$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

4 stars
92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, HI 96707
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
138 reviews
Great place to stay

The JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa Ko Olina is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. Staff is... See full review

  • azpacker
  • Jul 9, 2014
Awesome experience

The hotel is around 20 minutes away from the waikiki beach, so there is not so crowed even in... See full review

  • NN B
  • Jun 14, 2014
A luxurious Island sanctuary away from the city
JW is a luxury offshoot of the Marriott hotel group, and the Ihilani Resort and Spa reflects the company's emphasis on pared-down style, with its simple wooden furnishings and muted palette. Sitting solo on a private beach cove with unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and the Waianae mountain range, the hotel has an impressive arsenal of amenities, ranging from seawater massage and color therapies at the spa to championship golfing. Sip Blue Hawaii's by the side of the pool as the sun sinks, dine on coconut shrimp at Naupaka Terrace, or rise early for some yoga under the shade of the huge tropical greenery in the hotel garden; guests can design their visits exactly as they wish at the JW.
Key facts
  • 387 guestrooms
  • Shuttle bus service
  • Pool
  • 4 restaurants: Azul, Naupaka Terrace, Ushio-Tei, Hokule'a Bar
  • Poolside bar
  • Daily resort fee covers on-site activities, Wi-Fi and local calls
  • Spa and exercise classes
  • Golf course
Neighborhood
Located on Oahu's scenic western shore, the Marriott Ihilani is within the Ko Olina resort, just up the coast from Ko Olina Beach Park. This area is known for its 'wow' factor, even amongst the postcard-worthy beaches of Oahu. Less crowded than Honolulu's famous Waikiki strip, the lagoons here are perfect for activities like paddle boarding, snorkeling, and even whale-watching. The nearest city is Kapolei, a vibrant residential community to the east, while Kalaeloa Airport (JRF) is roughly a 17-minute drive away.
Hints and tips
Breakfast options at the Marriott Ihilani Hotel are numerous, but if an alfresco wake-up feast sounds tempting, try the Kalua Pork Eggs Benedict from the Poolside Bar.

While out and about, be on the lookout for street snacks like malasadas, a kind of Portuguese donut popular around the island.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa Rooms

Mountain View
Scenic View of the Waianae Coast Mountains or Golf Course with 1 King bed or 2 Double beds.
Ocean View
Views of the Pacific Ocean with 1 King bed or 2 Double beds.
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe Ocean View of the Pacific Ocean with 1 King bed or 2 Double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.3393 -158.1257
Area served
Honolulu, Kapolei - Oahu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport
Area description
Resort - Location Type: Resort

Dining

Naupaka Terrace - American
Overlooking the pool, Naupaka is Ihilani's informal all-day dining restaurant. Enjoy the taste of Hawaiian selections, sampling of contemporary island cuisine uniquely ours, blending fresh local ingredients for lunch, dinner and Sunday Champagne Brunch.
Azul - International
Ihilani's signature restaurant serving sumptuous steak and the freshest Hawaiian seafood. Dinner served nightly. AAA 4-Diamond Award.
Ushio-Tei - Japanese
Named for the subtle tides of Hawaii, Ushio-Tei is a quiet oasis in an authentic setting adjoining a peaceful Japanese garden. Ushio-Tei serves traditional Japanese fare including sushi and sashimi.
Hokulea Lounge - Eclectic
Hokule'a is the navigational star above Hawaii by which the ancient Hawaiians used to guide them on their voyages. Hawaii's choice for sunset cocktails and creative cuisine. Enjoy the ho'okipa (hospitality) of Hokule'a, "Oahu's Best Kept Secret."
Poolside Grill - American
Simple light salads, fresh, trendy and healthy sandwiches and simply the best burger in town--all served with the best range of draft beers and fantastic cocktails. Casual alfresco dining at its best.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Aug 4, 2010

Quite relaxing vacation

Loved this relaxing getaway. Really nice beach with no waves. Only downside was that the food was expensive and not fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a grocery store in short walking distance, they have good food.

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aliso Viejo, CA
Jul 29, 2010

Great hotel!

We enjoyed our stay at the J.W. Marriott Ihilani very much, however; it was not perfect. We are the type of couple that really try hard to make the best of a difficult situation, so there were a few times that this came into play. Room was phenomenal, view was ecstatic (except for the VERY LOUD BIRDS)! We had to shut our doors often. Not anyone's fault, just nature! Pool was small, too hot and always filled with loud kids, but the beach below made up for it by leaps and bounds! The restaurants were the main problem that we had. The Azul was closed the first 2 of our 3 nights there and then when it finally opened, it was TERRIBLE! The staff was FANTASTIC, but the food was SO horrible that we had to leave after two different meals were ordered and were literally not edible. We were saved twice by the bar upstairs, where they let you order anything on ANY of the hotel restaurant menus! The staff ([...], [...] & another awesome waitress whose name I cannot remember) made our trip! [...] in the Haupaka restaurant was also fantastic on our first night. Meals were fantastic at Haupaka (not at Azul though and it was over twice the price). The saddest thing about this hotel is that the peace and beauty will soon disappear when Disney opens their MONSTROUS hotel next door! Those beautiful little coves will not be able to accommodate the amount of people (mostly kids) that this place will bring. We won't come back to this location only because of that detail. The grace of the Ihilani will soon be trampled by a mega-resort. Sad.Enjoy this place while it lasts (it is awesome)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Naupaka EVERY night! Fantastic chef! Hotel needs more staff to accommodate their guests though.

