Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 268
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.2
Value:
2

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HawaiiBusinessTraveler
Business
Oahu
Jul 24, 2014

Amazing Pictures that are nothing like the "Resort"

Amazing pictures online make it seem like an awesome place to stay... The "resort" looks nothing like the photos. The photographer is amazing with photoshop... termites and neglect of maintenance have taken it's toll, most disturbing was the dead santa mannequin lying prone in the stairs of the termite ridden abandoned wing.... may have nightmares from that one... The Maui shaped pool is more of a cement pond with very dated furniture, nothing like the pictures. The photos also hide the fact that the highway runs right thru the property. separating the Oceanfront upgraded rooms, which is a better experience, from the rest of the "resort". If you want a cheap place to stay, this is it. good for business travel and locals, but would NOT recommend it as the resort they try to portray. Cheap basic place to sleep and explore the beaches of Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tito m
Business
charlotte,nc
Jun 3, 2014

OK hotel

This could be a great hotel if they can just a little more effort in renovating the facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the hotel to sleep only and find fun somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the lad
Business
San Francisco, California
May 24, 2013

Call health inspector

The swimming pool was so dirty I could not see my feet and there was brown scum on the surface. I was told by locals not to leave anything of value in my rental car as there was a rash of car break ins in that parking area. I was very disapointed in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mainland
Apr 15, 2011

No Returns

While I enjoyed the refrigerator, iron and twice the normal TV channels, the shower experience was not good. The first morning I took a shower at dawn. I waited the normal time for the hot water to start. Once I stepped in I rotated the temperature valve fully CCW waited ten seconds, then center, then CW and waited, no hot water. I repeated this sequence three times waiting in each position. I then decided to only wash my hair. I put soap in my left hand and started to wet my hair with my right when I finally detected some warmer water. Day 2 I started my shower 2.5 hours later and had a better experience, but a pressure balanced shower valve is definitely needed, other people primed the hot water pipe. The room was clean but in my top five motels needing a complete remodel. Why is it that $100 + rooms try to nickle and dollar you for local calls and internet access? The mid priced chain motels give these for free and continental breakfast too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kihei, HI
Aug 7, 2010

Affordable Aloha

My family is in the process of moving to Maui from Oahu and I needed to go ahead to start working and find us a place to live. I mainly needed the room to crash at night, but I also enjoyed the nice and quiet room just to relax in. The rooms are a little dated, but clean and had tasteful Hawaiian decor. The staff was fantastic and the room was very affordable for the area. There was a pool, but I never made it there - looked nice - and the beach was literally across the street! Rooms had a fridge, but no microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never 2 Return.
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 7, 2010

Never Again!

Do not stay at this hotel - would not classify as a 1 star hotel. Everything in hotel was from 1975 including the mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Nov 23, 2009

Basic accomodations

I did not get to tour the grounds. Checked in rather late, had dinner and went to bed after a long day. I had the room to myself but it be spacious for two. Furnishings were sparse and the room was comfortable but not extravagant. Carpeting showed signs of wear. Television was rather small but offered quite a few channels. Beds were clean and comfortable. Bathroom needed renovation. Walls were not very thick so I could hear activity showering, etc.) in the adjacent rooms. For the most part the complex was quiet while I was there. The hotel is very near the shoreline and so receives a nice ocean breeze. Visitor will need to dine out as the hotel has no restaurant. A Japanese/Korean restaurant was within walking distance however, and stayed open well into the evening. If you're looking for a basic hotel room and want to avoid Lahaina and Kaanapali you may want to consider the Maui Lu. The front desk staffers were very warm and gracious. Book online to get a better daily rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 4, 2009

The bad, the badder and the worst

The staff was great, the hotel was awful...it was rundown, had ants, the bed and pillows where old and just worst place I have ever stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Nov 3, 2008

Needs work

The Aston Maui Lu Resort sits on a large, beautiful grassy lot across the street from the beach. The buildings are somewhat old and a bit run down. The door to the room was difficult to close and lock (lock and key type). The rooms are very spacious, but the bathroom very small. Wireless internet in the lobby only and no wired internet to the rooms. There are four 3-storied buildings of rooms. One is totally abandoned and rapidly deteriorating. What looks like the resort's dinning/conference room has been sold to a church, no other dining facilities are found on the property. The price is not terrible, but a bit much for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search