$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
397 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (397)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
397 out of 397
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Junebug
Anchorage
Mar 14, 2011

No frills at a great location

When we arrived we were pleasantly upgraded from an oceanview room to an oceanfront room. Our neighbors were quiet couples and families. Our 7-year-old daughter loved the beach and nearby Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary office. She met other kids to play with on the beach and at the pool. We visited with other guests at the picnic table and on the lanai. Very friendly atmosphere. The staff were helpful. Our needs are simple. We had free access to a computer for early flight check-in (other than that you have to pay for internet access) and beach towels are freely distributed near the pool. There is a sharing box with beach and pool toys that we used. The things we missed were (1) a microwave in the room (although they had one in the lobby for general use), (2) no voice mail on phone system (so we couldn't leave messages for other guests and they couldn't leave message for us), and (3) tight parking on the oceanside but we got used to it after a while. We spoke with several guests who had been returning year after year, and we may become one of them! Last year we stayed in a yurt on the windward side of Oahu, and five years ago we stayed at a hostel and camped around Maui - so this was a big upgrade for us. Our daughter enjoyed the fact that there were no insects in the room and only 1 rat was seen near the picnic table. I might add we were there during the recent tsunami and the staff gave us good information about where we needed to go when the sirens sounded. No panic, we had several hours to collect our belongings and drive a few miles inland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

FREE: Sugar Beach to the north of the resort is a great beach for walking on. And the Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary office is to the south near the ancient fishpond.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wahmei
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 28, 2011

beautiful view, but needs an update

FABULOUS view! Other than that, not the most memorable hotel. It is in need of an update to not feel so rustic. They still issue keys - not a key-card. It's an ok place for the budget-conscious traveler, but make sure you upgrade to the ocean view because it's not worth it otherwise. Coffee is limited to a bag a day ($1 a bag after) but, they offer complimentary coffee every morning at the front desk (if you want to walk there). There is a fridge, they provide a hairdryer, there is a TV (albeit little), and air-conditioning. Not too much in a short, walkable distance and the road it sits on isn't the best for walkers - it's dark and there's no sidewalk. It's not horrible, but it's not going to wow you either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wahmei
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 28, 2011

beautiful view, but needs an update

FABULOUS view! Other than that, not the most memorable hotel. It is in need of an update to not feel so rustic. They still issue keys - not a key-card. It's an ok place for the budget-conscious traveler, but make sure you upgrade to the ocean view because it's not worth it otherwise. Coffee is limited to a bag a day ($1 a bag after) but, they offer complimentary coffee every morning at the front desk (if you want to walk there). There is a fridge, they provide a hairdryer, there is a TV (albeit little), and air-conditioning. Not too much in a short, walkable distance and the road it sits on isn't the best for walkers - it's dark and there's no sidewalk. It's not horrible, but it's not going to wow you either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deeder
Charlotte, NC
Feb 26, 2011

wont be coming here again.

Room was clean. That's all the good that can be said for it. It was terribly run down, leaked at night, was noisy, smelled of mold, and was generally very over priced for what it was. We are used to and happy with modest accomodations - we come for the diving and don't need luxurious. This disappointed even us. We would've been loathe to pay a quarter of what we paid for this kind of room on the mainland. Motel 6 would've been embarrassed by this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay in Kihei. All the activities are elsewhere and the nicer places are about 30 minutes away.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Feb 26, 2011

fantastic family getaway

Very good location close to food and shopping very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Feb 26, 2011

fantastic family getaway

Very good location close to food and shopping very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deeder
Charlotte, NC
Feb 26, 2011

wont be coming here again.

Room was clean. That's all the good that can be said for it. It was terribly run down, leaked at night, was noisy, smelled of mold, and was generally very over priced for what it was. We are used to and happy with modest accomodations - we come for the diving and don't need luxurious. This disappointed even us. We would've been loathe to pay a quarter of what we paid for this kind of room on the mainland. Motel 6 would've been embarrassed by this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay in Kihei. All the activities are elsewhere and the nicer places are about 30 minutes away.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EP from DC
Washington, DC
Feb 22, 2011

What a dump

The description of the hotel is accurate, it "offers a wonderful atmosphere of OLD Hawaii;" the key word is old. This hotel was beyond old and seriously needing renovations. In the bathroom drains did not drain, floors and tub were stained, things were generally dingy, even though they seemed like they were clean. The sofa in the room was dingy and yellowed with much too many years of use. The drapes were utterly disgusting, stained, torn, hard to operate, yellowed with age. The bed was extremely hard and not very comfortable. One of the bedside lamp's switch didn't work most of the time and when it did it tripped the breaker on the power strip it was plugged into. The light for the exterior entrance to the room was controlled by a switch inside the room so if you were going to be gone all day you had to remember to turn on the light before leaving in the morning. The door locks did not lock by themselves which on it's own is fine, but the maids did not lock the deadbolt after cleaning the room, only the flimsy knob. The building itself was in generally bad condition too. There was visible termite damage in the room as well as all over the exterior of the building. Some of the siding on the building was falling off or missing. The place did have some positives: the staff was extremely nice and helpful and the location was good. The pool was very nice and clean. The cleaning staff tried hard and the room was generally clean but I'm not sure how they could really clean the bathroom well if the drain doesn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Izakayah Matsu was fantastic for Japanese. Cheap, casual, quick and tasty.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EP from DC
Washington, DC
Feb 22, 2011

What a dump

The description of the hotel is accurate, it "offers a wonderful atmosphere of OLD Hawaii;" the key word is old. This hotel was beyond old and seriously needing renovations. In the bathroom drains did not drain, floors and tub were stained, things were generally dingy, even though they seemed like they were clean. The sofa in the room was dingy and yellowed with much too many years of use. The drapes were utterly disgusting, stained, torn, hard to operate, yellowed with age. The bed was extremely hard and not very comfortable. One of the bedside lamp's switch didn't work most of the time and when it did it tripped the breaker on the power strip it was plugged into. The light for the exterior entrance to the room was controlled by a switch inside the room so if you were going to be gone all day you had to remember to turn on the light before leaving in the morning. The door locks did not lock by themselves which on it's own is fine, but the maids did not lock the deadbolt after cleaning the room, only the flimsy knob. The building itself was in generally bad condition too. There was visible termite damage in the room as well as all over the exterior of the building. Some of the siding on the building was falling off or missing. The place did have some positives: the staff was extremely nice and helpful and the location was good. The pool was very nice and clean. The cleaning staff tried hard and the room was generally clean but I'm not sure how they could really clean the bathroom well if the drain doesn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Izakayah Matsu was fantastic for Japanese. Cheap, casual, quick and tasty.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phil d.
Toronto, Canada
Feb 11, 2011

Beautiful Maui

This was our second stay at this hotel. Although it is older, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is not a 5 star hotel, but for the price,it is clean, located perfectly and has beautiful expansive grounds,with a great staff.Lots of hot water and water pressure and cheaply priced laundry facilities,lots of parking space and free.A great way to save $3000- $5000 for the 30 days we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Loved the Dakitchen outlets. Cheap,lots and tasty.

Back to menu Return to top