$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
394 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (394)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
394 out of 394
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hillary the Traveler
Honolulu, Hawaii
Apr 8, 2013

Great Vacation Spot

We had a great experience at this hotel. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, the rooms were great and clean, and the location was awesome. Wonderful room and experience at a great value. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try checking out the Road to Hana, it is about 30 minutes away and totally worth it if you are trying to see something amazing without spending a lot of money.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plumeria dad
Arizona
Jul 18, 2014

A real botanical paradise right on the beach

This truly old hawaiian resort is filled with plants and trees that are mature. The buildings have real wood imported from Vancouver BC that enhance the flavor of the site. The native chickens and other fauna give the paradise feeling all day long. We loved the relaxed quality .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can drive further for more options

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hanson , Ky
Jan 24, 2011

A four star motel at a two star price !

we truly had a great time in Maui , enjoyed all the sight's , sound's , and smell's of the island , we went atv riding and went on a submarine ride + so much more , the only thing missing is more time to experinace the whole island , so far this is the best vacation we have taken , hope to return some day .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ATV rides .

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lunartic
Hanson, KY, USA
Feb 11, 2013

Great place to stay

friendly and clean, easy parking, beautiful grounds, water presure is far exceeding any motel I ever stayed in .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far from a lot ofactivites .

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tommy Bommy
Seattle, WA
Jul 8, 2013

Quick Wedding Weekend Stay

The Aston Maui Lu is is just right for a short stay. It is conveniently located on South Kihei Road, and there is ample parking. The stalls are a bit narrow, but there is enough space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shanghai of China
May 12, 2010

good location and good service

good location to save much time; friendly service to save much money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs Vitaman
Queens, NY
Jan 24, 2011

Mahalo Maui Lu

We picked the Maui Lu mostly because of it's location and price. For the money, this hotel was a slam dunk. We got a free upgrade to a duplex suite upon arrival and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient to Kahului airport and pretty much smack in the middle of all of the activities we had planned for our trip. The Maui Lu was the perfect choice for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Kihei Caffe for breakfast. Da Kitchen for dinner (who needs lunch?)

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LLMG
Mason, OH
Jan 1, 2010

Great place for the price!!

Aston Maui Lu is a great place considering the price, i booked a ocean view dulex, although it is not quite ocean view, but it is very quiet and restful, they have a small private beach that typically has nobody. Food is close, you can either walk to the Japanese restaurant or short drive to Kihei.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese restaurant.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Junebug
Anchorage
Mar 14, 2011

No frills at a great location

When we arrived we were pleasantly upgraded from an oceanview room to an oceanfront room. Our neighbors were quiet couples and families. Our 7-year-old daughter loved the beach and nearby Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary office. She met other kids to play with on the beach and at the pool. We visited with other guests at the picnic table and on the lanai. Very friendly atmosphere. The staff were helpful. Our needs are simple. We had free access to a computer for early flight check-in (other than that you have to pay for internet access) and beach towels are freely distributed near the pool. There is a sharing box with beach and pool toys that we used. The things we missed were (1) a microwave in the room (although they had one in the lobby for general use), (2) no voice mail on phone system (so we couldn't leave messages for other guests and they couldn't leave message for us), and (3) tight parking on the oceanside but we got used to it after a while. We spoke with several guests who had been returning year after year, and we may become one of them! Last year we stayed in a yurt on the windward side of Oahu, and five years ago we stayed at a hostel and camped around Maui - so this was a big upgrade for us. Our daughter enjoyed the fact that there were no insects in the room and only 1 rat was seen near the picnic table. I might add we were there during the recent tsunami and the staff gave us good information about where we needed to go when the sirens sounded. No panic, we had several hours to collect our belongings and drive a few miles inland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

FREE: Sugar Beach to the north of the resort is a great beach for walking on. And the Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary office is to the south near the ancient fishpond.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TWS IV
Moss Bluff, La
Aug 1, 2012

Had a nice time staying at the Aston Maui Lu

The hotel over all was nice. a little out dated in the bathrooms. Other then that, Had a great stay. We spent 80% of our time on the beach, around the pool or sight seeing. So for us it realy didnt matter what the inside looks like as long as the rooms are clean and they were. Will stay again if we go to Maui again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the local food spots around the island, road side venders have some of the best foods. To save a little money, buy at the local stores and bring back to your room to make snacks etc.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stage With Grace
Toms River, NJ
Oct 8, 2012

The Best!!!

I LOVE this Hotel. Not just for an incredible ocean views, but for coziness, feeling "home". If any issues - just calling the front desk - it's done very quickly! This time is the second time around for me. I would never go anywhere else. It's something magical about this place (ocean front upstairs, anyway!!!). Thank you for this wonderful experience - to all the Staff of Aston Maui Lu Mahalo and Aloha in Hawaiian, Grace Carter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

It's NO Nightlife in Maui. If that's what you looking for - you are on a wrong Island. If you're for Peace, Reflection, HEALING, sense of Love and total Relaxation (feeling of "go with the flow") - you are HOME!

Back to menu Return to top