Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 268
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D and fam
san fernando valley
Aug 6, 2014

maui vacations

It was awsome our room was next to the beach almost like our own private one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plumeria dad
Arizona
Jul 18, 2014

A real botanical paradise right on the beach

This truly old hawaiian resort is filled with plants and trees that are mature. The buildings have real wood imported from Vancouver BC that enhance the flavor of the site. The native chickens and other fauna give the paradise feeling all day long. We loved the relaxed quality .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can drive further for more options

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meky Mijy
Nashville, Tennessee
Jul 15, 2014

Mahalo Maui Lu Staff

Staff members, two in particular, Jackie & Jeff went above & beyond in their exceptional customer services. They both made our two week's stay absolutely super! Great, positive personalities & contagious friendliness! Mahalo :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santa Shawnhead
New York
Jul 14, 2014

Great Family Ressort

Was awesome to be at the oldest resort at Kihei. The recent buildings are in very good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santa Shawnhead
New York
Jul 6, 2014

Fantastic family getaway

Very nice and quite hotel. Staff is very friendly. Pool is awesome and during our stay it was low frequented, so my kids had a big time. Everything is clean and professional organised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mak's Mom
Washington
Feb 25, 2014

Great Location & Affordable!

The grounds of the Maui Aston Lu are beautiful! My son loved the huge swimming pool. Our room was very spacious and the bedding clean. Great location right off the road and directly across from the beach. This is a affordable place to stay. If you are wanting a five star hotel this is not the place for you. If you want a economical and down to earth place to stay and plan on spending most of your time outdoors this is the place for you. We truly enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joyce kauffman
Casper, Wy
Feb 19, 2014

Beautiful grounds

The only complaint of staying in Paradise was that the hotel stay ended at noon & because we had the flight & hotel package.....the flight left at 11 pm.....so in other words we had no place to be for the 11 hrs. Could that be remedied for the next folks? Thanks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The eatting spots in Kihea were great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mthlmh
Sacramento CA
Feb 11, 2014

WHAT A DUMP!!!

All the pictures shown on this website are not this location! Our room (308) has not been updated since the 1960's. All night we heard rats outside. Save your money and go someplace else! HIGHLY DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE! When I went to talk with the front desk there were 2 other couples with similar compliants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WAHEENE
MAUI lu
Jan 9, 2014

NIGHTMARE AT THE ASTON LU

OMG THIS IS THE DIRTIEST HOTEL IVE HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED : CARPET DIRTY TO THE CORE, REDBLOOD LIKE STAINS ON THE FLOOR. I WONDER WHEN THE LAST TIME THEY SHAMPOOED THE ENTIRE CARPET WAS NOT JUST DIRTY BUT FILTHY . i MOVED TO A SECOND ROOM, WHICH WAS JUST AS BAD.IF NOT WORSE. I WAS TOLD BY CORPORATE THEY WERE GOING TO REBUILD, SO WHY THEN RENT THESE FILTHY ROOMS TO THE PUBLIC IS MY QUESTION? WE WERE BITTEN IN OUR SLEEP BY WHAT? THE TUB PARAMETER WAS FILTHY AS WELL AS THE CURTAINS. I WOULD NEVER GO BACK TO THIS PLACE EVER AGAIN.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Huahine
Honolulu, HI
Jan 6, 2014

Maui Lu Dissappointment

The front desk staff customer service leaves much to be desired, but I thought maybe I had just caught someone having a really bad day - or 2. The room leaked like a sieve when it rained and all they did was bring in a giant fan to dry the carpet. The leaky roof explains the moldy smell. The bathroom was fine except the shower was installed for someone only 4.5 feet tall and the toilet ran unless you took the cover off the tank and held the flapper down. I typically can overlook small things like this as long as the bed is clean, which it was, but it was the fact that no one offered a different room or a discount when these things were brought up. The room night price is way too high for a hotel whose best feature is it's location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search