$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 5, 2014

JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

4 stars
92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, HI 96707
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
97 reviews
Awesome Experience!

The hotel accomodations and staff were excellent. Be sure to have a room with an ocean front view.... See full review

  • Enlightened
  • Sep 5, 2014
The best family resort

It has private lagoon to play with. The ocean wave is quieter. It is safe to let small kids going... See full review

  • Ken1997
  • Aug 6, 2014
A luxurious Island sanctuary away from the city
JW is a luxury offshoot of the Marriott hotel group, and the Ihilani Resort and Spa reflects the company's emphasis on pared-down style, with its simple wooden furnishings and muted palette. Sitting solo on a private beach cove with unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and the Waianae mountain range, the hotel has an impressive arsenal of amenities, ranging from seawater massage and color therapies at the spa to championship golfing. Sip Blue Hawaii's by the side of the pool as the sun sinks, dine on coconut shrimp at Naupaka Terrace, or rise early for some yoga under the shade of the huge tropical greenery in the hotel garden; guests can design their visits exactly as they wish at the JW.
Key facts
  • 387 guestrooms
  • Shuttle bus service
  • Pool
  • 4 restaurants: Azul, Naupaka Terrace, Ushio-Tei, Hokule'a Bar
  • Poolside bar
  • Daily resort fee covers on-site activities, Wi-Fi and local calls
  • Spa and exercise classes
  • Golf course
Neighborhood
Located on Oahu's scenic western shore, the Marriott Ihilani is within the Ko Olina resort, just up the coast from Ko Olina Beach Park. This area is known for its 'wow' factor, even amongst the postcard-worthy beaches of Oahu. Less crowded than Honolulu's famous Waikiki strip, the lagoons here are perfect for activities like paddle boarding, snorkeling, and even whale-watching. The nearest city is Kapolei, a vibrant residential community to the east, while Kalaeloa Airport (JRF) is roughly a 17-minute drive away.
Hints and tips
Breakfast options at the Marriott Ihilani Hotel are numerous, but if an alfresco wake-up feast sounds tempting, try the Kalua Pork Eggs Benedict from the Poolside Bar.

While out and about, be on the lookout for street snacks like malasadas, a kind of Portuguese donut popular around the island.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.3393 -158.1257
Area served
Honolulu, Kapolei - Oahu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport
Area description
Resort - Location Type: Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa Rooms

Mountain View
Scenic View of the Waianae Coast Mountains or Golf Course with 1 King bed or 2 Double beds.
Ocean View
Views of the Pacific Ocean with 1 King bed or 2 Double beds.
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe Ocean View of the Pacific Ocean with 1 King bed or 2 Double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Dining

Naupaka Terrace - American
Overlooking the pool, Naupaka is Ihilani's informal all-day dining restaurant. Enjoy the taste of Hawaiian selections, sampling of contemporary island cuisine uniquely ours, blending fresh local ingredients for lunch, dinner and Sunday Champagne Brunch.
Azul - International
Ihilani's signature restaurant serving sumptuous steak and the freshest Hawaiian seafood. Dinner served nightly. AAA 4-Diamond Award.
Ushio-Tei - Japanese
Named for the subtle tides of Hawaii, Ushio-Tei is a quiet oasis in an authentic setting adjoining a peaceful Japanese garden. Ushio-Tei serves traditional Japanese fare including sushi and sashimi.
Hokulea Lounge - Eclectic
Hokule'a is the navigational star above Hawaii by which the ancient Hawaiians used to guide them on their voyages. Hawaii's choice for sunset cocktails and creative cuisine. Enjoy the ho'okipa (hospitality) of Hokule'a, "Oahu's Best Kept Secret."
Poolside Grill - American
Simple light salads, fresh, trendy and healthy sandwiches and simply the best burger in town--all served with the best range of draft beers and fantastic cocktails. Casual alfresco dining at its best.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
THE EGGMAN
Business
CAPE COD MASS
Nov 5, 2009

TWO WEEKS IN PARADISE

Michele and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort.We had a very nice ocean view room for the first eight days then they bumped us up to an even nicer room (no charge)with an ocean and pool view for the balance of our trip.I noticed everyone constantly smiling, both employees and guests.There was a lot to smile about.The setting was beautiful and relaxing.We enjoyed taking walks past the four fantastic lagoon smimming areas and loved the perfect temperature of the pool.Everyone we dealt with ,pool attendants,servers,front desk personell,room service parking attenda nts,(each time we requested our car from valet,two attendants would open our doors and wish us well)the concierge dept.was extremely capable and helpfull.Whatever the request,it never seemed to be a problem,they were happy to assist. Michele had a great day at the spa , she was very pleased with their services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ROYS RESTAURANT ,DONT MISS IT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired & Loving It!
Business
Gilbert, Arizona
Oct 19, 2009

Fabulous for that perfect get-a-away!

This way outclassed any previous trip we've taken! This is truly a 5+ star hotel with peace, quiet and privacy. And the ponds with ocean life close up and personal, the view, the special way each quest is treated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the local dinning places - food, fun and you feel like you belong there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vho621983
Business
Southern California
Oct 15, 2009

Almost A 5-Star Hotel! Insect issues!

