$450 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The St. Regis Princeville Resort

5 stars
5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, P.O. Box 223069, Kauai, HI 96722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
41 reviews
Everything we expected and more!

Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived,even the weather. Gorgeous hotel, wonderful warm... See full review

  • snoots
  • Dec 26, 2013
Fantastic Property

Stunning location and fantastic property. Everything was a great 5* experience... except the hotel... See full review

  • ak0smith
  • Oct 11, 2013
Five-star resort on emerald cliffs, overlooking sand and sea

Featured in the Conde Nast Traveler 2011 Gold List, the St. Regis Princeville Resort offers guests a full resort experience on the enchanting shores of Hanalei Bay, considered one of the most beautiful spots in Hawaii. Located in the exclusive resort community of Princeville, this five-star resort offers guests exclusive access to one of the world's most beautiful beaches. Guests also have access to incredible snorkeling on the island of Kauai; the world-class 18-hole Makai Golf Club; a 5,000 sq. ft. infinity pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens and natural lava rock; and a large number of dining and drinking options. Guests can relax with a cocktail poolside or beachside. The Mailani Dinner Show features traditional Hawaiian hula, chanting, and storytelling.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Full-service resort; beautiful beach location at Hanalei Bay, on the exclusive North Shore of Kauai Island, Hawaii

  • 10,000 sq. ft. Halele'a Spa features 12 treatment rooms; a 5,000 sq. ft. infinity pool; the Makai Golf Club, designed by Robert Trent Jones, Jr.

  • Dining options include Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten's Kauai Grill; Mediterranean cuisine at Nalu Kai; local fare at Manaka Terrace

St. Regis Princeville Resort Rooms

The St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 252 guestrooms and suites. Units range in size from 540 square feet to a massive 2,400 square feet in the Royal Suite. All guestrooms and suites have a contemporary Hawaiian décor featuring custom furnishings that guests will find relaxing and peaceful. All units have a view of either the ocean or the large gardens with the Na Molokama mountain range in the distance. Many rooms and suites feature private balconies. Rooms contain either a king-size bed or two double beds complimented with embroidered linens. Suites feature a separate seating area and original artwork. All guestrooms at the St. Regis Princeville Resort have a full marble bathroom with oversized bathtub, double vanity, and complimentary bath amenities. High-speed Internet access and room service are available (fees apply).

Things to Do:
  • Hanalei Beach Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

  • Waioli Mission House Museum (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

  • Limahuli Garden (5.1 mi/8.2 km)

  • Koke'e State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)

  • Snorkel Bob's Kauai (16 mi/25.7 km)

  • National Tropical Botanical Gardens (23 mi/37 km)

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking: $30.00 per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.2228 -159.4939
Area served
Princeville - north end of the Island of Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport
Area description
From Lihue Airport Depart Lihue Airport Turn right onto Kuhio Highway/HI-56 Continue to follow Kuhio Highway for 29.6 miles Turn right onto Ka Haku Road at the Princeville Main Entrance The resort is located at the end of Ka Haku Road

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The St. Regis Princeville Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The St. Regis Princeville Resort Rooms

