Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
not2picky
Santa Cruz, CA
Dec 26, 2009

Comfortable for not too much $$$

This is a great place to stay when adding extra days following our stay at our timeshare. It is very reasonably priced and a short trip to the airport when it's time to go home. The staff is very friendly, and while the hotel is older, the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have had many travels
Santa rosa, ca
Aug 28, 2012

Simple and peaceful

I loved the grounds and location so close to the secluded beach. The room smelled very musty and I thought it was perhaps moldy. i thought I would leave but I was tired so I opened the front and patio doors and the breeze mostly took it away. it is an older place and other than the smell in my room, it was very clean. I heard that many of the other rooms had been updated but i was glad the and the price was great. Even though it was not in walking distance of restaurants the bus was easy to use. It has wifi and complimentary fresh fruit, muffins, coffee and juice for breakfast which are both a big plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A sizeable and secluded beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
F and B
Alaska
Feb 17, 2012

Very nice for the price.

Stayed in a garden view and then upgraded to oceanfront. The garden view room was large and quiet (a little damp smelling however - as it is an older building). The grounds are very spacious with beautiful coconut trees and a nice pool. When we upgraded to the oceanfront - it was almost perfect. The ocean is just 30 or so feet from the room and a nice little private beach. We had an upstairs room with an upstairs bedroom that was very nice (not all rooms have this). There was traffic noice coming in the upstairs bedroom window as the building is very close to a road. There is no traffic noice in the main living area with the balcony overlooking the ocean. The staff was wonderful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at "Coconuts" at the nearby plaza. Great fish and brown rice for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joyce kauffman
Casper, Wy
Feb 19, 2014

Beautiful grounds

The only complaint of staying in Paradise was that the hotel stay ended at noon & because we had the flight & hotel package.....the flight left at 11 pm.....so in other words we had no place to be for the 11 hrs. Could that be remedied for the next folks? Thanks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The eatting spots in Kihea were great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrandmaR30
St. George, Utah
Jan 21, 2013

Sisters Getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. It was comfortable and close to many places. Secluded from a busy city and yet not too far out of the way. The room had a musty smell to it when we first went in, but we opened both doors and let the air go through and then it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plumeria dad
Arizona
Jul 18, 2014

A real botanical paradise right on the beach

This truly old hawaiian resort is filled with plants and trees that are mature. The buildings have real wood imported from Vancouver BC that enhance the flavor of the site. The native chickens and other fauna give the paradise feeling all day long. We loved the relaxed quality .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can drive further for more options

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hanson , Ky
Jan 24, 2011

A four star motel at a two star price !

we truly had a great time in Maui , enjoyed all the sight's , sound's , and smell's of the island , we went atv riding and went on a submarine ride + so much more , the only thing missing is more time to experinace the whole island , so far this is the best vacation we have taken , hope to return some day .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ATV rides .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ontario, CA
Apr 30, 2007

VERY ACCOMADATING

The staff was very friendly and helpful, we would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

restraunts were a little far

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lunartic
Hanson, KY, USA
Feb 11, 2013

Great place to stay

friendly and clean, easy parking, beautiful grounds, water presure is far exceeding any motel I ever stayed in .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far from a lot ofactivites .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, HI
Aug 4, 2007

Very Relaxing

The MAui Lu was very quiet and relaxing. Ocean view was spectacular. Sunset view in the 400 building. Beach is walking distance from hotel rooms. The only thing that was not satisfacatory was the smell in the room. Went to the store and bought room freshner. Pillow was awesome! Bed was comfy. Shower room was excelent. Overall it was worth the money and the stay would return and tell friends and family to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to the grocery store. Bought a foam cooler filled it with cool drinks and snacks and cold cuts for sandwhiches. Don't forget the ICE. Drove and did some sight seeing did'nt have to stop for food unless it was something we were hungry for that we may not have had in our cooler.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top