Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bus super
Houston tx
Dec 20, 2012

Great view but lacking comfort

We checked in and staff was very nice but was told if parking area is full to park in a lot across the street from the room and carry our stuff .In room no microwave at all , you have to walk or drive over to office to use one.Basic items such as a comfortable chair to sit in or a mattress that is good to sleep on ( the one we had was rock hard and the pillows were small flat squares that needed to be stacked in 3 to be like home ) .We checked out very early because we could not sleep and was not able to sit in the room except on the bed ! Next time I will not stay at Maui Lu

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fat Daddy's BBQ at Makena shopping mall across the road from Foodland , carried a bunch back to Honolulu with us for our dinner . It broke da mouth ,very Ono !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gella 2012
Irvine ca
Dec 12, 2012

Cute

Front Desk Staff first day very nice....second day front desk staff very unfriendly......Modest cute place,Houskepers they were very nice and sweet,excelent location,beautiful property..........I had a great time.......overall with a little money you get a descent place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

808 de4li store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ramachandra
Oregon
Nov 20, 2012

Good value, comfortable stay!

Stayed 3 nights, it was clean, spacious rooms, views from rooms, free parking. Enjoyed our stay and will come back for a longer stay next time. Staff was very kind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

DVD free rental card, play station , free breakfast with advice on nearby attractions and deals! On first day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb the traveler
Slovenia
Oct 27, 2012

Kihei - good location of the hotel

Hotel has a nice position for trips around the island, location is in the palm-trees park, pool is nice, staff at the reception is ok, cleaning staff is more friendly and helpful though. Rooms are ok, eventhough not very modern and have a special smell as the house is wooden. We have enjoyed our staying in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice shopping in Weilea :-) and good Hawaiian ice-cream too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Leonard
Washington State
Oct 18, 2012

Loved!

I upgraded to an Ocean Front/view Room and it just couldn't get much better. The view was amazing just feet from the ocean and the staff were very nice. one set back if you can call it that was that I would have loved to have had a microwave in my room, spending several days I would have loved to have been able to at least warm something up in the room. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stage With Grace
Toms River, NJ
Oct 8, 2012

The Best!!!

I LOVE this Hotel. Not just for an incredible ocean views, but for coziness, feeling "home". If any issues - just calling the front desk - it's done very quickly! This time is the second time around for me. I would never go anywhere else. It's something magical about this place (ocean front upstairs, anyway!!!). Thank you for this wonderful experience - to all the Staff of Aston Maui Lu Mahalo and Aloha in Hawaiian, Grace Carter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

It's NO Nightlife in Maui. If that's what you looking for - you are on a wrong Island. If you're for Peace, Reflection, HEALING, sense of Love and total Relaxation (feeling of "go with the flow") - you are HOME!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chanoch
israel
Sep 12, 2012

mr

the motel is very good i will cam agein we lave the plaice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Desiree globetrotter
WV
Sep 5, 2012

Great young couple hotel right on the beach!

We booked this hotel because 1. it was in the general location we wanted to be, 2. We knew we wouldn't be in the room all THAT much and 3. It was listed as THE least expensive hotel at 79$ a night for Maui!? Wow! That being said, we got what we paid for and what we knew we were getting. Great location, rooms where great size and the hotel grounds were beautiful. The pool even looked great but I never got in it. Places needing improvements were decor (90s ish) but who cares your in Maui for 79$ a night!? And the "continental" breakfast was a joke, but who wants to eat that when Kihei Cafe is 2 miles down the road. A few tips... Rent a car. Well worth it! We only spent 130 for 5 days! Also, we vacation on a budget... No Four Seasons happening in my life. But I enjoyed the beach in front of those hotels and their resturants all while spending about 2k less than those ppl. Worth it of you ask me. I rAther spend money on things to do than hotel. This place is worth it. You get what you pay for!! So don't expect marble anything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Worth every cent and we saw the whole island instead of being tied down to one area. You can eat and use the bar and beaches at any of the nice posh hotels, Gran Wilea, Four Seasons, Fairmont. Best dinner was at Duo at four seasons ($$$$) and best breakfast kihei cafe ($)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FZ1J
Upstate New York
Aug 31, 2012

Beautiful Traditional Maui

No hotel on Maui offers the peaceful, historic and absolute beauty of the magnificent and special Aston Maui Lu. The 28 acres of trees, birds, plants and pool, combined with convenient beach access and the ever present majesty of Haleakala are breathtaking. No matter how hectic the Maui pace, the Aston Maui Lu always provides a serene island retreat to return to. Also, the staff is kind, helpful, dedicated and truly professional in every respect. I have never missed a place more after leaving than the Aston Maui Lu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have had many travels
Santa rosa, ca
Aug 28, 2012

Simple and peaceful

I loved the grounds and location so close to the secluded beach. The room smelled very musty and I thought it was perhaps moldy. i thought I would leave but I was tired so I opened the front and patio doors and the breeze mostly took it away. it is an older place and other than the smell in my room, it was very clean. I heard that many of the other rooms had been updated but i was glad the and the price was great. Even though it was not in walking distance of restaurants the bus was easy to use. It has wifi and complimentary fresh fruit, muffins, coffee and juice for breakfast which are both a big plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A sizeable and secluded beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search