$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 11, 2015 Check-out: Feb 12, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

5 stars
One Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
513 reviews
Hawaii Vacation

This hotel was awesome! My wife and I have a wonderful vacation, the hotel was perfect and we loved... See full review

  • Michael B.
  • Jan 22, 2015
Awesome Family Trip

I love the heated pool even when it was raining and cool outside. See full review

  • All mexico traveler
  • Jan 19, 2015
Soft Hawaiian music drifts on the breeze, welcoming you to the tropical seclusion and lush beauty that make the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua a paradise. Relax by one of three languid, tri-level pools, indulge in a beachside massage, and savor fine island cuisine. Surrounded by swaying palms and sculpted gardens, this resort offers premium accommodations and outstanding guest services. Guests can don their swimwear and flip-flops before stepping straight out onto award-winning D.T. Fleming Beach using the hotel access point. After a dip in the sea, head back to your room to wash away the sand with soapy bubbles in your luxurious marble bathtub, then dress for dinner and head to Kai Sushi for raw seafood delights.
Key facts
  • 463 guestrooms
  • 5 suites
  • 9 floors
  • 3 pools
  • Restaurants and bars:  The Terrace Chef-Crafted, Kai Sushi, The Beach House, Alaloa Lounge, The Pool Bar & Cafe, The Terrace, Aina Gourmet
  • Gift shop
  • Conference and event spaces: 18 rooms
  • Ballroom and banquet facilities
  • 15-room spa
  • Currency exchange
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
Tranquil views of Fleming Beach stretch across the sheltered waters of Honokahua Bay, inviting you to enjoy this remarkable Maui property. The island's natural beauty is yours to explore with the Ritz-Carlton's exclusive access to Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment experience (charges apply). Practice photography under the ocean while you snorkel through brightly-colored coral reefs, or take a hiking tour deep into the Hawaiian rainforest. Two nearby golf courses offer world-class links with vistas set among historic pineapple plantations. Area dining selections range from farm-to-table barbeque, to exquisite sushi and exotic island fare. From on-site shopping excursions to horseback rides along the beach, design your days and nights around sunshine and starlight.
Hints and tips
The atmosphere at the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua is one of relaxation, but you'll need to make reservations for spa treatments, massage services and the golf courses.

Multilingual staff can help out with luggage storage and complimentary shuttle services, and the concierge gladly makes arrangements for limos and town cars (charges apply).
Policies and fees
Parking is available at an added charge.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Rooms

Ocean Front Suite
Experience breath-taking views of the Pacific Ocean and the island of Moloka'i from the one-bedroom, ocean front suites with 1,200 square feet of space including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Residential Garden View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Residential Ocean View Suite
Residential Suites are 900 square feet in size and feature partial kitchens, spacious living rooms with pull-out sofa beds, private lanais, marble bathrooms with separate showers and deep soaking tubs, 42 inch LCD flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations, wireless internet access, in-room safe, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, dark wood floors, Hawaiian inspired artwork and area rugs. Steeped in traditional Hawaiian culture, kitchens in each Residential Suite features a handsome gathering "Calabash" table, named after the traditional wooden bowls for storing poi, where families can come together and forge new traditions and memories. Partial kitchens include a microwave, refrigerator, freezer, and dishwasher. Kitchens are fully stocked with china, glassware, cutlery, cookware, utensils and appliances (toaster, blender, coffee maker).
Deluxe Room
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Deluxe Ocean View
Each guestroom is 440 square feet with island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Enjoy furnished lanais with partial views of the Pacific Ocean from your Deluxe Ocean View Room or picturesque views of the resort, pools and gardens from your Deluxe Room. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, iPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms are non-smoking and barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.
Ocean View Suite
One-bedroom, ocean view suites encompass 900 square feet including the furnished lanai that spans the entire width of the suite. All suites have an elegantly furnished, large living room with pull-out sofa bed, French doors connecting the Master Bedroom with king bed, and two marble bathrooms. Island-inspired dcor includes dark wood floors, Hawaiian artwork, and contemporary furnishings with colors inspired by the natural beauty of the islands and fabrics that reflect the tropical locale. In-suite amenities offered are two 42-inch LCD flat-screen televisions, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, plush terry robes and black out drapes.
Club Room
The Club Level guestrooms are 440 sq.ft. and suites are 900 sq.ft.; with Hawaiian dcor, dark wood floors and contemporary furnishings. Club Level guests have private access to The Ritz-Carlton Club Level, an exclusive lounge with five complimentary food presentations daily, unlimited courtesy alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, the attention of a private Club Concierge, a selection of periodicals, games and computer stations with internet access. Each Club Level accommodation has a lanai and marble bathroom with shower, separate bath, double vanity, make-up mirror and hair dryer. Amenities include one king or two queen beds (suites offer king beds and sofa bed), goosedown featherbeds and pillows, 300 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, flat-screen LCD televisions, wireless internet access, complimentary in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee and tea refreshed daily, clock radio, DVD player, iron and ironing board, plush robes and blackout drapes.
Terrace Room
Terrace Rooms are 440 square feet with resort views on lower floors, featuring island-inspired artwork, dark wood floors and area rugs with authentic Hawaiian designs. Amenities include a 32-inch LCD flat-screen television, high-speed wireless internet access, in-room safe, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee packets, clock radio, DVD player, IPod docking station, iron and ironing board, plush terry robes, blackout drapes, and three telephones. The marble bathroom has a shower and separate bath, double vanities, make-up mirror, hair dryer and tropical scented Lather amenities. Choose from one king bed or two queen beds. All guestrooms offer a furnished lanai (balcony) and are non-smoking. Barrier-free accommodations are available upon request.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Handicapped parking
Brailled elevators

