$435 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

The St. Regis Princeville Resort

5 stars
5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, P.O. Box 223069, Kauai, HI 96722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
41 reviews
Everything we expected and more!

Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived,even the weather. Gorgeous hotel, wonderful warm... See full review

  • snoots
  • Dec 26, 2013
Fantastic Property

Stunning location and fantastic property. Everything was a great 5* experience... except the hotel... See full review

  • ak0smith
  • Oct 11, 2013
Five-star resort on emerald cliffs, overlooking sand and sea

Featured in the Conde Nast Traveler 2011 Gold List, the St. Regis Princeville Resort offers guests a full resort experience on the enchanting shores of Hanalei Bay, considered one of the most beautiful spots in Hawaii. Located in the exclusive resort community of Princeville, this five-star resort offers guests exclusive access to one of the world's most beautiful beaches. Guests also have access to incredible snorkeling on the island of Kauai; the world-class 18-hole Makai Golf Club; a 5,000 sq. ft. infinity pool, surrounded by lush tropical gardens and natural lava rock; and a large number of dining and drinking options. Guests can relax with a cocktail poolside or beachside. The Mailani Dinner Show features traditional Hawaiian hula, chanting, and storytelling.

3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Full-service resort; beautiful beach location at Hanalei Bay, on the exclusive North Shore of Kauai Island, Hawaii

  • 10,000 sq. ft. Halele'a Spa features 12 treatment rooms; a 5,000 sq. ft. infinity pool; the Makai Golf Club, designed by Robert Trent Jones, Jr.

  • Dining options include Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten's Kauai Grill; Mediterranean cuisine at Nalu Kai; local fare at Manaka Terrace

St. Regis Princeville Resort Rooms

The St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 252 guestrooms and suites. Units range in size from 540 square feet to a massive 2,400 square feet in the Royal Suite. All guestrooms and suites have a contemporary Hawaiian décor featuring custom furnishings that guests will find relaxing and peaceful. All units have a view of either the ocean or the large gardens with the Na Molokama mountain range in the distance. Many rooms and suites feature private balconies. Rooms contain either a king-size bed or two double beds complimented with embroidered linens. Suites feature a separate seating area and original artwork. All guestrooms at the St. Regis Princeville Resort have a full marble bathroom with oversized bathtub, double vanity, and complimentary bath amenities. High-speed Internet access and room service are available (fees apply).

Things to Do:
  • Hanalei Beach Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

  • Waioli Mission House Museum (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

  • Limahuli Garden (5.1 mi/8.2 km)

  • Koke'e State Park (12 mi/19.3 km)

  • Snorkel Bob's Kauai (16 mi/25.7 km)

  • National Tropical Botanical Gardens (23 mi/37 km)

Policies and fees
  • Valet parking: $30.00 per day

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.2228 -159.4939
Area served
Princeville - north end of the Island of Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport
Area description
From Lihue Airport Depart Lihue Airport Turn right onto Kuhio Highway/HI-56 Continue to follow Kuhio Highway for 29.6 miles Turn right onto Ka Haku Road at the Princeville Main Entrance The resort is located at the end of Ka Haku Road

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The St. Regis Princeville Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The St. Regis Princeville Resort Rooms