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aliso Viejo, CA
Jul 29, 2010

Great hotel!

We enjoyed our stay at the J.W. Marriott Ihilani very much, however; it was not perfect. We are the type of couple that really try hard to make the best of a difficult situation, so there were a few times that this came into play. Room was phenomenal, view was ecstatic (except for the VERY LOUD BIRDS)! We had to shut our doors often. Not anyone's fault, just nature! Pool was small, too hot and always filled with loud kids, but the beach below made up for it by leaps and bounds! The restaurants were the main problem that we had. The Azul was closed the first 2 of our 3 nights there and then when it finally opened, it was TERRIBLE! The staff was FANTASTIC, but the food was SO horrible that we had to leave after two different meals were ordered and were literally not edible. We were saved twice by the bar upstairs, where they let you order anything on ANY of the hotel restaurant menus! The staff ([...], [...] & another awesome waitress whose name I cannot remember) made our trip! [...] in the Haupaka restaurant was also fantastic on our first night. Meals were fantastic at Haupaka (not at Azul though and it was over twice the price). The saddest thing about this hotel is that the peace and beauty will soon disappear when Disney opens their MONSTROUS hotel next door! Those beautiful little coves will not be able to accommodate the amount of people (mostly kids) that this place will bring. We won't come back to this location only because of that detail. The grace of the Ihilani will soon be trampled by a mega-resort. Sad.Enjoy this place while it lasts (it is awesome)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Naupaka EVERY night! Fantastic chef! Hotel needs more staff to accommodate their guests though.

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
austin, tx
Jul 12, 2010

Room below standard

This was a nice hotel from the lobby, pool and entrance. The room was sub standard. Room was very aged, outdated and worn out, not clean, mold in the bathtub and shower. For this upscale hotel, the rooms should be above standard. Parking fee was out of line also, $30 a night. There is no where else to park, so they have you captive for parking. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
austin, tx
Jul 12, 2010

Room below standard

This was a nice hotel from the lobby, pool and entrance. The room was sub standard. Room was very aged, outdated and worn out, not clean, mold in the bathtub and shower. For this upscale hotel, the rooms should be above standard. Parking fee was out of line also, $30 a night. There is no where else to park, so they have you captive for parking. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frontrange
Estes Park
Jun 10, 2010

Ko Olina Marriott

The resort is about 45 minutes from the airport. It was nice to be outside of the big city. It is a beautiful resort with very friendly staff. They have a daily sheet with all of the many activities from feeding fish in the lagoon to making Hawaiian leis. Disney is building a 800 room hotel next door so the lagoon may be busier after November of 2011.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an ABC Market within waling distance which has less expensive items.

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frontrange
Estes Park
Jun 10, 2010

Ko Olina Marriott

The resort is about 45 minutes from the airport. It was nice to be outside of the big city. It is a beautiful resort with very friendly staff. They have a daily sheet with all of the many activities from feeding fish in the lagoon to making Hawaiian leis. Disney is building a 800 room hotel next door so the lagoon may be busier after November of 2011.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an ABC Market within waling distance which has less expensive items.

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seko
New York
May 23, 2010

Great hotel not too great food

The hotel staff was great and the location was amazing. However, the food was very limited and unnecessarily expensive. We stayed 5 nights and menu never changed. We tried and started repeating everything listed in the poor menu. There was another hotel's construction right next to the hotel and it was very noisy. If we knew that fact we wouldn't pick this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seko
New York
May 23, 2010

Great hotel not too great food

The hotel staff was great and the location was amazing. However, the food was very limited and unnecessarily expensive. We stayed 5 nights and menu never changed. We tried and started repeating everything listed in the poor menu. There was another hotel's construction right next to the hotel and it was very noisy. If we knew that fact we wouldn't pick this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H2O Joe
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Apr 5, 2010

A Relaxing Week

Having traveled for both business and pleasure I found the resort to be very well suited to match my needs. The pools and lagoon were perfect for relaxing by, and the location was 10 minutes from where I needed to be for work. The views were excellent from the room and the walk along the shore was perfect. We saw whales, turtles, and dolphins right off the resort property and we snorkeled in the surrounding waters. Th service for the most part was very good, however, the pool bar/food service was slow. I have not been to a Marriott in a long time that did not have free internet access in the room, but this one did not. Being there on business, $12.95/day was a bit much. Breakfasts were great, but the rest of the food was just ok and a bit pricey. Overall, a quiet, relaxing, beautiful place to stay. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy some snacks and drinks at Target nearby for the week. Resort prices are way too high for these items.

Back to menu Return to top