Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
252 reviews
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
Wonderful relaxing Maui getaway

Aston Maui Lu is a good choice if you have short budget yet hoping to stay in a "hotel" rather than... See full review

  • Peiheng
  • Dec 11, 2013
Low-rise Hawaiian hotel on sunny Kihei beachfront offers extra value
Occupying 28 oceanfront acres on the sunny south shore of Kihei, the Aston Maui Lu hotel offers a tranquil, “Old Hawaii” atmosphere at an affordable price. The low-rise hotel is nestled on manicured lawns beneath the oldest coconut grove on the island, and is fronted by two sandy coves. Recent renovations to the property have refreshed its amenities and rooms, and extras such as free parking increase value. Guests look out across the open ocean to distant islands, and might see humpback whales in winter.
Highlights
  • Free parking
  • Panoramic views of Lanai and Kahoolawe and whale watching in winter
Location
Situated in the popular coastal community of Kihei, on Maui’s south shore, the Aston Maui Lu hotel is surrounded by dining and shopping, and near several of Maui’s most famous beaches. Visitor destinations such as Iao Needle and the town of Lahaina are within easy reach by car.
Rooms
The Aston Maui Lu hotel offers island-décor rooms averaging 311 square feet. Each features air conditioning, mini-refrigerator, cable TV, safe, daily housekeeping service and high-speed Internet access (fees may apply) and can accommodate up to four people. Views range from garden to oceanfront with private balcony. The loft offers extra space in a split-level design and a lovely view of the sea.
Dining
Other affordable dining options are found throughout the Kihei area.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Two tennis courts
  • Golf (nearby)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (12.5 mi/20.2 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (9.1 mi/14.7 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (10.4 mi/16.7 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (15.7 mi/25.2 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.9 mi/38.4 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (48.0 mi/77.2 km)

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (252)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
252 out of 252
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Woodbridge, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Going @ Maui to Sleep or Have Fun?

Spent our honeymoon here in July 08. Our room was just steps from the ocean. What an incrdeible view. The room was about 2 star at best, but once again the view made it all worth the while. The cove was absolutely breath taking at sunset. If you are going to Maui to stay in your room all day do not come to the Aston. However, if you are on a budget and want great views and a nice place to relax after your all day explorations of the Island them the Aston Maui is the place to be. It was ghetto fabulous. Oh yah, Kihei has lots of great places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of good inexpensive places to eat.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
The C Bunch
Nashville, Tennessee
Jul 25, 2009

Maui is great, but Hotel not so great!

When we arrived at the hotel they were doing a lot of remodeling so there ws a lot of things closed at the hotel. We were ask if we wanted a newly remodeled room and we said yes,paying the extra fee,but the rooms we got did not seemed newly remodeled. We stayed anyway. We were told to get breakfast the next morning, but when we went they told us there was none. We even got a flier telling us to come for breakfast when we checked in. Other then that we enjoyed Maui!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
israel
Jul 22, 2009

good place ...

good hotel , we stayed there for 3 nights and it was quiet & convinient .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the safe way store in the shopping center haves everything .

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Good Place for a reasonable price.

The hotel was good. We reserved an ocean view room. At first, we noticed that the pool was not in service ( that was the main reason why i had booked this hotel!) and so i let the staff know about this and they quickly offered to upgrade our room at no cost, and that's when we got a spectacular room right in front of the ocean. literally! It was clean, we did have a couple of visitors at night( small lizards) but it wasn't overtly infested like other comments i had read on this hotel prior to making reservations. i think they were very helpful and accommodating and would definitely recommend it to anyone. Plus, the location is great because if you drive just a few minutes into Kihei, you will find anything from a Safeway grocery store to taco bell. Its conveniently near small commercial centers and bars in case you would like to go out for drinks at night. We liked it very much and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You might want to consider going grocery shopping so you can cook at your hotel room or wherever it is that you're staying due to the high cost of dinning out. It is quite expensive in Maui and you would definetly save alot of money if you prepare your own meals and then bring them with you on your trips within the island.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
falecomtadeu
Sacramento, CA
Jul 15, 2009

No pool at all

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
tracy, ca
Jul 14, 2009

don't stay here

We didn't even stay there because there were so many bugs and the room smelled bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jul 13, 2009

Centrally located budget option

The hotel was OK for a budget option. Kihei is a nice location for those who are planning on traveling all over the island, with fairly easy access to everywhere from Ka'anapali to Haleakala. The rooms are dark, even with the curtains open during the day, and look due for a renovation. There also appear to be a number of unoccupied/unmaintained buildings on the property. The in-wall air conditioner was noisy when the compressor kicked in throughout the night. Wi-fi was only available at the front desk, but was free. There are a couple of "private" coves on the property which are nice for lounging when they're not occupied by locals fishing. Aston also gives a coupon book to guests which saved us at least $50 throughout the trip. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to budget-conscious travelers who aren't looking for all the amenities of a resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kihei Caffe is a great spot for delicious breakfast and also has very good coffee.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
Maui 1st.
Santa Ana, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Family Getaway

I liked the staff and room. Very friendly and clean. I wish there were kitchen in the rooms and bigger refrigaters. But or all a good and safe stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you have kids, the coupons are great for families on a budget. The Aston Maui Lu Hotel advertise these coupons, which were a time and money saver.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
Memphis lady
Memphis,TN
Jun 27, 2009

Maui Lu

This location was good maybe because it was the low season when I was there. There werent a lot of guests especially ocean fron like my rental. The matresses are firm, pillow are flat but maybe some people like it. The grounds were clean, parking is difficult at the ocean front rentals because of limited space. Not noisy, I would call the decor 1970's ish, could use updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
jr.b
mt. shasta,ca
Jun 26, 2009

cheap beach front lodging

Great swimming, snorkeling,sun bathing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top