$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

4 stars
92-1001 Olani Street, Kapolei, HI 96707
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
95 reviews
The best family resort

It has private lagoon to play with. The ocean wave is quieter. It is safe to let small kids going... See full review

  • Ken1997
  • Aug 6, 2014
graduation getaway for daughter and family

everything was great from check in to leaving the pool was nice and cove for swimming and... See full review

  • Jamie father
  • Jul 28, 2014
A luxurious Island sanctuary away from the city
JW is a luxury offshoot of the Marriott hotel group, and the Ihilani Resort and Spa reflects the company's emphasis on pared-down style, with its simple wooden furnishings and muted palette. Sitting solo on a private beach cove with unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and the Waianae mountain range, the hotel has an impressive arsenal of amenities, ranging from seawater massage and color therapies at the spa to championship golfing. Sip Blue Hawaii's by the side of the pool as the sun sinks, dine on coconut shrimp at Naupaka Terrace, or rise early for some yoga under the shade of the huge tropical greenery in the hotel garden; guests can design their visits exactly as they wish at the JW.
Key facts
  • 387 guestrooms
  • Shuttle bus service
  • Pool
  • 4 restaurants: Azul, Naupaka Terrace, Ushio-Tei, Hokule'a Bar
  • Poolside bar
  • Daily resort fee covers on-site activities, Wi-Fi and local calls
  • Spa and exercise classes
  • Golf course
Neighborhood
Located on Oahu's scenic western shore, the Marriott Ihilani is within the Ko Olina resort, just up the coast from Ko Olina Beach Park. This area is known for its 'wow' factor, even amongst the postcard-worthy beaches of Oahu. Less crowded than Honolulu's famous Waikiki strip, the lagoons here are perfect for activities like paddle boarding, snorkeling, and even whale-watching. The nearest city is Kapolei, a vibrant residential community to the east, while Kalaeloa Airport (JRF) is roughly a 17-minute drive away.
Hints and tips
Breakfast options at the Marriott Ihilani Hotel are numerous, but if an alfresco wake-up feast sounds tempting, try the Kalua Pork Eggs Benedict from the Poolside Bar.

While out and about, be on the lookout for street snacks like malasadas, a kind of Portuguese donut popular around the island.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.3393 -158.1257
Area served
Honolulu, Kapolei - Oahu
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport
Area description
Resort - Location Type: Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa Rooms

Mountain View
Scenic View of the Waianae Coast Mountains or Golf Course with 1 King bed or 2 Double beds.
Ocean View
Views of the Pacific Ocean with 1 King bed or 2 Double beds.
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe Ocean View of the Pacific Ocean with 1 King bed or 2 Double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking

Dining

Naupaka Terrace - American
Overlooking the pool, Naupaka is Ihilani's informal all-day dining restaurant. Enjoy the taste of Hawaiian selections, sampling of contemporary island cuisine uniquely ours, blending fresh local ingredients for lunch, dinner and Sunday Champagne Brunch.
Azul - International
Ihilani's signature restaurant serving sumptuous steak and the freshest Hawaiian seafood. Dinner served nightly. AAA 4-Diamond Award.
Ushio-Tei - Japanese
Named for the subtle tides of Hawaii, Ushio-Tei is a quiet oasis in an authentic setting adjoining a peaceful Japanese garden. Ushio-Tei serves traditional Japanese fare including sushi and sashimi.
Hokulea Lounge - Eclectic
Hokule'a is the navigational star above Hawaii by which the ancient Hawaiians used to guide them on their voyages. Hawaii's choice for sunset cocktails and creative cuisine. Enjoy the ho'okipa (hospitality) of Hokule'a, "Oahu's Best Kept Secret."
Poolside Grill - American
Simple light salads, fresh, trendy and healthy sandwiches and simply the best burger in town--all served with the best range of draft beers and fantastic cocktails. Casual alfresco dining at its best.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 28, 2011

Nice hotel

Nice hotel. Don't know how noisey it's going to be once the Disney Hotel next door opens. And the traffic into the hotel itself will be a nightmare. Breakfast was good and my room was nice and clean. Closing all the shutters and lights switches which are on a wall at night is very annoying and I had one bed against the closet door so it was hard to get into the closet. Should have been only a king bed in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teessiders
Houston Texas
Jul 14, 2011

All is good with one exception

Great location if you are looking for somewhere that is not too full of tourists. You are a bit of a captive audience so it's not cheap, but most things are what you would expect for a 4.5 star hotel. The one thing that is a rip off is the car park at $35 a night! Food is great as is the hotel, get a room that overlooks the ocean, it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you don't want to pay 5 star food prices be prepared to drive 10 miles. Take your GPS to find places

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 2, 2011

Fantastic Oahu Location

Great location, beautiful hotel right on the ocean with four protected lagoons and nice walking paths between them. Quiet, beautiful, on site pools with sharks, rays, fish for easy fun viewing. Saw three sea turtles come near shore & a mongoose! Fantastic ocean views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Longboards is a nice place to go for an outdoor breakfast buffet, located at lagoon #3. Very pleasant morning walk to it.

