$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pueblo West
Jun 12, 2008

Excellent bargain for the Price

This is traditionally one of the least expensive hotels on the island. The room was not huge, but very comfortable. The service was outstanding...free daily paper, coffee in the lobby, and a local coupon book to mention just a few. Of course, the views of the ocean, the sunsets, and the West Maui Mountains were breathtaking, not to mention being able to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean a scant few feet from the room. The location of the hotel is great...less than 10 miles from the airport, the Ocean Center, and the fabulous South Maui beaches. Overall, this has to be one of the best bargains I have ever come across. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The South Maui beaches are only a few miles further down South Kihei Road. These beaches have smaller crowds and longer stretches of white sand than their far more famous West Maui counterparts.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Lovely Stay

[...]was very helpful with my stay. I was upgraded two levels up and instead of the garden view, I was given the ocean view. It was the best experience I could have asked for. Thank you. Every day I returned to my room, it was clean and ready for another night's sleep. It was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 27, 2008

Very pictureques

I found that the grounds and hotel were being maintained every time I peeked my head out the door. As soon as the coconuts fell, there was someone there to pick them up, as well as cutting the grass, picking up leaves. The pool was nice but not heated. The hotel rooms were clean,quiet. I would have enjoyed a place to eat within the hotel grounds since the location is away from stores, although there is a ABC Store about a half mile away. The hotel is literally steps away from the ocean and you get the feeling of an old school resort with acres surrounding the hotel, view of the mountains the backside, view of the ocean from the front side. Staff were friendly, not making you feel like you were cattle. All buildings were natural wood without paint, inside rooms were furnished the bamboo furniture and nice paint on the walls, the room was spacious with a table and two chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort is someone secluded but a short drive south on S.Kihei Rd. about a mile there are little boutiques, restaurants, condos.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hillary the Traveler
Honolulu, Hawaii
Apr 8, 2013

Great Vacation Spot

We had a great experience at this hotel. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, the rooms were great and clean, and the location was awesome. Wonderful room and experience at a great value. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try checking out the Road to Hana, it is about 30 minutes away and totally worth it if you are trying to see something amazing without spending a lot of money.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Waynesburg PA
Nov 21, 2010

Great motel, friendly staff

We were only there for a couple of days. Staff were very informative on places to see and eat while visiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Although the Road to Hanna takes the biggest part of the day in a car, the scenery was magnificent and worth the time.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui 1st.
Santa Ana, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Family Getaway

I liked the staff and room. Very friendly and clean. I wish there were kitchen in the rooms and bigger refrigaters. But or all a good and safe stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you have kids, the coupons are great for families on a budget. The Aston Maui Lu Hotel advertise these coupons, which were a time and money saver.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Leonard
Washington State
Oct 18, 2012

Loved!

I upgraded to an Ocean Front/view Room and it just couldn't get much better. The view was amazing just feet from the ocean and the staff were very nice. one set back if you can call it that was that I would have loved to have had a microwave in my room, spending several days I would have loved to have been able to at least warm something up in the room. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento ,CA
May 16, 2011

It is pretty good ....

We need more days was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Apr 7, 2010

Had a great stay

Great deal on the hotel, very affordable with a tight budjet. Awesome location, had rooms that were right on the beach. Only stayed 2 days, but would have liked to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 11, 2007

great pool

The Aston Maui Lu was older but maintained pretty well. The staff was friendly and helpful. You have to cross a busy road to get to the beach but the pool was huge & very retro!! We just stayed for 1 night & for a short stay was adequate but would have been cramped for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed a large inexpensive breakfast at Moose McGillicutty's.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search