$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
397 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (397)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ezhands
Honolulu, HI.
Jan 18, 2014

Simple. Nice view and pool. Great for the price.

My keys were taken out the door and then someone stole shoes and sunglasses. The neighborhood can be a little sketchy at night. Otherwise, a friendly staff. Clean and roomy rooms. The grounds were a little wet and muddy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Humberto from Peru
Lima, Peru
Jan 12, 2014

Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we woke up. Small refrigerator and coffee machine in the suite was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WAHEENE
MAUI lu
Jan 9, 2014

NIGHTMARE AT THE ASTON LU

OMG THIS IS THE DIRTIEST HOTEL IVE HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED : CARPET DIRTY TO THE CORE, REDBLOOD LIKE STAINS ON THE FLOOR. I WONDER WHEN THE LAST TIME THEY SHAMPOOED THE ENTIRE CARPET WAS NOT JUST DIRTY BUT FILTHY . i MOVED TO A SECOND ROOM, WHICH WAS JUST AS BAD.IF NOT WORSE. I WAS TOLD BY CORPORATE THEY WERE GOING TO REBUILD, SO WHY THEN RENT THESE FILTHY ROOMS TO THE PUBLIC IS MY QUESTION? WE WERE BITTEN IN OUR SLEEP BY WHAT? THE TUB PARAMETER WAS FILTHY AS WELL AS THE CURTAINS. I WOULD NEVER GO BACK TO THIS PLACE EVER AGAIN.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Huahine
Honolulu, HI
Jan 6, 2014

Maui Lu Dissappointment

The front desk staff customer service leaves much to be desired, but I thought maybe I had just caught someone having a really bad day - or 2. The room leaked like a sieve when it rained and all they did was bring in a giant fan to dry the carpet. The leaky roof explains the moldy smell. The bathroom was fine except the shower was installed for someone only 4.5 feet tall and the toilet ran unless you took the cover off the tank and held the flapper down. I typically can overlook small things like this as long as the bed is clean, which it was, but it was the fact that no one offered a different room or a discount when these things were brought up. The room night price is way too high for a hotel whose best feature is it's location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maui Deb
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2014

Maui Lu

The hotel is extremely outdated and needs a major overhaul. We were also told at time of check in that there was a $10 a day amenity fee. The only amenity available was free dvd rental in the lobby. No room service, no food/drinks available on site. No continental breakfast. Very, very basic place to stay. But, the location was great and the staff was very friendly. We don't spend much time in our rooms, so the fact they were in need of help did not ruin our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive south to the Big Beach. Well worth it!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gen the Bag Maker
Colorado
Jan 2, 2014

Great location

After reading some of the comments from previous guests, I was a little hesitant to book a room - for my husband, our children (20 and 25) and myself - at the Aston Maui Lu. But I figured that we could live with it for one night, since we had a house rented for a week after that. I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff when we pulled up on Christmas night. The employee at the registration desk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was in the building located on the other side of the road from the main building, right on the beach. The room was simple, but clean, with a refrigerator, a coffee maker, and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was small but adequate, and clean. The sliding glass door led to a wide patio, located right on the water. It's rocky right there, but there are two small sand beaches on either side. We loved falling asleep to the sound of the surf. The resort is older, the furniture a bit beat up, but the location is great. We checked out before 9:00 am, so I cannot describe the other amenities, pool, grounds, etc... All in all, a reasonable priced hotel in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RaviandSandy
CT
Dec 28, 2013

Not a great choice

Very old , Room were not well kept, carpet were very dirty, bathroom shower tiles are falling ,cabinet screws are coming out. Laundry room is very bad position.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ski Babe
Merced, CA
Dec 17, 2013

Beautiful setting

We upgraded to the beach front section and were glad we did. The room definitely needs some TLC. The property has great potential to be a very special place, but it is overdue for major refurbishing. I was told that the property is up for sale and the staff is maintaining it until a new owner takes over. Since we didn't spend much time in our room or on the property, the room was adequate and inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Indian restaurant nearby!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wayne99
Livingston, CA
Dec 16, 2013

Basic Hotel

We upgraded to beach front units which gave us a great ocean view but also road noise. The rooms are basic inexpensive rooms and overall a good deal for the price paid. Not much in the way of amenites, No breakfast, just coffee in room. Good concearge. Booked trips thru her. Staff nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Stella Blues has good music on weekends

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peiheng
Taipei, Taiwan
Dec 11, 2013

Wonderful relaxing Maui getaway

Aston Maui Lu is a good choice if you have short budget yet hoping to stay in a "hotel" rather than hostel. We stayed in superior garden view room, the space is large enough for four. The room is very clean though a bit aged but doesn't matter at all. No ones staying indoor especially when you're in Maui!! The staff are very friendly. You got pool, central garden, the overall surrounding are nice and relaxing. Most occupants are elders, family, couples so very quite during night time. The location is nice, located on the beginning of S.Kihei Rd, you need to drive a short distance to Pilani Shopping center where surrounded with restaurant and shops. Ill come back again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Safeway at Pilani Shopping Center to store some food! Dinning out in Hawaii could be pricey. Also there's a Vietnam restaurant at the center where worth your money to eat.

Back to menu Return to top