$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
395 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (395)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
395 out of 395
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Leonard
Washington State
Oct 18, 2012

Loved!

I upgraded to an Ocean Front/view Room and it just couldn't get much better. The view was amazing just feet from the ocean and the staff were very nice. one set back if you can call it that was that I would have loved to have had a microwave in my room, spending several days I would have loved to have been able to at least warm something up in the room. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stage With Grace
Toms River, NJ
Oct 8, 2012

The Best!!!

I LOVE this Hotel. Not just for an incredible ocean views, but for coziness, feeling "home". If any issues - just calling the front desk - it's done very quickly! This time is the second time around for me. I would never go anywhere else. It's something magical about this place (ocean front upstairs, anyway!!!). Thank you for this wonderful experience - to all the Staff of Aston Maui Lu Mahalo and Aloha in Hawaiian, Grace Carter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

It's NO Nightlife in Maui. If that's what you looking for - you are on a wrong Island. If you're for Peace, Reflection, HEALING, sense of Love and total Relaxation (feeling of "go with the flow") - you are HOME!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chanoch
israel
Sep 12, 2012

mr

the motel is very good i will cam agein we lave the plaice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Desiree globetrotter
WV
Sep 5, 2012

Great young couple hotel right on the beach!

We booked this hotel because 1. it was in the general location we wanted to be, 2. We knew we wouldn't be in the room all THAT much and 3. It was listed as THE least expensive hotel at 79$ a night for Maui!? Wow! That being said, we got what we paid for and what we knew we were getting. Great location, rooms where great size and the hotel grounds were beautiful. The pool even looked great but I never got in it. Places needing improvements were decor (90s ish) but who cares your in Maui for 79$ a night!? And the "continental" breakfast was a joke, but who wants to eat that when Kihei Cafe is 2 miles down the road. A few tips... Rent a car. Well worth it! We only spent 130 for 5 days! Also, we vacation on a budget... No Four Seasons happening in my life. But I enjoyed the beach in front of those hotels and their resturants all while spending about 2k less than those ppl. Worth it of you ask me. I rAther spend money on things to do than hotel. This place is worth it. You get what you pay for!! So don't expect marble anything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Worth every cent and we saw the whole island instead of being tied down to one area. You can eat and use the bar and beaches at any of the nice posh hotels, Gran Wilea, Four Seasons, Fairmont. Best dinner was at Duo at four seasons ($$$$) and best breakfast kihei cafe ($)

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FZ1J
Upstate New York
Aug 31, 2012

Beautiful Traditional Maui

No hotel on Maui offers the peaceful, historic and absolute beauty of the magnificent and special Aston Maui Lu. The 28 acres of trees, birds, plants and pool, combined with convenient beach access and the ever present majesty of Haleakala are breathtaking. No matter how hectic the Maui pace, the Aston Maui Lu always provides a serene island retreat to return to. Also, the staff is kind, helpful, dedicated and truly professional in every respect. I have never missed a place more after leaving than the Aston Maui Lu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have had many travels
Santa rosa, ca
Aug 28, 2012

Simple and peaceful

I loved the grounds and location so close to the secluded beach. The room smelled very musty and I thought it was perhaps moldy. i thought I would leave but I was tired so I opened the front and patio doors and the breeze mostly took it away. it is an older place and other than the smell in my room, it was very clean. I heard that many of the other rooms had been updated but i was glad the and the price was great. Even though it was not in walking distance of restaurants the bus was easy to use. It has wifi and complimentary fresh fruit, muffins, coffee and juice for breakfast which are both a big plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A sizeable and secluded beach

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maui built
kihei Hi.
Aug 16, 2012

sunset, beach accsesable

friendly,clean and Kihei town accsesable.Sunsets ,beach walk,run not so much sea swiming?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TWS IV
Moss Bluff, La
Aug 1, 2012

Had a nice time staying at the Aston Maui Lu

The hotel over all was nice. a little out dated in the bathrooms. Other then that, Had a great stay. We spent 80% of our time on the beach, around the pool or sight seeing. So for us it realy didnt matter what the inside looks like as long as the rooms are clean and they were. Will stay again if we go to Maui again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the local food spots around the island, road side venders have some of the best foods. To save a little money, buy at the local stores and bring back to your room to make snacks etc.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gma vonnie
Warren oregon
Jul 27, 2012

It was beautiful

I loved the location, it was close to everything we wanted to do. The people were friendly. The view was awesome. We didn;t want to leave. They helped us book some entertainment and gave us extra directions when ever we needed it. The weather was awsome. The printout we recieved from you was very well organized and was easy to follow. But our last day there was waisted, I wish we could have departed in the evening instead of the morning. The down side was my daughter is hearing impared and the close caption on the tv didn't work. The two playstations they provided didn't work. The remote barely worked for the TV and there was no safty lock on one of the doors. They also forgot to give us our wakeup call and we nearly missed our boat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We took the kids roller skating at a park about 5 miles from the hotel, right next to the ocean. It was only $5 dollars a kids and the snacks were .50 cents to a dollar, and you can see the ocean and the kids at the same time., Right across from the park are great little venders, and a awsome out door resturaunts.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BabyNet
New Orleans La.
Jul 24, 2012

Not recommended

This place needs a renovation like yesterday. Old, smelly, run down. I read the reviews prior to booking this place, but I always like to give the under dog a chance. What a huge mistake that was. If you do stay here, you must have a rental car, for there is no restaurant, or activities on site or even close, so taxi rides can get very expensive. When I entered the room, I wondered why there were no comforters or bedspreads, then I figured out thats because the a//c in at least three of the rooms, I'm sure there were others, I just didn't ask anyone else.The highest rating was for the staff, and the is mainly due to the maintenance crew that drove me over from the ocean front rooms to the office, by way of cart. Oh and the room safe doesn't not look safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Long Drugs, is a good place to buy items, its like CVS, which now owns them. Its open 24 hours and the prices are the same as home, where as there others are much more expensive.

Back to menu Return to top