very comfortable. The service was outstanding...free daily paper, coffee in the lobby, and a local coupon book to mention just a few. Of course, the views of the ocean, the sunsets, and the West Maui Mountains were breathtaking, not to mention being able to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean a scant few feet from the room. The location of the hotel is great...less than 10 miles from the airport, the Ocean Center, and the fabulous South Maui beaches. Overall, this has to be one of the best bargains I have ever come across. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The South Maui beaches are only a few miles further down South Kihei Road. These beaches have smaller crowds and longer stretches of white sand than their far more famous West Maui counterparts.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Lovely Stay

[...]was very helpful with my stay. I was upgraded two levels up and instead of the garden view, I was given the ocean view. It was the best experience I could have asked for. Thank you. Every day I returned to my room, it was clean and ready for another night's sleep. It was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rifle, Colorado
May 2, 2010

Nice comfortable resort

The Astom Maui Lu offers a secluded atmosphere, great friendly/courteous staff. Centrally located offers the ability to see the island at its fullest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Da Kitchen-Great local food

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hillary the Traveler
Honolulu, Hawaii
Apr 8, 2013

Great Vacation Spot

We had a great experience at this hotel. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, the rooms were great and clean, and the location was awesome. Wonderful room and experience at a great value. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try checking out the Road to Hana, it is about 30 minutes away and totally worth it if you are trying to see something amazing without spending a lot of money.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Apr 7, 2010

Had a great stay

Great deal on the hotel, very affordable with a tight budjet. Awesome location, had rooms that were right on the beach. Only stayed 2 days, but would have liked to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top