Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Chases
Newport, New Hampshire
Feb 16, 2012

Most wonderful vacation

This vacation was for our 10th anniversary. We got married in Maui 02-02-02. For this 17 day trip we wanted a room with oceanview, so we researched and read lots of reviews. We chose Maui Lu because we could be right on the beach and it was affordable. Just as we had read in the reviews the building is older and in need of a face lift and the air conditioner was noisy, but we only used it a couple of times in the early evening after being out all day with the windows closed . Our maid was wonderful. The balcony and the veiw from our bed was amazing. We slept with the windows and balcony door open each night with the sound of the waves and the tropical breeze blowing over us. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I would ask for a room in building 400 on the second floor. If you are looking for fancy rooms and lobbies then this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for clean, comfortable, affordable and amazing sunsets it is perfect!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicken Plates every Wednesday and Saturday at roadside setup. South Kihei Rd in North Kihei

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
seattle wa
Jul 19, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Out every day at the different beaches

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, CA
Jul 5, 2011

Convenient, simple, pefect

The hotel is located about 20 minutes from the airport, has access to a small but very pretty beach. The rooms are very spacious, very clean, with great bay windows and just right in their simplicity. There is a fan which can be used as an A/C (a great option as we do not like A/C). The shower is powerful and hot. The hotel is also supremely located to have access to all the places one would want to go to - La Perouse bay, Haleakala, Lahaina,the south coast -, yet provides enough of a secluded feel not provided in my humble opinion by the hotel strips further south or along Lahaina . Best of all, on our last day we were allowed to leave our belongings at the hotel and use the hospitality room just prior to our flight at the hotel. Staff were helpful, patient and incredibly friendly. WIFI access was reliable and fast. Truly great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Lovely Stay

[...]was very helpful with my stay. I was upgraded two levels up and instead of the garden view, I was given the ocean view. It was the best experience I could have asked for. Thank you. Every day I returned to my room, it was clean and ready for another night's sleep. It was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Goodhue, Minnesota
Jun 26, 2011

Better than we expected!

The Maui Lu was the cheapest option [...] and we arrived expecting a shady, run-down place with a broken shower and an empty pool. This place was great! It is across the street from a small beach, the pool is large and goes to a depth of 9 or 10 feet. Each room has it's own private balcony and we received the daily edition of the Maui News everyday.We had scheduled most of our activities online before we arrived, but the concierge was very helpful in suggesting restaurants, tours, etc. They also hold a luau right on the premises Tues, Thurs, and Sun nights. It's a non-alcoholic luau, which makes it 20 or 30 cheaper than the other luaus. They also suggested some not-so-traditional-tourist options, such as the local maui baseball team, the Na Koa Ikaika and the women's roller derby. The shower was a nice pressure and having a refrigerator in the room was very nice. They also have safes in the rooms that you can use for an extra fee, we opted not to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Kihei Cafe is open from 5am-2pm...reasonable prices and large portions of food. We originally went for breakfast (delicious banana macadamia nut french toast) and we stopped back later in the week for lunch.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jun 24, 2011

Aston Maui Lows

This place needs some TLC Just some paint would help a lot. The windows are very old jealosly type that is not only not secure but lets in all the noise. The carpet is old and stained. The towels are low quality and you only get two bath towels a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to La Haina and you have a great selection of nice restaurants

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chester, Va
Jun 20, 2011

maui lu

Sadly, the hotel I stayed at in 2000 has gone downhill. What was once a nice, old-Hawaii charmer is now rundown, with boarded up buildings and peeling paint. The grounds are still lovely and well maintained, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is good, and it is generally quiet (except for luau nights). It's main problem appears to be that it is struggling to survive, and failing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a nice sushi place right next door, with half price sushi after 10:00

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dublin, ireland
Jun 12, 2011

nice relaxing stay!!

we stayed for 5 nights at this hotel and we had a pleasant stay! room was ok, no complaints! very nice staff. downside would be no hotel bar but big supermarket a short drive away if you fancy a few beers. a bit quiet for us. we rented a car while in maui, it is essential! drove the road to hana and up the haleakala crater! if you like scuba diving take a trip to molokini island:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

if you drive 20 mins south of the hotel you can drive over the last lava flow in maui! worth a look. also road to hana is the most amazing drive, check it out

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florence, AZ
Jun 11, 2011

Great for price paid

Attended best friends wedding. 2nd time I stayed @ this hotel I will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kihei, Maui, HI
Jun 6, 2011

Nice place and friendly faces

Hotel was a nice and staff was friendly. The dvd player did not work, but other than that a very nice stay helpful people. It is a bit far from some of the better beaches, but that is okay because it is quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Be prepared to walk about 1.5 to 2 miles to the better beaches. It is pretty close the the whale watching place.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento ,CA
May 16, 2011

It is pretty good ....

We need more days was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search