Garden View with Terrace
Mountain or Garden View with Terrace Rooms are spacious and offer a private furnished outdoor terrace. Each room features a contemporary Hawaiian dcor with modern refinements. Rooms feature either one king-size or two queen beds adorned with embroidered bed linens, sumptuous custom furnishings and an elegant marble bathroom with an oversized tub and double vanity. Rooms include a unique transparent glass reveal electronically controlled for views or privacy. Rooms are located on floors 1, 4, 9 and 10. (547 square feet)
Ocean View Room
Ocean View rooms are elegantly appointed with scenic views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens. Each room features a contemporary Hawaiian dcor with modern refinements. Rooms feature either one king or two queen beds adorned with embroidered bed linens, relaxed sitting area with contemporary furnishings and a sumptuous marble bathroom with double vanity and oversized bathtub with shower combination. Rooms include a unique transparent glass reveal electronically controlled for views or privacy. Rooms are located on floors 2-7 and 9. (547 square feet)
Prince Junior Suite
The Prince Junior Suite epitomizes the noble lineage of Princeville's royal past. With a gracious residential ambience you are enveloped in a space that is both timeless and serene. A sophisticated combination of island motifs and natural textures evoke the seaside location. Sequestered in preferred locations on floors 8-11, the Prince Junior Suite is our most requested. Prince Suites feature an inviting foyer entry with original artwork, a bedroom ensemble separated by a custom built entertainment console and a sitting and dining area with contemporary dcor. The Prince "bath suite" includes a signature expansive glass window electronically controlled for views or privacy. (820 square feet)
Ocean View with Terrace
Ocean View Terrace rooms offer sophisticated surroundings with a private furnished outdoor lanai. Enjoy exquisite views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens. Each room features a contemporary Hawaiian dcor with modern refinements. Rooms feature either one king or two queen beds adorned with embroidered bed linens, relaxed living area with custom furnishings and a sumptuous marble bathroom with double vanity and oversized bathtub with shower combination. A seating area fronting the large expansive window provides a perfect place to take in the ocean and garden views. Rooms include a unique transparent glass reveal electronically controlled for views or privacy. Rooms are located on floors 4-11. (547 square feet)
Premium Ocean View
Premium Ocean View Rooms offer stunning panoramic views of Hanalei Bay and the Pacific Ocean. Relax in an oasis of calm and understated elegance. Each room features a contemporary Hawaiian dcor with modern refinements. Rooms feature either one king or two queen beds adorned with embroidered bed linens, relaxed living area with custom furnishings and a sumptuous marble bathroom with double vanity and oversized bathtub with shower combination. A seating area fronting the large expansive window provides a perfect place to take in the spectacular ocean views. Rooms are located on floors 4 -11. (547 square feet)
Mountain/Garden Room
Mountain/Garden Rooms provide luxurious comfort in a tropical garden setting. Each room features a contemporary Hawaiian dcor with modern refinements. Rooms feature either one king-size or two queen beds adorned with embroidered bed linens, sumptuous custom furnishings and an elegant marble bathroom with an oversized tub and double vanity. Rooms include a unique transparent glass reveal electronically controlled for views or privacy. Rooms are located on floors 2-7 and 9. (547 square feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 41
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TechArtAlex
Seattle, wA
Mar 29, 2012

Truly Amazing and Relaxing - They radiate Aloha

It was just fantastic. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, and the building was just beautiful. We had a view out at the beach and the mountains across the tiny bay there - breathtaking every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is a fine place to eat, but spend some time out at Hanalei or Kapaa - rent a convertible and see what's out there.

Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Topical Islander
San Francisco, Ca
Nov 16, 2009

AMAZING

TOP NOTCH HOTEL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ak0smith
Denver, Colordado
Oct 11, 2013

Fantastic Property

Stunning location and fantastic property. Everything was a great 5* experience... except the hotel restaurant. It's a short 10 minute drive to excellent dining choices in Hanelei.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hanelei has some excellent restaurants... don't bother with the Hotel food.

Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lemoore, CA
Sep 25, 2010

Kauai

Overall fantastic trip. Hotel worth every penny. Stellar service & location. Only things worth criticizing include high prices for food / drinks, as well as allowance of other hotel guests to use pool / beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
May 31, 2010

Good place

Nice place with nice people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Topical Islander
San Francisco, Ca
Nov 16, 2009

AMAZING

TOP NOTCH HOTEL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBSU
San Francisco, CA
Dec 22, 2012

