$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Aston Maui Lu

2 stars
575 South Kihei Road, kihei, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
278 reviews
Ocanfront rooms are best!

Really enjoyed staying here. Before coming did not expect a lot but when arrived found ir... See full review

  • id02121
  • Aug 8, 2014
We enjoy our honey moon in Aston Maui Lu

Since the check in everything was perfect. Their staff are very professional and friendly. They... See full review

  • Gabriel sweet Gabriel
  • Jun 26, 2014
The Aston Maui Lu is a budget-friendly hotel on Maui, which is more like a condo stay than a catered hotel, but you can make full use of the outdoor picnic areas and barbecue stations in the ever-present sunshine. Occupying multiple buildings across 28-acres of fragrant coconut grove and pristine lawn, it's the perfect backdrop for a recharge, with a private, postcard-worthy Hawaiian beach straight ahead. The resort sets you up for everything from whale-watching (November to April) from your private lanai, to a blissful float through the Maui-shaped swimming pool, or even lesson in basket-weaving. Find out what a night of Polynesian revelry is really like at the Aston Maui luaus, with a fiery finale of music and dance, three times a week.
Key facts
  • 120 guestrooms
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 1 outdoor pool
  • 2 private beaches
  • Tennis courts
  • Barbecue area
  • Wired Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Free self-parking
  • In-room coffee and tea
  • In-room mini fridge
Neighborhood
The hotel is located in Maalea Bay and the wider area of Kihei, in southwest Maui. Start the day local-style at Da Kitchen or try Kihei Cafe for a more all-American breakfast of omelets or cinnamon rolls. Book a dive charter or sunset sail at Maui Dive Shop, then finish the day at South Shore Tiki Lounge, a genuine tiki bar beloved by locals for its rum punches and dessert cocktails. The historic whaling town of Lahaina is just up the coast and tells its story at the whale museum, between plenty of independent art galleries and local shops.
Hints and tips
Guests looking for absolute peace, with only the sound of the tide, should ask for rooms in the 400 building, which has its own private cove.

There is no on-site restaurant, so pick up some snacks from Safeway or Foodland stores to the south and stock up the in-room mini-fridge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.7706 -156.4593
Area served
Kihei-Maui, HI
Nearby airports
OGG - Kahului
Area description
Fronting 2 private beaches with on-site and nearby activities including bike rentals, golf, snorkeling, tennis, volleyball, windsurfing and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Maui Lu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Aston Maui Lu Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View Room
Deluxe room with ocean view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and in-room safe.
Garden View Room
Standard room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Superior Garden View Room
Superior room with garden view and king bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, private lanai, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.
Ocean Front Room
Standard room with ocean front view and queen bed or 2 double beds. Includes full bathroom, alarm clock, radio, cable TV, refrigerator and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (278)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Maui Lu

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Humberto from Peru
Lima, Peru
Jan 12, 2014

Clean and comfortable place

We arrived at night and the suite was cleaned and comfortable. Ocean view was excellent when we woke up. Small refrigerator and coffee machine in the suite was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fairly excited
Montana
Mar 21, 2014

Great Value

This place is amazing. Great private beach. Amazing grounds. Older resort but very charming and the staff are wonderful! Loved that Calvary Chapel meets on the property. If you can overlook a few things that need remodeling, you will absolutely love this place. It has a great location in Kihei too. Amazing worship!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stella Blues has phenomenal food!

