$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Ocanfront rooms are best!

Really enjoyed staying here. Before coming did not expect a lot but when arrived found ir... See full review

  • id02121
  • Aug 8, 2014
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
not2picky
Santa Cruz, CA
Dec 26, 2009

Comfortable for not too much $$$

This is a great place to stay when adding extra days following our stay at our timeshare. It is very reasonably priced and a short trip to the airport when it's time to go home. The staff is very friendly, and while the hotel is older, the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Bargain Hunter deceived....
San Diego, Ca.
Dec 23, 2009

Could have been worse, I think....

Accomodation photos online are deceiving compared to the reality of the facility...False advertising, I'd say.......I'd be really upset if I'd paid full price instead of $88 per night....!!!!! It's a dump inside the standard garden view room but located on beautiful grounds....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The McDonalds is great....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chawiki
Long Beach CA
Dec 16, 2009

The Aston Maui Lu welcomes you.

The Aston Maui Lu is one of those hotels that was probably a pretty fancy place to stay in the 60's and 70's. But decades later she's become quite run down. [...] We decided to check out both rooms before committing to either one. The first room was dingy, dark and depressing so we took the upgrade room because at least it had a lanai with a big sliding glass window. The interiors and furniture of the rooms are pure 1970's. My wife found that depressing, were as I found it charming. The linens smelt like bleach. The grounds are huge! Lots of trees, but also lots of abandoned buildings. When you pull into the massive driveway of the Maui Lu, the first thing you see is a wing of the hotel that looks like it got hit by Hurricane Iniki- with busted windows and stairways fallen off the building. Scattered around the grounds are cabins that at one time were probably available to check into, but now sit abandoned and gutted. One night I was walking by one and I heard creaking noises come from it, causing tingles to go down my back! It was like Jacob's shack on Lost! The staff was friendly and it's got a big pool that is frequented by the local children (there is a church on the grounds, too) I would not stay at the Aston Maui Lu at it's regular price. But with the [...] special offer I found it to be acceptable. Besides I don't mind a little run down rustic charm every now and then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Maui Taco- great tacos, great salsa bar!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Dec 14, 2009

Can't beat the price

We were able to upgrade to an ocean front room & were very pleased with it, other than the 2 double beds instead of a queen or king. A room on the second floor might have been better so you could actually see the ocean from the lanai but it was still nice to wake up to the sound of the ocean outside your door. The staff was very friendly & helpful. Hotel is outdated but looked to be in decent condition. We would stay there again for sure. You can't go wrong for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob, Jody, Kim, Jen
Denver, CO
Dec 11, 2009

Great views from beach front room.

We booked the room at Maui Lu the day before we left for Maui. We had a late check-in, the girl at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and even gave is a late check out for the next morning. We got a great room right on the beach. What a find for the price. Our first morning in Maui we woke up to a beautiful view and a long walk on the beach. Our stay at Maui Lu was very short we did not see the entire resort, but what we did see was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisfied Oahuan
Oahu
Nov 30, 2009

Leaking Ceiling & Other Misfortunes

We checked in and were pleased with our view of the bay, and the lanai and high ceilings. We were only staying one night and it was my girlfriend's birthday so I wanted it to be special. Previously I was sold on an upgrade to ocean view. The room was not very clean, and no new rennovations. At 11:30pm, when my girlfriend had gotten to sleep, the ceiling began to leak water, and the water landed in multiple areas of the room including the floor and my girlfriends forehead. I called the front desk to report the issue. At first the attendant was helpful, and sent up a maintenance person. It took about 15 minutes for him to get up there. We packed our things and were moved to a different room. This room was on the lower floor and had no lanai. The maintenance man may have had a few drinks that night, because he seemed to stumble a bit, and walked around the yard looking confused and stared inside our sliding glass door from the edge of the yard for a moment. This creeped my girlfriend out. I called the front desk to express my dissatisfaction with our new room as it was not as nice as the other one. She told me that this room was an upgrade, which was surprising because it was on the bottom floor with no lanai and much less of a view. Also it was right across from the smoking section which we did not enjoy. After some slight attitude and poor customer service, she said that she would leave a note for her manager. We noticed ants and small spiders in the new room. In the morning when checking out I expected to be refunded my "upgrade" money. We first asked for the manager, and the new front desk attendant rolled her eyes when we asked for her. The manager was semi-helpful. She said to contact [...] about the compensation for our dissatisfaction. [...] So the only option I had was to express my dissatisfaction through this review. We live on Oahu, and have traveled throughout the islands. This was our least favorite hotel, and it was the most expensive. The view was very nice and at first we though we were going to be pleased. Appartently all of the rooms on the 2nd floor of the ocean view wing have leaky roofs. This is something the hotel knows about, but they expect that it will not rain. And don't expect to be compensated for your dissatisfaction if you say here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Nov 23, 2009

Basic accomodations

I did not get to tour the grounds. Checked in rather late, had dinner and went to bed after a long day. I had the room to myself but it be spacious for two. Furnishings were sparse and the room was comfortable but not extravagant. Carpeting showed signs of wear. Television was rather small but offered quite a few channels. Beds were clean and comfortable. Bathroom needed renovation. Walls were not very thick so I could hear activity showering, etc.) in the adjacent rooms. For the most part the complex was quiet while I was there. The hotel is very near the shoreline and so receives a nice ocean breeze. Visitor will need to dine out as the hotel has no restaurant. A Japanese/Korean restaurant was within walking distance however, and stayed open well into the evening. If you're looking for a basic hotel room and want to avoid Lahaina and Kaanapali you may want to consider the Maui Lu. The front desk staffers were very warm and gracious. Book online to get a better daily rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
terrie and britt
west chester, PA
Nov 20, 2009

great location for the price

this is a great place if you are a "no frills" traveler (which we are). it's right on the ocean - open the slider and fall asleep to the sound of the waves rolling in. sunsets were beautiful. only a few minutes to kihei, the closest town with lots of restaurants, bars, open markets, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Diana Godliauskaite
Lithuania
Oct 8, 2009

A Nice place to stay at Maui

The location af a hotel is perfect, a lot of palms, plumerias and other plants. There you can feel like staying in a garden. The pool is big and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 4, 2009

The bad, the badder and the worst

The staff was great, the hotel was awful...it was rundown, had ants, the bed and pillows where old and just worst place I have ever stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search