$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SK999
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Perfect family vacation

Enjoyed the ocean view room at the resort. Great location; walk out of the room and you are on a small private beach. Perfect for our kids. Short drive away from good snorkeling locations. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkelling

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leecarltoncruz
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Welcome to the 70s

The good: friendly staff, nice location, beautiful grounds, affordable for Maui. The bad: rooms have not been updated in 40 years. Carpet, paint, furniture, bedspread, curtains straight out of the 70s. Dingy, dark, and smells like mildew. But the bed was comfy, and since it was basically just a place to sleep at night, it worked. What surprised me was when I went next to Kauai and staid at the Aston Aloha. I paid the same rate, expecting about the same experience, but it was like ten times nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OrbitzMike
Culver City, CA, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Excellent ocean view rooms

we had a 1 bedroom suite on the 2nd floor. The ocean views from the balcony were amazing at all hours of the day and night!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the hotel is at a really good central location on the island.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Djm808
Honolulu, HI, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Terrible customer service

I had booked a 1 night stay and had to cancel due to an emergency and the hotel wouldn't even give me a credit!! So now I lost $108!!! I understand about not being refunded but I just wanted a credit for the following week!! Terrible customer service and I will never book a stay with them again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cashstore
Dewey, Prescott Valley, AZ, USA
Oct 10, 2011

good value and location

The hotel is located on the North side of Kihei. It's a good location if you like the excellent beaches of South Kihei, Wailea, and Makena. The beach water in front of the hotel is not that good, as it was murky and not clear, but the ride to the other beaches was short, and I like beach atmosphere of the area. Snorkeling is great all along the area as well. The hotel itself is a bit dated, but not that bad for the money. It's like staying at a motel 6 or equivalent. You get a hotel room that does the job, with a clean bed, and bathroom. The refrigerator did not work very well as it froze the food, but turning the thing down only shut it off. The air conditioning worked fine, but for those that don't like the sound of a window type you may not like it. I happen to like the sound when I sleep, but it was a bit annoying while watching tv at night. The pool was excellent as this is an older hotel and the pool was installed before lawyers and insurance companies reduced the depth to 5 feet. I like deep pools as I like practicing my snorkeling skills. The 10 feet pool worked great. The pool is also very large and very well taken care of. The grounds were well taken care of, and in general everything was very clean. The people running the desk were very nice and helpful. There is but one ice machine, so you may have to go for a walk to get the ice. They provided coffee near the office in the morning and I thought it was fine. If you like Luau's, there is one on the grounds. It seems to fill up every time the have one. There is also a church on the grounds. I saw the tennis court but did not play. It looked adequate from a distance. I did not see anyone using it, as Maui is mostly for the beach types. I stayed in the standard garden room, so it was the cheapest room available. I can't comment of the beach front rooms. I don't spend much time in my room during these kind of vacations. So I just need a place to sleep and take a shower. We were hit with a surprise surcharge of 10 dollars a day for the morning newspaper, wifi, and daily coffee grounds for the coffee maker in the room. I did make the coffee, used the wifi, and read a couple of the papers, but did not like the surprise extra cost. For those of you that don't make your own coffee, read the paper, or use the wifi, you will be paying for them regardless. Parking however was free. Most hotels charge for that. The hotel is in a safe area and the parking area is well lighted. For the money, I felt I got good value. So for those on a budget I give the hotel a thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many good places to eat in Kihei. Check the phone book for the types and locations. We liked Moose McGillycuddy's for breakfast. Look for "this week in maui" for a 2 for 1 price discount for the place. This week in Maui is a small brochure you see in the racks at tourist locations. There are other discounts as well. Bring your military discharge papers or Military I.D. I got a 40 percent discount at the Maui ocean center with it. If you plan on snorkeling at Molokini, use Seafire as they are only 50 dollars and do an excellent job. I really enjoyed myself and thought it was worth every dollar. Book ahead of time as they sell out.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saka
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

clean quiet and nice

Overall a very peaceful place to stay. Very clean and the staff is nice. The beds are quite hard though so I didnt sleep as well as normal....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
That one girl
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2011

Wonderful vacation in paradise

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful grounds and our room was 20 steps away from the beach. Amazing views and the deep pool was great when we needed a break from the ocean. Shops and restaurants are a good 20min walk away. Car rental recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Shops and restaurants are a 20min walk away which isn't bad until you've loaded up on souveniers or had a few drinks and are ready to be at the next destination or back to the hotel.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rx8wej
Covina, CA
Sep 6, 2011

Perfect for travelers on a budget

The location of the Maui Lu is unbeatable. It's at the northern end of Kihei, right on the water. Even from the garden view rooms, you can walk straight from your room to the beach in under 5 minutes. The beach is perfect for lounging and playing in the shallow water, but be warned there are rocks off the shore about 50 yards. The hotel is a 5m drive from a lot of shops and restaurants and only 20m or so from the airport. The pool, shaped like the island of Maui, is great. It starts off shallow and drops to 10ft deep, with sloping sides for easy entering and exiting. It is nice being able to come in from the beach, do a quick rinse at the warm shower, then jump into the pool for a quick swim. There is a required "amenities tax" when you check in, but while some hotels just make you pay the tax, the Maui Lu gives you something in return. You are able to rent two movies and/or PlayStation 2 games at a time from a machine in the reception area to watch while in the hotel. There is a PS2 in every room, and if you ask at the front desk, you can get a second controller to play multiplayer games. There is also Kona coffee available to guests both in the room, and in the reception area. The garden rooms where we stayed leave much to be desired, but there are newly renovated rooms right on the beach for a little more money per night. We chose not to accept the offer of the newer rooms, but in hindsight, we probably should have. The beds in the room we stayed in were pretty lousy and in need of replacement, and I would imagine the newer, nicer rooms had new beds as well. There is no fan in the bathroom, so when the shower is on, the steam builds up quickly. There are small louvered windows, but they do not vent very well, especially with the humid weather outside not allowing the steam to dissipate. Make sure to switch the air conditioning from Energy Saver mode to something else. It will get quite annoying turning on and off throughout the night while you are trying to sleep on an uncomfortable bed. Overall the Maui Lu was a good experience, and being in Hawaii beats all the shortcomings of the hotel. If you are just looking to relax at the hotel for your trip, I'd recommend something else, but if you only plan on sleeping in your room and enjoying activities around the island the rest of the time, then it's worth the price of admission to stay at the Maui Lu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kanaka Bill
Molokai
Aug 19, 2011

Local Family

Enjoyed the privacy and front desk service. Aston Maui Lu...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Simi
Jul 21, 2011

maui lu

Great hotel . Had been before . Still love it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search