$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FZ1J
Upstate New York
Aug 31, 2012

Beautiful Traditional Maui

No hotel on Maui offers the peaceful, historic and absolute beauty of the magnificent and special Aston Maui Lu. The 28 acres of trees, birds, plants and pool, combined with convenient beach access and the ever present majesty of Haleakala are breathtaking. No matter how hectic the Maui pace, the Aston Maui Lu always provides a serene island retreat to return to. Also, the staff is kind, helpful, dedicated and truly professional in every respect. I have never missed a place more after leaving than the Aston Maui Lu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Process Improvement Eng
Spokane, WA
Mar 1, 2013

Smelly Old 'Fixer-Upper'

We booked two rooms for two nights to explore Kihei and the location was great, close to town and across the street from a very nice beach. The rooms and service was not what we expected from a Aston hotel. It looked like Aston bought an old "Fixer Upper" that hasn't been remodeled yet. We had two "garden view" rooms that smelled like my grandmother's basement and looked like it was remodeled last in the 1950's. The walls had been painted over missing tecture above the baseboards. Fixtures and doors very dated. The service manager was helpfull but always seemed like she didn't want to be bothered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Warren & Annabelle's - Magic Show in Kihei - a must see we've been three times!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Boktabb
Chicago
Feb 18, 2013

Good place to stay

We had a great time. The rooms were relatively clean (needed some work). The beds were clean but the interior was old, worn out and a hint of mustiness. The TV was very small and the cable wasn't very good (fuzzy most times) The staff were excellent and helped you plan out your vacation activities. It was a good central location for us as we had a rental vehicle. I would recommend this hotel to my friend's and I would go back there again myself

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car!!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frank99
Menlo Park, California
Feb 13, 2013

3 days in Maui

the hotel was comfortable and the location is good, close to all the important sites you want to see. Unfortunately there was no hot tub ;) for the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lunartic
Hanson, KY, USA
Feb 11, 2013

Great place to stay

friendly and clean, easy parking, beautiful grounds, water presure is far exceeding any motel I ever stayed in .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far from a lot ofactivites .

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MAUI LOVER2013
SEATTLE,WA
Feb 3, 2013

will never go back

old and dirty ....not clean and would never recommend it to anyone... NOT a 2 star hotel , rather a - 1 star ... this was our 12th trip to Maui, first time in Kihei and very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

stella

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randy United Flyer
Colorado
Jan 24, 2013

Tale of two hotels

This is a rather old property that could stand a little freshening but the location and the staff more than make up for it. The location of Kihei is great. Close to everything you need but not in the middle of the shops or tucked away in a remote resort. Also, there are really two hotels here. The offices and large area are in a park-like quiet setting across the road from the beach. Many palm trees, an average (cold) pool and pretty lawns and grounds. Across the road, they have about 1/3 of their rooms right on the beach. As with all beaches in Hawaii, they are public but are pretty quiet. Whatever shortcomings the hotel facilities may have (no restaurant and one ice machine for the entire hotel), the staff MORE than made up for. Delightful people who always wanted to help and made you feel that you were a guest of a family more than of a hotel chain. Would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plannetje
Martinez, California
Jan 24, 2013

Fair value for the price

A fair value for the price. Hotel is noisy and we could hear heavy footsteps for a few nights above us and when the heavy person departed, a family with small (jumping) children moved in. Not much better. Hotel was clean, but sometimes a bit slow in the housekeeping department, with our room not cleaned by 2 pm, even with a sign on the door when we left at 5 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrandmaR30
St. George, Utah
Jan 21, 2013

Sisters Getaway

We enjoyed our stay very much. It was comfortable and close to many places. Secluded from a busy city and yet not too far out of the way. The room had a musty smell to it when we first went in, but we opened both doors and let the air go through and then it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cali Sid
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Jan 14, 2013

Great for the price!

An affordable stay in Kihei! Easy access to the beach! My daughter and I could be in the water each morning within five minutes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Catch great live music in downtown Kihei!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MissingMaui
Hot Springs, AR
Jan 2, 2013

Needs a little updating

The grounds of this hotel are BEAUTIFUL! There are pathways to walk through gorgeous flowering shrubs and trees and a pretty beach right across the road. The staff is wonderfully friendly and helpful, real "Aloha spirit". The only thing lacking was some updating of the rooms themselves, but the beds were comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search