Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson
Sep 2, 2008

Friendly Check In Staff

The check-in staff was very friendly and informative :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu
Aug 24, 2008

Good place

Nice local feeling from the staff. Slidding door didn't work otherwise everything was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of eating and shopping areas close by but many are tourist traps.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pueblo West
Jun 12, 2008

Excellent bargain for the Price

This is traditionally one of the least expensive hotels on the island. The room was not huge, but very comfortable. The service was outstanding...free daily paper, coffee in the lobby, and a local coupon book to mention just a few. Of course, the views of the ocean, the sunsets, and the West Maui Mountains were breathtaking, not to mention being able to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean a scant few feet from the room. The location of the hotel is great...less than 10 miles from the airport, the Ocean Center, and the fabulous South Maui beaches. Overall, this has to be one of the best bargains I have ever come across. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The South Maui beaches are only a few miles further down South Kihei Road. These beaches have smaller crowds and longer stretches of white sand than their far more famous West Maui counterparts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 7, 2008

Great for a budget

It is the best hotel on the water for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This location is close to all dining, shopping and activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Feb 11, 2008

Time for a rebuild

The Aston Maui Lu appears to have been a once-nice hotel. However, time has passed it by and it's time for a complete rebuild. Besides just being old, there are obvious signs of neglect that should be addressed. The staff was friendly and efficient, and the location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

beach is accross the street, shopping and eating near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Feb 7, 2008

The Maui Lu

What an outstanding view! What the resort may lack in contemporary luxury it makes up for in surroundings and the area. I would definitely stay again. The staff were great and the environment was amazing. No big deal that the resort had no luxury items like a resturant as we planned to be out on the island for most of our stay. But morning were great for whales and a view of west maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Makena Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ANACLETO
Austin, TX
Dec 11, 2007

Disappointing

It's sad that a hotel with a great ocean view and close to everything would end up not being reccommened by me because of the lack or detail to cleanliness.Our first night when we arrived it was raining and we draged mud in,four days later the mud was still there never sweeped or mopped even after we had request it. Also our room was not cleaned and the beds not made or the towels replaced (once),I had to go get towels just so we could shower. last thing the glassware and mugs provided were never cleaned, we used them the first day and were NEVER replaced our entire stay,we just ended up buying cups so we would know they were clean,it created alot of friction with my girlfriend and we did not enjoy our vacation as we should of!!! if only the simple basics were taken care of by the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to many restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Oct 1, 2007

nice place

we had a nice room iew, but the place itself was very outdayed and it we didnt get lucky with out room view I would not have been satisfied with the place. The service was great though, easy check in and out! good for a place to stay if you not looking for a exotic/ancy place to stay in. For the price it was average!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Aug 7, 2007

Great for People on a Budget

Not a dump I would stay there again, Rooms a little dated. Just a nice place to crash after a long day at the beach or in the mountains

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there are restaurants just down the street a mile or so

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Aug 6, 2007

convinient location

The hotel was close to major roads. The room was a little bit too cold. AC unit was not adjustable it was on (70F about) ot off...the room was a lttle bit too dark, even with curtins on the side of the window... However it was quite and relaxing....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

snorkol, close to airport, and major hwy to Lahaina, winery and Hana.... nice walk on the beach across the hotel... wake up early 6-7 a.m. no traffic at all!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search