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phat Joe
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 10, 2011

Far from Waikiki - Great hotel though

If you are looking for a Waikiki vacation, do not book this hotel. My girlfriend and I booked our vacation at the JW Marriott knowing that Oahu had a lot more to offer than just Waikiki. The hotel is situated in Ko Olina on the western coast. There are 4 lagoons on the beach just outside the hotel. My girlfriend and I rented snorkel gear from the hotel and explored the lagoons. A giant sea turtle swam up next to my girlfriend! We also walked over to the Ko Olina Marina and saw the Black Pearl pirate ship from the Pirates of the Caribbean, which is docked there. The hotel pool was a little smaller than we expected based on the photos on the website, but it was still a very nice pool area. Our room was large and well appointed. The only negative was that the bathtub had a scratchy/rough bottom and it looked a little worse for the wear. For what you pay for the hotel, I would expect a pristine bathtub. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our room, which came equipped with a decent sized flat screen TV and a DVD player! The bed was extremely comfortable. I would have liked a microwave in the room as it only provided a mini fridge. We only dined at the hotel once for breakfast, which was delicious but pricy. If you have breakfast at the poolside terrace, be sure to have the Kalua Pork Eggs Benedict. Amazing! Fortunately for hotel guests there is a small but growing shopping center across the street from the hotel. There is an ABC store that has basic items at reasonable prices as well as amazing made to order sandwiches. There are a few other restaurant options there as well. If you have a smart phone download the yelp app and you can find a ton of options in the area that are more affordable since it is more of a residential area than Waikiki. Definitely track down a Leonard Jr's truck or store if you have a car - they sell the most amazing donuts called Malasadas. My girlfriend and I loved the original style although they do have custard or chocolate stuffed ones too! My girlfriend and I did have a rental car while we were there as it was our first time to Oahu and we knew there was a ton to explore. Parking at the hotel is pretty pricey - about $30 / day with taxes. We utilized the valet service which is the same as self parking (minus tips) and we found all of the valet staff to be friendly and accommodating. We used our rental car almost every day that we were there. This resort does NOT charge a daily resort fee like most do. I really appreciated that if you wanted internet, you had to pay $12 / day for it and it wasn't just automatically tacked on to your daily room rate. Paradise Cove is located right next to the hotel and offers the best luau on the island according to everyone we talked to. We had a blast and loved that we could walk back to our hotel afterwards. This hotel was very nice, but beware that they are building a new Disney resort right next door. While it didn't bother my girlfriend and I because we were on West Coast time (3 hours ahead), there were construction workers out there at 7 am every day but Sunday. We could see and hear the construction from our room even though the receptionist that checked us in said they placed us away from the construction. If you book this hotel in the next 3-6 months I'd be sure to tell the hotel you need a room away from the construction, which is really only ocean view rooms. All other rooms will in some way, shape or form face that construction. While we probably won't return to Oahu again for many years (we prefer the scenery and pace of Maui to Oahu), we had a great time and saw more amazing things than we ever expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Rent snorkel gear from the hotel and explore the lagoons. Its such a cool feature right at the hotel's doorstep.

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blast from the past
Trabuco Canyon, CA
May 19, 2011

Marriott Ihilani

We had a great time. Glad we rented a car to see the rest of the island. Definitely take the hotel walk in the morning it's a treat. I Also enjoyed the Yoga class that was offered. Would love to stay here longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a rental car.

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Walnut Creek, CA
Feb 10, 2011

Trip to Oahu

I went there mainly to relax and enjoy the beach. I liked that is away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu. The hotel is easy to navigate which is nice since some resorts are sprawling. Excellent service too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's is right across the street from the hotel - very nice restaurant. There is also an ABC store across the street that has a deli for people who want to save money on food.

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ventura, CA
Jan 6, 2011

Mele Kalikimaka!

This is absolutely a paradise! The room was magnificent and the service was outstanding and consistent through every part and department of the resort. We had a rental car the whole time and didn't touch it from the time we arrived at the JW until the drive back to the airport lol! Truly a wonderful experience which we are deeply appreciative :) Thanks!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mahalo Hawaii
Rochester,NY
Oct 12, 2010

Aloha at ha-ha price

Awesome place to stay. Very private and quiet. Defiantly coming back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Gotta attend fia fia feast and attraction

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
And1979
Milan - Italy
Sep 26, 2010

Incredible sunset view

The hotel is located in the south west coast: it is quite far from honululu (about 40 minutes by car) and therefore it is not a crowded place. The rooms are very big (the bathroom is incredible) and the ocean view rooms guarantee a wonderful sunset view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We suggest to try the Roys restaurant that is not very far from the hotel (10 minutes by walk): food are amazing as well the service.

Review of JW Marriott Ihilani Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
atlantic city nj
Sep 24, 2010

very enjoyable stay beauitful location

front desk personal were very helpful with any questions.we do recomend that you rent a car to get around the island.over all a very relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search