$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Ocanfront rooms are best!

Really enjoyed staying here. Before coming did not expect a lot but when arrived found ir... See full review

  • id02121
  • Aug 8, 2014
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fairly excited
Montana
Mar 21, 2014

Great Value

This place is amazing. Great private beach. Amazing grounds. Older resort but very charming and the staff are wonderful! Loved that Calvary Chapel meets on the property. If you can overlook a few things that need remodeling, you will absolutely love this place. It has a great location in Kihei too. Amazing worship!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stella Blues has phenomenal food!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mak's Mom
Washington
Feb 25, 2014

Great Location & Affordable!

The grounds of the Maui Aston Lu are beautiful! My son loved the huge swimming pool. Our room was very spacious and the bedding clean. Great location right off the road and directly across from the beach. This is a affordable place to stay. If you are wanting a five star hotel this is not the place for you. If you want a economical and down to earth place to stay and plan on spending most of your time outdoors this is the place for you. We truly enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joyce kauffman
Casper, Wy
Feb 19, 2014

Beautiful grounds

The only complaint of staying in Paradise was that the hotel stay ended at noon & because we had the flight & hotel package.....the flight left at 11 pm.....so in other words we had no place to be for the 11 hrs. Could that be remedied for the next folks? Thanks!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The eatting spots in Kihea were great!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mthlmh
Sacramento CA
Feb 11, 2014

WHAT A DUMP!!!

All the pictures shown on this website are not this location! Our room (308) has not been updated since the 1960's. All night we heard rats outside. Save your money and go someplace else! HIGHLY DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE! When I went to talk with the front desk there were 2 other couples with similar compliants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ezhands
Honolulu, HI.
Jan 18, 2014

Simple. Nice view and pool. Great for the price.

My keys were taken out the door and then someone stole shoes and sunglasses. The neighborhood can be a little sketchy at night. Otherwise, a friendly staff. Clean and roomy rooms. The grounds were a little wet and muddy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Humberto from Peru
Lima, Peru
Jan 12, 2014

Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we woke up. Small refrigerator and coffee machine in the suite was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WAHEENE
MAUI lu
Jan 9, 2014

NIGHTMARE AT THE ASTON LU

OMG THIS IS THE DIRTIEST HOTEL IVE HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED : CARPET DIRTY TO THE CORE, REDBLOOD LIKE STAINS ON THE FLOOR. I WONDER WHEN THE LAST TIME THEY SHAMPOOED THE ENTIRE CARPET WAS NOT JUST DIRTY BUT FILTHY . i MOVED TO A SECOND ROOM, WHICH WAS JUST AS BAD.IF NOT WORSE. I WAS TOLD BY CORPORATE THEY WERE GOING TO REBUILD, SO WHY THEN RENT THESE FILTHY ROOMS TO THE PUBLIC IS MY QUESTION? WE WERE BITTEN IN OUR SLEEP BY WHAT? THE TUB PARAMETER WAS FILTHY AS WELL AS THE CURTAINS. I WOULD NEVER GO BACK TO THIS PLACE EVER AGAIN.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Huahine
Honolulu, HI
Jan 6, 2014

Maui Lu Dissappointment

The front desk staff customer service leaves much to be desired, but I thought maybe I had just caught someone having a really bad day - or 2. The room leaked like a sieve when it rained and all they did was bring in a giant fan to dry the carpet. The leaky roof explains the moldy smell. The bathroom was fine except the shower was installed for someone only 4.5 feet tall and the toilet ran unless you took the cover off the tank and held the flapper down. I typically can overlook small things like this as long as the bed is clean, which it was, but it was the fact that no one offered a different room or a discount when these things were brought up. The room night price is way too high for a hotel whose best feature is it's location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maui Deb
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2014

Maui Lu

The hotel is extremely outdated and needs a major overhaul. We were also told at time of check in that there was a $10 a day amenity fee. The only amenity available was free dvd rental in the lobby. No room service, no food/drinks available on site. No continental breakfast. Very, very basic place to stay. But, the location was great and the staff was very friendly. We don't spend much time in our rooms, so the fact they were in need of help did not ruin our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive south to the Big Beach. Well worth it!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gen the Bag Maker
Colorado
Jan 2, 2014

Great location

After reading some of the comments from previous guests, I was a little hesitant to book a room - for my husband, our children (20 and 25) and myself - at the Aston Maui Lu. But I figured that we could live with it for one night, since we had a house rented for a week after that. I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff when we pulled up on Christmas night. The employee at the registration desk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was in the building located on the other side of the road from the main building, right on the beach. The room was simple, but clean, with a refrigerator, a coffee maker, and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was small but adequate, and clean. The sliding glass door led to a wide patio, located right on the water. It's rocky right there, but there are two small sand beaches on either side. We loved falling asleep to the sound of the surf. The resort is older, the furniture a bit beat up, but the location is great. We checked out before 9:00 am, so I cannot describe the other amenities, pool, grounds, etc... All in all, a reasonable priced hotel in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search