Garden View with Terrace
Mountain or Garden View with Terrace Rooms are spacious and offer a private furnished outdoor terrace. Each room features a contemporary Hawaiian dcor with modern refinements. Rooms feature either one king-size or two queen beds adorned with embroidered bed linens, sumptuous custom furnishings and an elegant marble bathroom with an oversized tub and double vanity. Rooms include a unique transparent glass reveal electronically controlled for views or privacy. Rooms are located on floors 1, 4, 9 and 10. (547 square feet)
Ocean View Room
Ocean View rooms are elegantly appointed with scenic views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens. Each room features a contemporary Hawaiian dcor with modern refinements. Rooms feature either one king or two queen beds adorned with embroidered bed linens, relaxed sitting area with contemporary furnishings and a sumptuous marble bathroom with double vanity and oversized bathtub with shower combination. Rooms include a unique transparent glass reveal electronically controlled for views or privacy. Rooms are located on floors 2-7 and 9. (547 square feet)
Prince Junior Suite
The Prince Junior Suite epitomizes the noble lineage of Princeville's royal past. With a gracious residential ambience you are enveloped in a space that is both timeless and serene. A sophisticated combination of island motifs and natural textures evoke the seaside location. Sequestered in preferred locations on floors 8-11, the Prince Junior Suite is our most requested. Prince Suites feature an inviting foyer entry with original artwork, a bedroom ensemble separated by a custom built entertainment console and a sitting and dining area with contemporary dcor. The Prince "bath suite" includes a signature expansive glass window electronically controlled for views or privacy. (820 square feet)
Ocean View with Terrace
Ocean View Terrace rooms offer sophisticated surroundings with a private furnished outdoor lanai. Enjoy exquisite views of the Pacific Ocean and lush tropical gardens. Each room features a contemporary Hawaiian dcor with modern refinements. Rooms feature either one king or two queen beds adorned with embroidered bed linens, relaxed living area with custom furnishings and a sumptuous marble bathroom with double vanity and oversized bathtub with shower combination. A seating area fronting the large expansive window provides a perfect place to take in the ocean and garden views. Rooms include a unique transparent glass reveal electronically controlled for views or privacy. Rooms are located on floors 4-11. (547 square feet)
Premium Ocean View
Premium Ocean View Rooms offer stunning panoramic views of Hanalei Bay and the Pacific Ocean. Relax in an oasis of calm and understated elegance. Each room features a contemporary Hawaiian dcor with modern refinements. Rooms feature either one king or two queen beds adorned with embroidered bed linens, relaxed living area with custom furnishings and a sumptuous marble bathroom with double vanity and oversized bathtub with shower combination. A seating area fronting the large expansive window provides a perfect place to take in the spectacular ocean views. Rooms are located on floors 4 -11. (547 square feet)
Mountain/Garden Room
Mountain/Garden Rooms provide luxurious comfort in a tropical garden setting. Each room features a contemporary Hawaiian dcor with modern refinements. Rooms feature either one king-size or two queen beds adorned with embroidered bed linens, sumptuous custom furnishings and an elegant marble bathroom with an oversized tub and double vanity. Rooms include a unique transparent glass reveal electronically controlled for views or privacy. Rooms are located on floors 2-7 and 9. (547 square feet)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snoots
Boulder CO
Dec 26, 2013

Everything we expected and more!

Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived,even the weather. Gorgeous hotel, wonderful warm friendly staff, good restaurant, beautiful pool area. Will go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great breakfast at common Ground about 15 minutes from Princeville. Local.

Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation enthusiast
Holyoke,ma.
Oct 18, 2013

Conference location

Beautiful scenery beyond description. Somewhat disappointment at lack of entertainment at night except on weekends. Restaurants nice but expensive. Not very romantic nor conducive to lingering at dinner. Pool chairs too close together. Beach not great as well.a place to stay once but not to return to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ak0smith
Denver, Colordado
Oct 11, 2013

Fantastic Property

Stunning location and fantastic property. Everything was a great 5* experience... except the hotel restaurant. It's a short 10 minute drive to excellent dining choices in Hanelei.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hanelei has some excellent restaurants... don't bother with the Hotel food.

Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Vegas man
Las Vegas
Mar 29, 2013

Don't get any better!

Great view,even better service. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Admiral Guys
Seattle, WA
Mar 15, 2013

The Embodiment of Aloha!

For our honeymoon and our first trip to Kauai, we wanted something truly special without the cliques found in some resorts. The St. Regis, perfectly situated overlooking Hanelei Bay, frames one of the world''s best views -- the idyllic Makana mountain in the distance. The hotel manager said they strive for a perfect day for their guest and he meant it, going the extra mile to make things right. The exteriors of room wings appear a bit older, however, the interiors are classy and luxuriously understated. Our room had a view worthy of a postcard. The porte cochere, lobby and restaurant are beautiful, gracious and airy. The pool is open 24 hours, where we watched the ocean at dawn from the hot tub. Even a seemingly ordinary Muesli breakfast was done to extraordinary perfection with fresh tropical fruit. From the food, to the views to the interiors, really a hotel worthy of their five stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Watch the sunrise from the heated whirlpool -- the view of Hanalei Bay and Makana at dawn is magical

Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Refreshed Wife
Palmdale, CA
Mar 13, 2013

Total Comfort & Treated Royally!!!!

