$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
390 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rosa23
Mesa, AZ
Jun 7, 2013

family vacation

the hotel itself is a health hazard, the carpet stink and the bathroom was not clean. I red another review prior to book this hotel and I did not believe it that was as bad as described by another person, but was true 100%, if you find a good review for this hotel is probably because the hotel's manager or somebody to get pay did it. The customer service is bad and the statement that you will get complimentary breakfast is another lie, there is not complimentary breakfast, you have to listen a tour sales from the concierge of the hotel if you want to get a cup of juice and a mini muffin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
randall rudy
mount vernon, wa.
May 29, 2013

nice property, old hotel

The size of the property compared with surrounding hotels is really big. The age of the buildings and rooms is pretty old. The pool is very large and nice. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Not a bad experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

hit the dining areas during happy hours usually 4-6pm for good drink prices otherwise they are quite high.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SFMIkey
San Francisco, CA
May 28, 2013

Needs a Little Love

This hotel is what it is - a good bargain for its location north of the center of Kihei. Here's the thing: it's on a beautiful plot of land (former coconut grove) and with a little sprucing up could be a really awesome hotel. Unfortunately it feels dated and worn. Also, hotel cleaning staff don't do a great job. It looks awesome in the pictures provided by the hotel, but in reality is looking dated and worn. On the upside, the desk staff had lots of "Aloha spirit!" In short - you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the lad
Business
San Francisco, California
May 24, 2013

Call health inspector

The swimming pool was so dirty I could not see my feet and there was brown scum on the surface. I was told by locals not to leave anything of value in my rental car as there was a rash of car break ins in that parking area. I was very disapointed in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ju e Fi
Florianopolis, Brasil
May 1, 2013

Aventureiros do Brasil

Muito bom, Pegamos uma promoção de ficar 4 dias e pagar 3 diárias , Ficou muito em conta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hillary the Traveler
Honolulu, Hawaii
Apr 8, 2013

Great Vacation Spot

We had a great experience at this hotel. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, the rooms were great and clean, and the location was awesome. Wonderful room and experience at a great value. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try checking out the Road to Hana, it is about 30 minutes away and totally worth it if you are trying to see something amazing without spending a lot of money.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teacher SpringBreaker
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 8, 2013

Great location, Great Price, Great Aloha

This staff is super kind, the location is convenient with a darling "private" beach outside our room. It is in desperate need of renovation but then it would cost more, so we are happy the way it is. Great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you are in a garden room switch to beachside so you can hear the ocean waves out your window. Don't miss Haleakala Crater in the late afternoon and sunset...no need to freeze at sunrise.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mauilocaltraveler
Kahana
Apr 8, 2013

nice, good value, but as expected

From the pricing at first glance, I knew that this resort would not be on the higher end, which I was fine with because I basically just needed a bed, shower and parking spot for the night. The room was spacious, very clean and staff was friendly - but do not expect any on-site F&B, HD TV or wi-fi - the place is comfortable but basic. If you are looking for high end, check out a Starwood or other luxury brand; if you are OK with simple and aren't spending much time in the room anyway, can't beat the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Heyman
Newport Beach, Ca.
Mar 24, 2013

Vacation

Was frustrated there Internet was not accessible on my I- pad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bad expectations
Maui
Mar 8, 2013

worst hotel stay ever

Upon checkin we were told of a 67.50 ammenity fee that was not expected or known about when we personally talked to the hotel days before setting up a room with a king bed. then told that our room was not ready.so we were going to leave our luggage and wait-it was the second lady there that interupted and said the maids were finishing up and we could go in. We pre arranged a room with a King bed. the room given was two double beds, we went back to explain this and got a room with the king bed that was indeed sitting there ready. we then entered a room and was very un happy at the condition. There were 4 windows with wooden slats for replacement of broken glass slats, one window was stuck open, there was cracks along the ceiling in the bathroom and room that were back from mold, the walls in the bathroom alone were in such bad shape with cracks and a wall texture that looked like it had not been touched other that many coats of paint over the last 30 yrs but still looked like it had not been freshly painted in quite some time from the dirt along the corners and baseboard. the bathroom sink was so old, the countertop was the 1970 gold finish and in bad shape and stained with many yrs layers of cracked paint, the bathtub stopper was broken and couldnt be used to hold water for a bath, had to stuff a towel in drain to hold water instead.the walls thru out were dirty and dingy, there were BIG stains all along the bedskirt that looked horible, the back of the front door had big peeling paint from what looked like a sticker placed along time ago and painted over so many times, yet it still was just hanging there by its ends,the playstation the had to play dvd movies did not work properly and had to be tapped on and reset many times for a movie to play, it was complete success to mess with it forever to get a movie to start. the iron they provided did not work, that was the only thing we requested a new one on. never got it and had to request it a second time.We were not given and any info upon checkin that on our first morning there would be breakfast and an orientation with info and things to do stuff. we only found out by a last min call the next morning asking if we would attend right when we were heading out the door with other plans, had we known on check in about this we would have gone to the one and only breakfast they offered. I explained this and they made no arraingements for us the next day. in fact there front desk was very non accomidating about anything. There was one gentleman there one night who actually went out of his way to help me with a map and details on where i wanted to go, the ONLY good exp i had there. They charged way to much to for use of internet at front desk that had computers that were so slow loading pages it waisted alot of min and money using. I knew this hotel was only a 2 star and did not expect luxury but i could of stayed in a one star motel 6 for alot less and had a better, cleaner room where everything worked and I am still trying to figure out the 67.oo plus for ammenity fees. what ammenities, a broken iron dvd player and computer i had to pay for anyways?? VEY VERY UNHAPPY WITH THIS STAY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top