Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
268 reviews
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we... See full review

  • Humberto from Peru
  • Jan 12, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (268)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Geraldine
Red Lake Falls, MN
May 8, 2012

Not recomended

The room was not clean. Dirt from the air conditioner hanging from the ceiling. The bottom of the bathroom door had soap scum. The air conditioner was near plugged. The carpet smelled of mold. I realize that the hotel was old but that does not excuse the maintenence not being kept up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dan MCK
Oakland, Oregon
May 8, 2012

Upgrades everywhere

When we got there, we were advised that there is an "amenity upgrade" of $10 per day over the agreed price. I asked what it was for and they said the newspaper and parking. It was not optional. They claim I was supposed to have told that when it was booked (it wasnt). We were given a terrible room far from the pool and ocean, and when we asked for something better they offered a room on the ocean side of the highway for $20 per day more. Most of the rooms are a very long hike to the ocean with no view. The ocean rooms were agreed to was pretty worn out. Not recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pacific Whale Foundation Molokini/Lanai snorkeling tour is a great value with good food/drinks and a nice boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adam Jam
Bend, OR, USA
Apr 28, 2012

good place, bad mattresses.

my wife and I stayed at this hotel 9 nights. The only complaint I had was the old, worn out spring mattresses. Good location right across the street from the beach. The place is a little old but we enjoyed our stay overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fightattack
Seattle
Apr 27, 2012

Cheap, chill, easy.

This is not a hotel you go to be pampered at. There are plenty of expensive places all over Maui - this one is probably the cheapest and simplest of them all. We enjoy the Maui Lu primarily for the price. The oceanside rooms are great - you have a small 'private'-ish beach on the north side and a larger rarely-used public beach on the south side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sansei is close by in Kihei. Great sushi. Arrive and order between 5:30-6:00pm and get 25% off your food orders.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ResonantChic
Rosamond, CA
Apr 26, 2012

Great Option

This is a great option on Maui. The people are great, and the location was quite centric to a variety of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BayAreaJake
Hayward, CA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Make sure to reserve the ocean view room.

I read mixed reviews about this place before I booked it. The reason I booked it was because I liked the value. I figured I wouldn't stay in my room too much so I booked their basic room with a regular view. During my check-in I was asked if I wanted to upgrade to their ocean view and I asked if I could compare both rooms before absorbing the upgrade charge. Result? The upgrade is definitely worth it. You almost can't compare the two rooms. My original reservation was inside an older building without a view, outdated amenities inside the room. The ocean view room was actually a loft with noticeable amenity upgrades. There is a private beach right outside the building, parking is outside the door and all windows face the sunset side of Maui. Even with this upgrade you will pay significantly more at other resorts just to have this view. Basically, it is what it is. Keep an open mind and you will enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For the first timers: if you would like to take a drive to Hana, don't sign up for the tour. Instead, buy a narrated CD at Shell gas station in Kahului and save a lot of money. It's well worth the $20 you'll spend for this drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
seattleme
Seattle, WA, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Dirty and dilapidated

The first hint this place would be dilapidated was the fact they are still using actual keys. Next on the way to the parking we saw the burned out remnants of one of the buildings. then on the way to the room you will notice a strong smell coming from any room with an open door. The furnishings (including box spring and matress) appear to be at least 25 years old. The carpet is filthy, when I put down the bath mat it turned black in places from the dirt on the bathroom floor. The air conditioner was covered with mold. The room was so dark even with the light on I did not even notice how bad the walls were until the morning when I opened the curtain. The wall paper was missing in places and had been painted over in larger areas to cover who knows what.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JoanDB
Seattle, WA
Mar 16, 2012

Only one night thank goodness!

This hotel is located across the street from the water and about a mile from stores and restaurants. Grounds are adequately cared for and it has a pool and lounge chairs. Staff was very pleasant, bed was comfortable and the room had a small refrigerator. In the room, paint was chipped on woodwork, carpet needed cleaning and shutters were wedged closed on two windows. There were small ants in the bathroom sink and the bathroom door was warped so it was difficult to close. When we walked in the room there was an overwhelming smell from a deoderizer that tried to mask the mustiness. All in all, the hotel appears to be a victim of neglect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RomanH
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 18, 2012

Beautiful area!

Four stars only because it's too old. Needs renewal. But it's clean. For Kihei area cheap! Staff it's nice and helpful! Thank You!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
F and B
Alaska
Feb 17, 2012

Very nice for the price.

Stayed in a garden view and then upgraded to oceanfront. The garden view room was large and quiet (a little damp smelling however - as it is an older building). The grounds are very spacious with beautiful coconut trees and a nice pool. When we upgraded to the oceanfront - it was almost perfect. The ocean is just 30 or so feet from the room and a nice little private beach. We had an upstairs room with an upstairs bedroom that was very nice (not all rooms have this). There was traffic noice coming in the upstairs bedroom window as the building is very close to a road. There is no traffic noice in the main living area with the balcony overlooking the ocean. The staff was wonderful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at "Coconuts" at the nearby plaza. Great fish and brown rice for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top