It was very nice, we enjoyed the luxury & the staff was very courteous & always remembered our name. One thing I would have liked to have known was that one pays a daily fee for having your car parked on their parking lot & there is only valet , no self parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is secluded, not a lot of nice restaurants outside of hotel. Bring plenty of money to eat within hotel.

Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hoosiersss
Birmingham, AL
Feb 15, 2013

Unbelievable Experience!!

This hotel is unreal. I felt like this hotel was out of an early 90s Bond movie... in a good way. The hotel screams old elegance from the exterior and has been remodeled from top to bottom on the interior. The rooms are very nice and comfy. The views are absolutely amazing. The pool area is top notch with great and friendly service. Great bar setup by the pool with flat screen TV to keep up with Sports/News. The food was excellent for every meal. Great buffet for breakfast but my wife and I ordered a la cart most mornings and their surf omelet is to die for. Excellent sushi bar at the main bar of the hotel lobby…. Excellent musical entertainment as well. The main dining area is soo good. Kauai Grill is one of the best dining experiences of all time. All and all, this place is soo great but the only downside is it makes you want to stay, be lazy and enjoy the accommodations instead of sightseeing. Make sure you get out and take advantage of the beautiful island as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Kauai Grill is the top rated restaurant on the island and it is located on the lower floor of the main building at the hotel. It is a touch pricy but pay the money and enjoy the experience. It is one of the best dining experiences of all time.

Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBSU
San Francisco, CA
Dec 22, 2012

Superb hotel - true luxury in paradise

We stayed at the St. Regis the week before Christmas. Every aspect of our stay was excellent. The staff are extremely attentive, the setting is beautiful, the hotel is elegantly decorated yet comfortable. It was all around fantastic. We received a complimentary room upgrade I think because it wasn't a very busy week there, so our mountain view room turned into a room with lanai and partial Bay view. The two most useful services there were the concierge and the car services. The concierge helped us decide on which activities to do and then booked them for us - I recommend stopping here early on your trip for an island overview and recommendations on what to do. To our knowledge we didn't pay anything extra in the price of the activities to do this, so it is really worth it in terms of time and using their recommendations. For instance, I called the morning we wanted to do the helicopter tour (i.e. short notice), and they did all the leg work to find a tour spot that was open, including waiting until some companies were open to call, then booked the tour for us once we selected one. We took their recommendations on surfing lessons, Napali Coast/snorkeling tour, and the helicopter tour. They were all excellent. The surfing and helicopter were unexpected choices for us, but they were two of the best things we ended up doing thanks to staff recommendations. The car service provided us with beach towels and water every time we left for our activities. Though I have mixed feelings about the $30 per night parking fee that you can't really avoid (because the hotel is far from anywhere you might otherwise park), the service they provide made up for it. We also received good tips from the staff at the valet on beach snorkeling and other little stop offs. My two criticisms: - The food is good (not amazing), but overpriced. However, the view from the terrace helps you through. There are lots of really good restaurants in Hanalei so we tried to avoid eating at the hotel except for breakfast. - The hotel is very far from some of the activities on the South Shore. Though we agreed by the end the North Shore is by far the most beautiful, least crowded, most charming place to stay on the island, we would consider booking a room on the southern part of the island for a few nights next time to be closer to Waimea Canyon and the boat tour that left from Port Allen at 6am. Lastly, we were there during the off season/winter months, which we were told is not the ideal season for the north shore due to the weather. We still LOVED staying here. We were still able to take surfing lessons in Hanalei Bay, and the rain was beautiful. We did not try to snorkel at Tunnels though it may have still been possible. If you are going in the winter generally, this is stlll a great option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian B. in SJC
San Jose, California
Dec 10, 2012

Amazing Views and Outstanding Service

The St. Regis resort in Princeville is set on the edge of Hanalei Bay overlooking the ocean and mountains. From the 9th floor lobby, the views are simply amazing. And the service from the hotel staff was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many of the reviews that we read complained that the restaurants at the hotel are overpriced. Instead of eating there, we would drive over to the nearby town of Hanalei for dinner. Bar Acuda is amazing! Tahati Nui is there too, which was the bar restaurant from The Descendants movie (great Mai Tai's).

Review of The St. Regis Princeville Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cinnybebe323
Los Angeles, California
Oct 8, 2012

Great Location

Excellent location, great mountain/ocean view. We actually like the pool area alot. It locates near Hanalei Bay (great place for surfing/stand-up paddling). The hotel is however very pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top