Overall, this was a great resort! I was in room 812 and the view was awesome! This hotel had a "private" beach setting where you don't have to worry about crowds or having your personal items on the beach stolen while you in the water. The Amenities were outstanding with a small lagoon aquarium with tropical fishes and sting-rays (big ones); they even had a hammerhead shark! Restaurants were good, but over-priced. That's what happens when decide to eat at a fairly high-end resort. Parking was not an issue, but the daily price was outrageous at $29+tax per day to park in the structure or have it valet'ed. Thank goodness the tax there is only 4.712%; half of SoCal's taxes. Currently, there is another hotel next to this one under construction. The noise wasn't too bad when all doors are close. Even when the doors were open, it wasn't too bad. Rooms and bathrooms were fairly larger with a standing shower, a tub and two sinks. The room itself had a King-size bed, desk, and sitting for at least 4 people. Cleanliness - The hotel could use some renovations to update the look. The walls were all white and numerous marks on them. Rooms were slightly dusty, but acceptable. The main issues I had were insects. There seemed to be some type of small green beetle what found it's way into the room. Not sure how, but they did, and I killed at least 3 during my 8-day stay there. Also, at night I noticed some large COCKROACHES roaming around on the balcony - They were huge, at least 3-4 each night. So I don't recommend hangin out on the balcony at night unless you have some bug-spray. Another wildlife issue were pigeons. There were a good number of pigeons who made their homes on numerous balconies. There were always a couple of droppings on the towel on the balcony furniture towels. It was a nuisance, but I didn't hang around much on the balcony since we had a beach right in front of us. Overall, I would give this resort a 5-Star rating, but that insect problem knocked them down to 4-Stars. Trust me, I know my hotels and I know what to expect or not to expect :-) It's a great resort to stay in Hawaii if you hate the downtown scene. It is a ways away from downtown and traffic can get pretty bad there during rush-hour 3-630PM. By the way, I hated downtown Waikiki/Honolulu - All street signs were not lit up and it takes forever to get back on the H1 once you are in downtown. They did have a lot of good restaurants, but you can find those chains anywhere. i.e. Mortons, Ruth Chris, Cheesecake Factory, PF Changs, Yard-House, Roy's, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kapolei Shopping Center - Exit Campbell Industrial Park on the H1 East (about 2 miles). There's a Costco, Target, Ross, Subway, SuperMarket, and numerous other inexpensive eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
naples fl
Oct 14, 2009

needs updating

nice staff, but the hotel needs renovation. chairs are torn, pool lounges are stained badly,it needs an update badly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk down to the time shares and have dinner at chucks steak and seafood house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boerne,Texas
Oct 4, 2009

Great vacation week

Went swimming on the beach, the water was very clean and beautiful. The pool and hot tub was nice.The restaurants are really good with the ocean beeze and awesome ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Paradise Cove is just next door,The luau was really nice and we had some very good Mai Tais!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul Dye
Business
Covina, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Great 4 star luxury at affordable rates.

The JW Marriott Ihilani is a great place to stay for that special occasion for a couple. We have stayed there in the past and loved every trip there. I took my wife for her birthday. We stayed 3 nights on this trip. The ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade. WE enjoyed the sunset each night from our own room. We did not get the inclusive breakfast buffet this trip. We have had that in the past and that is a great treat. Ko Olina is on the west side of the island. It is quiet there and not nearly as hectic as the Waikiki seen. You can take great walks right off the property. We snorkeled right off the property in a hidden lagoon. Fun times. I believe that the Ko Olina area and the JW Marriott is the right place to stay if you are looking for that quiet, relaxing and romantic getaway. Remember on Oahu everything is always close. So you can do night life thing if that is what you want to do then drive back to the east side. We both recommend a stay there!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 18, 2009

Ihilani Resort and Spa Review of 8/29/09

Very beautiful hotel. Travelers with cars should be advised that there is a $30/day fee to park your vehicle, which I think is excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The daily fish feed at 7:00 am is very worthwhile and recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san mateo
Sep 16, 2009

great location

Hotel location for us was very good. Orbitz define room w/ ocean view, however 30% of the view looks over rooftops . . . Parking extra and excessive charge. No breakfast is included only coffee. For a 4 star hotel one night we had to eliminate 2 cockroaches on our balcony . . . Hotel is excellent for relaxation and enjoyment of the ocean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

In Oahu, if you avoid traffic, driving anywhere is short and enjoyable. Avoid the drive North of Ko Olina!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Wedding Trip

The hotel was beautiful, the staff were helpful and upgraded us to a large suite with a sunset view. I cannot imagine any room in the hotel being bad but ours was fantistic. I was there for a wedding so it was a perfect location but it was quiet at night and Waikiki might have been more fun. If I stayed longer, I would have probably gotten bored. Great for couples but boring if you're going with friends. Loved the location on the beach though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 10, 2009

Absolutely relaxing!

The beach is only a few steps away from the hotel pool. Calm isolated beach makes a perfect place for snorkeling and for kids to play. Ocean view rooms are gorgeous. Could ask for a better place. Walking distance to lu'au in the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top