$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
390 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FZ1J
Upstate New York
Aug 31, 2012

Beautiful Traditional Maui

No hotel on Maui offers the peaceful, historic and absolute beauty of the magnificent and special Aston Maui Lu. The 28 acres of trees, birds, plants and pool, combined with convenient beach access and the ever present majesty of Haleakala are breathtaking. No matter how hectic the Maui pace, the Aston Maui Lu always provides a serene island retreat to return to. Also, the staff is kind, helpful, dedicated and truly professional in every respect. I have never missed a place more after leaving than the Aston Maui Lu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
F and B
Alaska
Feb 17, 2012

Very nice for the price.

Stayed in a garden view and then upgraded to oceanfront. The garden view room was large and quiet (a little damp smelling however - as it is an older building). The grounds are very spacious with beautiful coconut trees and a nice pool. When we upgraded to the oceanfront - it was almost perfect. The ocean is just 30 or so feet from the room and a nice little private beach. We had an upstairs room with an upstairs bedroom that was very nice (not all rooms have this). There was traffic noice coming in the upstairs bedroom window as the building is very close to a road. There is no traffic noice in the main living area with the balcony overlooking the ocean. The staff was wonderful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at "Coconuts" at the nearby plaza. Great fish and brown rice for a reasonable price.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Chases
Newport, New Hampshire
Feb 16, 2012

Most wonderful vacation

This vacation was for our 10th anniversary. We got married in Maui 02-02-02. For this 17 day trip we wanted a room with oceanview, so we researched and read lots of reviews. We chose Maui Lu because we could be right on the beach and it was affordable. Just as we had read in the reviews the building is older and in need of a face lift and the air conditioner was noisy, but we only used it a couple of times in the early evening after being out all day with the windows closed . Our maid was wonderful. The balcony and the veiw from our bed was amazing. We slept with the windows and balcony door open each night with the sound of the waves and the tropical breeze blowing over us. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I would ask for a room in building 400 on the second floor. If you are looking for fancy rooms and lobbies then this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for clean, comfortable, affordable and amazing sunsets it is perfect!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicken Plates every Wednesday and Saturday at roadside setup. South Kihei Rd in North Kihei

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mom71
Morgan Hill, CA, USA
Feb 6, 2012

We only needed one night...

The staff of the Maui Lu was very professional and friendly. The grounds are immense, and taken care of...it could use a little more landscaping. The rooms are a little tired...bedding, sofa, furniture, drapes, etc. looked like they have been around a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kihei Caffe had wonderful breakfast offerings. Even though the line looks long, it moves quickly and the food comes out of the kitchen quickly and hot.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Сан-Франциско, Калифорния, Соединённые Штаты Америки
Feb 6, 2012

It was nice!

It was awesome trip! But we were sad at first day in check-in in hotel. They said us that our reservation is subject to a mandatory Amenity fee of $10/day. We have to pay this.... But We didn't see it when we made our reservation. It was so strange.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Da kitchen express near Kamaole Beach I is nice place for eating from 9AM to 9PM. Nice food, nice staff and cheap price.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lunartic
Hanson, KY, USA
Feb 4, 2012

Perfect vacation spot .

For the dollars I spent you cant beat that deal , It has perfect location beautiful veiws and great coffee .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Laua

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lou66
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Feb 2, 2012

Traveler

The hotel is past it's prime. The staff does there best with what they have. For the cost we were quite satisfied. The key is to have a rental car ( which must be rented before you arrive).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must have a rental!!!!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raphael17
Buffalo, NY
Jan 28, 2012

Good location, affordable price

Not far from the OGG airport, north side of Kihei area. Location is good. But, rooms are too old. If you don't have enough money and will just sleep at room, book it. If you just married, do not book it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iowa
Iowa, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Basic accomdations, reasonable price

It was pretty much what I expected. It's an older hotel that is a bit rough around the edges. But, it must be considered that is amongst the cheapest available rooms on Maui. So if you are like us, it does the job. The hotel simply served as a place to sleep. We get up in the morning and spend our time exploring the beaches, mountains, and activities around the island. At night, we crawl into bed and sleep until the alarm goes off in the morning. The location is a good central spot for getting to the other parts of the island easily. Although there is very little in the way of dining within walking distance. We stayed at a comparably priced Aston hotel on Kauai and that one exceeded our expectations. The Maui Lu simply met the expectations as a very cheap place to sleep. Nothing remarkable, good or bad, with those expectations. Although I will should give props to Jeff working the desk, he was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJS2012
Concord, CA, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Good location

The hotel is in a good location in N. Kihei and good center point to other places. Kihei is a nice trendy town and Wailea just to the south is great and up the road to Lahaina and Kaanapali is an easy drive. The hotel itself has nice quiet grounds and the rooms need to be upgraded as they are motel like rooms with old bed/tv/etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good places to eat, drink and watch live music in downtown Kihei.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robot1
SFO
Jan 9, 2012

ITs ok

Location is not so great. YOu have to drive a little bit for good beaches

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top