$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Ocanfront rooms are best!

Really enjoyed staying here. Before coming did not expect a lot but when arrived found ir... See full review

  • id02121
  • Aug 8, 2014
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soso
dallas,tx
May 6, 2012

fantastic family getaway

very nice quite hotel, we took the ocean view room...we had great expirience...reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

great location, close to parks and stores.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santa Shawnhead
New York
Jul 14, 2014

Great Family Ressort

Was awesome to be at the oldest resort at Kihei. The recent buildings are in very good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plumeria dad
Arizona
Jul 18, 2014

A real botanical paradise right on the beach

This truly old hawaiian resort is filled with plants and trees that are mature. The buildings have real wood imported from Vancouver BC that enhance the flavor of the site. The native chickens and other fauna give the paradise feeling all day long. We loved the relaxed quality .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You can drive further for more options

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D and fam
san fernando valley
Aug 6, 2014

maui vacations

It was awsome our room was next to the beach almost like our own private one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ezhands
Honolulu, HI.
Jan 18, 2014

Simple. Nice view and pool. Great for the price.

My keys were taken out the door and then someone stole shoes and sunglasses. The neighborhood can be a little sketchy at night. Otherwise, a friendly staff. Clean and roomy rooms. The grounds were a little wet and muddy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dee Lou
Albany, OR
Apr 7, 2014

dated, but comfortable

Building was older, decor dated, but the room was spacious and clean, everything in working order, bed comfortable. If you are looking for a cost saving option, this is a good choice. If you plan to spend a lot of time in the room, I would not recommend it. We just wanted a clean, comfortable place to sleep and we got that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenny w the best fiance
Menifee, Ca
May 1, 2014

Great vacation

This was a nice hotel. Nice grounds and very quite. Staff very nice too! I would totally stay there again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Memphis lady
Memphis,TN
Jun 27, 2009

Maui Lu

This location was good maybe because it was the low season when I was there. There werent a lot of guests especially ocean fron like my rental. The matresses are firm, pillow are flat but maybe some people like it. The grounds were clean, parking is difficult at the ocean front rentals because of limited space. Not noisy, I would call the decor 1970's ish, could use updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Good Place for a reasonable price.

The hotel was good. We reserved an ocean view room. At first, we noticed that the pool was not in service ( that was the main reason why i had booked this hotel!) and so i let the staff know about this and they quickly offered to upgrade our room at no cost, and that's when we got a spectacular room right in front of the ocean. literally! It was clean, we did have a couple of visitors at night( small lizards) but it wasn't overtly infested like other comments i had read on this hotel prior to making reservations. i think they were very helpful and accommodating and would definitely recommend it to anyone. Plus, the location is great because if you drive just a few minutes into Kihei, you will find anything from a Safeway grocery store to taco bell. Its conveniently near small commercial centers and bars in case you would like to go out for drinks at night. We liked it very much and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You might want to consider going grocery shopping so you can cook at your hotel room or wherever it is that you're staying due to the high cost of dinning out. It is quite expensive in Maui and you would definetly save alot of money if you prepare your own meals and then bring them with you on your trips within the island.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob, Jody, Kim, Jen
Denver, CO
Dec 11, 2009

Great views from beach front room.

We booked the room at Maui Lu the day before we left for Maui. We had a late check-in, the girl at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and even gave is a late check out for the next morning. We got a great room right on the beach. What a find for the price. Our first morning in Maui we woke up to a beautiful view and a long walk on the beach. Our stay at Maui Lu was very short we did not see the entire resort, but what we did see was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search