Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
falecomtadeu
Sacramento, CA
Jul 15, 2009

No pool at all

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
tracy, ca
Jul 14, 2009

don't stay here

We didn't even stay there because there were so many bugs and the room smelled bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jul 13, 2009

Centrally located budget option

The hotel was OK for a budget option. Kihei is a nice location for those who are planning on traveling all over the island, with fairly easy access to everywhere from Ka'anapali to Haleakala. The rooms are dark, even with the curtains open during the day, and look due for a renovation. There also appear to be a number of unoccupied/unmaintained buildings on the property. The in-wall air conditioner was noisy when the compressor kicked in throughout the night. Wi-fi was only available at the front desk, but was free. There are a couple of "private" coves on the property which are nice for lounging when they're not occupied by locals fishing. Aston also gives a coupon book to guests which saved us at least $50 throughout the trip. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to budget-conscious travelers who aren't looking for all the amenities of a resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kihei Caffe is a great spot for delicious breakfast and also has very good coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui 1st.
Santa Ana, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Family Getaway

I liked the staff and room. Very friendly and clean. I wish there were kitchen in the rooms and bigger refrigaters. But or all a good and safe stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you have kids, the coupons are great for families on a budget. The Aston Maui Lu Hotel advertise these coupons, which were a time and money saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Memphis lady
Memphis,TN
Jun 27, 2009

Maui Lu

This location was good maybe because it was the low season when I was there. There werent a lot of guests especially ocean fron like my rental. The matresses are firm, pillow are flat but maybe some people like it. The grounds were clean, parking is difficult at the ocean front rentals because of limited space. Not noisy, I would call the decor 1970's ish, could use updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jr.b
mt. shasta,ca
Jun 26, 2009

cheap beach front lodging

Great swimming, snorkeling,sun bathing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jr.b
Mt. Shasta, Ca.
Jun 25, 2009

Ocean front rooms are great

Enjoyed being close to the water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, Wa
Jun 15, 2009

low price included a lot

After seeing the gardenview room assigned to me, I elected to upgrade to an oceanview room which I hoped would be better. I was wrong. After sitting on the bed of my first oceanview room and feeling the springs in the mattress I asked for a different room, there was no way I could sleep on this bed. My second oceanview room had a bed that was not much better than the first but it was becoming obvious that all the beds were similarly beyond their good years. Both rooms so far had two double beds and both beds in the previous room had springs in the mattress that would not support my weight of 180 lbs. This room had atleast one bed that was slightly better than the other. I opted to take this room. After a night of trying to get comfortable on a bed that was beyond it's better years, I got up and tried to have a shower. The shower worked fine but the drain just would not work. I gave up trying to get the drain to work and asked for a different room. I was now onto room number 4, oceanview room number 3, after one night on a similar bed as the others, I woke up with multiple bites on my arm and shoulder. This room also had two double beds but because of the location of the other bed directly below wooden beams of the ceiling, it was covered with what I thought was sand, only to be told by the cleaning staff that the wooden beams were termite infested and what I thought was sand was infact wood debris. I decided that I had had enough of changing rooms, so I removed all the bedding and asked the cleaning staff to replace them because of the multiple bites. The following morning the second bed was again covered with wood debris. I was told by the same cleaning staff member that she had found an ants nest below the bed which she thinks may have caused the bites. For the rest of my stay I tried to spend the least amount of time in the bed. I guess the best thing I can say about my stay is that the management elected not to charge me the additional amount for the oceanview upgrade and they were willing to move me to a different room after each incident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive from the airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jun 9, 2009

Maui Lu

convenient location to everywhere. Close to Airport, only 10 mins drive. Further south, to a very calm and beautiful komaela beach park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ninjin274
Long Beach, CA
May 28, 2009

Bug filled hotel

The hotel does not have direct access to beach. The beach is across the road and hotel does not provide any chairs or towels on the beach. On our 2nd night after we returned to the hotel we found almost 10-15 cockroaches on our bed. The hotel staff immediately sifted us to different rooms. We had 3 rooms and misplaced one key during move. For next 2 days we were in Hana and hotel did not accept the key back after our return. We were still charged $25 as per their policy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search