Superb hotel - true luxury in paradise

We stayed at the St. Regis the week before Christmas. Every aspect of our stay was excellent. The staff are extremely attentive, the setting is beautiful, the hotel is elegantly decorated yet comfortable. It was all around fantastic. We received a complimentary room upgrade I think because it wasn't a very busy week there, so our mountain view room turned into a room with lanai and partial Bay view. The two most useful services there were the concierge and the car services. The concierge helped us decide on which activities to do and then booked them for us - I recommend stopping here early on your trip for an island overview and recommendations on what to do. To our knowledge we didn't pay anything extra in the price of the activities to do this, so it is really worth it in terms of time and using their recommendations. For instance, I called the morning we wanted to do the helicopter tour (i.e. short notice), and they did all the leg work to find a tour spot that was open, including waiting until some companies were open to call, then booked the tour for us once we selected one. We took their recommendations on surfing lessons, Napali Coast/snorkeling tour, and the helicopter tour. They were all excellent. The surfing and helicopter were unexpected choices for us, but they were two of the best things we ended up doing thanks to staff recommendations. The car service provided us with beach towels and water every time we left for our activities. Though I have mixed feelings about the $30 per night parking fee that you can't really avoid (because the hotel is far from anywhere you might otherwise park), the service they provide made up for it. We also received good tips from the staff at the valet on beach snorkeling and other little stop offs. My two criticisms: - The food is good (not amazing), but overpriced. However, the view from the terrace helps you through. There are lots of really good restaurants in Hanalei so we tried to avoid eating at the hotel except for breakfast. - The hotel is very far from some of the activities on the South Shore. Though we agreed by the end the North Shore is by far the most beautiful, least crowded, most charming place to stay on the island, we would consider booking a room on the southern part of the island for a few nights next time to be closer to Waimea Canyon and the boat tour that left from Port Allen at 6am. Lastly, we were there during the off season/winter months, which we were told is not the ideal season for the north shore due to the weather. We still LOVED staying here. We were still able to take surfing lessons in Hanalei Bay, and the rain was beautiful. We did not try to snorkel at Tunnels though it may have still been possible. If you are going in the winter generally, this is stlll a great option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2010

You too can live IN a movie.

So prior to our honeymoon stay at the St. Regis Princeville, I read on this site and others from some folks who complained about the service being snobby, too much tipping, and too many kids. It being our honeymoon and all, these things concerned me as I wanted this trip to be as close to perfect as possible.I found the service to be amazing, and very friendly, not snobby at all. And in return for this great service, there is a fair amount of cash passing from hand to hand, but my feeling is that it is what it is, and you're paying for the whole experience, which is amazing.You will never have a view while eating breakfast, having a cocktail, eating dinner, swimming in the pool, smoking a cigarette, taking a shower, or any other activity like you will have during your stay at this hotel. If you ever watched Jurassic Park or South Pacific, and thought to yourself, "I want to go there," then this is your chance. Hanalei Bay is stunningly beautiful, and the views from every part of the hotel take full advantage. Really, can't strees this enough. Most beautiful hotel location I've ever seen.AS a self proclaimed foodie, I would be remiss if I didn't mention that the Jean Georges restaurant Kauai Grill in the hotel is amazing. I had short ribs and mashed potatoes, and my mouth is watering as I write this. They were perfect. The mashed potatoes were a magical creation with the texture of premium ice cream, only hot and buttery. The short ribs were sipmly the best short ribs I've ever had. Even if you don't stay here, make a reservation. It's too good to miss. As a comparison, the last fine dining meal I had previous to the Kauai Grill was only three days early at Hubert Keller's restaurant Fleur de Lys in San Francisco. Although Fleur was very good, it was not in the same league as the meal I had at Kauai Grill. Checkers vs. Chess.The only bad thing for me to say about the hotel is there were a lot of kids. For the most part they were well-behaved, and the pool is big enough to get away from them, but the bar at sunset was not when I wanted to hear crying and whining of a kid who is upset that the nanny isn't paying attention to them.For me, the stay here was a splurge for our honeymoon, and not something I would normally be able to budget for, and it was worth every penny I had to stretch to make it work.We are already talking about coming back for a far out anniversary.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hike the Na Pali coast. Don't let any guidebooks scare you. It's doable for most people, at least the first two miles, and is amazing.

Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Vegas man
Las Vegas
Mar 29, 2013

Don't get any better!

Great view,even better service. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian B. in SJC
San Jose, California
Dec 10, 2012

Amazing Views and Outstanding Service

The St. Regis resort in Princeville is set on the edge of Hanalei Bay overlooking the ocean and mountains. From the 9th floor lobby, the views are simply amazing. And the service from the hotel staff was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many of the reviews that we read complained that the restaurants at the hotel are overpriced. Instead of eating there, we would drive over to the nearby town of Hanalei for dinner. Bar Acuda is amazing! Tahati Nui is there too, which was the bar restaurant from The Descendants movie (great Mai Tai's).

Back to menu Return to top