$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
395 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (395)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
395 out of 395
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
israel
Jul 22, 2009

good place ...

good hotel , we stayed there for 3 nights and it was quiet & convinient .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the safe way store in the shopping center haves everything .

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saka
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

clean quiet and nice

Overall a very peaceful place to stay. Very clean and the staff is nice. The beds are quite hard though so I didnt sleep as well as normal....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guy who wants to move to maui
Anchorage, AK
Dec 21, 2010

Great for the Price !

We rate this hotel 4 stars for the price. If your like us we hardly are in the hotel other than to shower and sleep. The hotel needs a remodel but hey it is cost effective and a quiet place to sleep. the grounds are nice and importantly to me it was bug free. we saved $800 dollars this trip by staying here and we put the money to good use by having fun without worrying about money.... GREAT PRICE. HAVE FUN !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast and lunch we chose safeway so we dindn't have to eatout all the time. Not only does it save money but who wants to eat out three meals a day really ? they have great fruit, doughnuts, rolls, salad, small bowls of cereal with a small carton of milk, lunchables, and anything else you would find in any of their other stores...

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Experienced Travelers.
Kansas
Jun 13, 2010

Good value and great location.

We stayed in a ocean view room and enjoyed the room and view. The room was clean and we encountered no problems. This is not a 5 star resort hotel, but a great place to stay and a good price for travelers. We came to Maui to see the sights, not to stay in one place, and this fit our needs. This is a hotel, not a resort. We were especially glad to have a small fridge in the room. The front desk was very helpful on telling routes to drive. Ask to borrow the CD on the drive to Hana. I had been hesitant from reading earlier reviews, but we thoroughly enjoyed our room. Would stay here again, if/when we return to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Jan 7, 2011

Great location at reasonable price

The ocean view from our room was fantastic. The staff were very courteous and assisted our very need. Although the buildings were older we could not get over how well maintained the grounds were. The grounds were as pretty as those very exclusive resorts in the Wailea area. The ice machine didn't want to work very well at our complex and the beds were a little too soft. but that didn't detract from our enjoyment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All the beaches in Maui have good public access parking areas. The South Maui beaches are just a short drive from the hotel.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb the traveler
Slovenia
Oct 27, 2012

Kihei - good location of the hotel

Hotel has a nice position for trips around the island, location is in the palm-trees park, pool is nice, staff at the reception is ok, cleaning staff is more friendly and helpful though. Rooms are ok, eventhough not very modern and have a special smell as the house is wooden. We have enjoyed our staying in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice shopping in Weilea :-) and good Hawaiian ice-cream too.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Have had many travels
Santa rosa, ca
Aug 28, 2012

Simple and peaceful

I loved the grounds and location so close to the secluded beach. The room smelled very musty and I thought it was perhaps moldy. i thought I would leave but I was tired so I opened the front and patio doors and the breeze mostly took it away. it is an older place and other than the smell in my room, it was very clean. I heard that many of the other rooms had been updated but i was glad the and the price was great. Even though it was not in walking distance of restaurants the bus was easy to use. It has wifi and complimentary fresh fruit, muffins, coffee and juice for breakfast which are both a big plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A sizeable and secluded beach

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbridge, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Going @ Maui to Sleep or Have Fun?

Spent our honeymoon here in July 08. Our room was just steps from the ocean. What an incrdeible view. The room was about 2 star at best, but once again the view made it all worth the while. The cove was absolutely breath taking at sunset. If you are going to Maui to stay in your room all day do not come to the Aston. However, if you are on a budget and want great views and a nice place to relax after your all day explorations of the Island them the Aston Maui is the place to be. It was ghetto fabulous. Oh yah, Kihei has lots of great places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of good inexpensive places to eat.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 7, 2008

Great for a budget

It is the best hotel on the water for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

This location is close to all dining, shopping and activities.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hanson , Ky
Jan 24, 2011

A four star motel at a two star price !

we truly had a great time in Maui , enjoyed all the sight's , sound's , and smell's of the island , we went atv riding and went on a submarine ride + so much more , the only thing missing is more time to experinace the whole island , so far this is the best vacation we have taken , hope to return some day .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ATV rides .

Back to menu Return to top