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Apr 28, 2007

Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

My wife and I stayed at the Maui Lu for our honeymoon, and I have to say.... We absolutely loved it! We stayed in the oceanfront building 400, room 404. No other resort in all of Maui has a building as close to the ocean as this one is! We kept the windows open all the time and fell asleep and woke up to the sound of the ocean. We decided to stay on the bottom floor instead of the top and we are very glad we did. All we had to do was open the sliding glass door, walk about 20 feet, and jump in the ocean! I got up every morning to go for a swim in the private cove we had. Hardly anyone ever there, warm, clear water with a small coral garden about 100 yards out and still only about 4 feet of water! The cove also had a freshwater shower which came in real handy. If you want somthing alittle bigger to play on than the cove, there is a huge stretch of beach about 100 feet to the right of the cove. There was also a long grassy area covered with palm trees right outside our glass door which helped make sunsets amazing. From our room we had views of the harbor across the bay, the island of Lanai, and Molokini Crater. Our room was very clean when we got there and remained clean everyday as it was visited by room service who provided new glasses, towels, and vacumed daily. We also received a complimentery bottle of champange and bottles of water upon arriving at the hotel. The hotel is located on the far west side of Kihei, which in our opinion is the best town on the island ( yes we visited almost all of them and they are all very nice but Kihei is the best ). The hotel is secluded, but just a short drive away from shopping, restaurants, and some of the most amazing beaches we have ever seen. We visited the rest of the hotel one day, and even though we didnt go into the rooms, the grounds were very beautiful. Green grass, plants and palm trees everywhere you looked. The buildings are old looking on the outside but thats the point of the hotel.... To give you that old school Polynesian feel. We went swimming in the pool which is very large with sloping sides which made getting out kinda difficult. The pool was cold but refreshing since it was hot out. The parking lot on the oceanfront side was small and difficult to manuver, but there is an overflow lot right across the street. The lot also had a garden hose which allowed me to wash our jeep after the road to Hana. Our room also had a small refrigerator which was a good place to store groceries for the week we were there. The top shelf of the fridge was a freezer which we kept ice trays in. Next to the Fridge was a small safe which we stored valuables when we went out. There is also a small cable T.V. on the dresser which gave you access to many channels. A small gecko would come out at night and say hi. Watching him was very entertaining. We read all of the bad reviews prior to our trip and are so glad that we paid them no heed. We appreciated their concerns, but honestly, in the building we statyed in, they were completely unfounded. One women pointed out that part of the hotel is boarded up, and yes, one building off to the side is boarded up and no longer functioning..... but so what! Is anyone staying in that building? No! Anyways I cannot speak for the cleanliness or bugs or whatever in the other buildings because we did not see the inside of them, but trust me, I can guarantee if you stay in the 400 building you will not be dissapointed in any way, shape, or form. If you're looking for a huge, 10 story resort with a bunch of pools, tennis courts, saunas, and all the charm of a busy shopping mall, then this place is not for you. But if you want absoulute peace and quiet, away from all the hustle and bustle of town, then this hotel is defenitely for you. Anyways, hope this helps you in deciding where to stay. We are coming back to Maui for our 1 year anniversary and we will definetely be staying at the Aston Maui Lu again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Aston Maui Lu is on the very northwest side of Kihei, which in our opinion is the best town on the island of Maui. There is tons to do there. Shopping of every kind from groceries to gifts. Tons of restaurants to eat at. Some of the most beautiful beaches on the island with every water activity availiable to you.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie
Not Provided
Mar 22, 2009

They need more lounge chairs at

They need more lounge chairs at their beach area, but everything else was great! The views were amazing and the staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jun 27, 2009

The staff of the Aston Maui have

The staff of the Aston Maui have been very helpful and informative and we would recommend this hotel to any earnest traveller.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brian
Not Provided
Oct 5, 2010

The staff was exceptionally friendly

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept. The location was close enough to stores to be convienent yet private enough to maintain the quiet atomosphere that so many people desire in a trip to maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Lovely Stay

[...]was very helpful with my stay. I was upgraded two levels up and instead of the garden view, I was given the ocean view. It was the best experience I could have asked for. Thank you. Every day I returned to my room, it was clean and ready for another night's sleep. It was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OrbitzMike
Culver City, CA, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Excellent ocean view rooms

we had a 1 bedroom suite on the 2nd floor. The ocean views from the balcony were amazing at all hours of the day and night!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the hotel is at a really good central location on the island.

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SK999
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Perfect family vacation

Enjoyed the ocean view room at the resort. Great location; walk out of the room and you are on a small private beach. Perfect for our kids. Short drive away from good snorkeling locations. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkelling

Review of Aston Maui Lu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Chases
Newport, New Hampshire
Feb 16, 2012

Most wonderful vacation

This vacation was for our 10th anniversary. We got married in Maui 02-02-02. For this 17 day trip we wanted a room with oceanview, so we researched and read lots of reviews. We chose Maui Lu because we could be right on the beach and it was affordable. Just as we had read in the reviews the building is older and in need of a face lift and the air conditioner was noisy, but we only used it a couple of times in the early evening after being out all day with the windows closed . Our maid was wonderful. The balcony and the veiw from our bed was amazing. We slept with the windows and balcony door open each night with the sound of the waves and the tropical breeze blowing over us. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I would ask for a room in building 400 on the second floor. If you are looking for fancy rooms and lobbies then this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for clean, comfortable, affordable and amazing sunsets it is perfect!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicken Plates every Wednesday and Saturday at roadside setup. South Kihei Rd in North Kihei

Back to menu Return to top

Change search