Dining

Kai Sushi
Kai Sushi fuses the island's freshest and finest grade sushi and sashimi with authentic ingredients, and sophisticated presentation. Immersed in an eclectic ambiance, guests can interact with award-winning Chef Tadashi Yoshino and savor his one-of-a-kind Japanese-inspired culinary delicacies while sipping the finest sake' wines. The restaurant's design is inspired by the story of the native Hawaiians' arrival across the sea, with hand-carved ceiling beams that recall the shapes of the outrigger canoes. The glowing back of the sushi bar and carved wood columns are inspired by traditional Hawaiian art forms in print. The warm tones of wood, woven grasses, honed plaster and gold-hued stone set a natural tableau for the bright colors of the fresh sushi delicacies. Kai Sushi is open for dinner Thursday through Monday and features more than 20 varieties of the most popular types of sushi and sashimi and innovative Japanese cuisine.
The Alaloa Lounge
Named "Best Lobby Lounge" on the island by the readers of Maui No Ka 'Oi, The Alaloa Lounge offers an extensive menu of specialty cocktails, domestic and imported beers, premium spirits and signature appetizers and desserts. The Alaloa Lounge offers a casual lunch and appetizer menu. With its breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, The Alaloa Lounge is the place to view the Maui sunset, enjoy an informal lunch or, from December to April, enjoy whale-watching. A spacious lanai offers outdoor seating or guests may choose to sit inside to enjoy the entertainment in the evenings.
Aina Gourmet Cafe
Guests can enjoy specialty breakfast and lunch items from a menu focused on homegrown products. The market is conveniently located within the hotel on the lobby level, and offers grab-and-go coffee, homemade pastries, cereals, salads, sandwiches, soups and more. Additionally, fresh juices and smoothies are blended to order using fresh, local ingredients. Aina Gourmet is open daily from 5:30am to 2:30pm.
The Pool Bar & Cafe
The Pool Bar & Caf offers tropical drinks, smoothies, appetizers, sandwiches and salads at the bar or served to the guest's chaise lounge. Twice daily, the pool servers present complimentary fresh Maui pineapple to guests. If you are lounging in the pool, don't worry about being left out; the servers will enter the water fully dressed to serve you. Lunch is served daily from 11am to 5pm with cocktails from 10am to 8pm. Casual light fare dinner is available Sunday and Monday nights only from 5pm to 8pm.
The Beach House Restaurant
Sip on tropical delights while enjoying the waves, surfers and sometimes, the whales. More than 40 fully-grown coconut palms form a natural canopy over this beachfront restaurant where guests delight in a selection of tropical cocktails and fresh, light fare for lunch.
The Terrace
The Terrace restaurant offers the ideal, tropical setting to start your day. Sip coffee and indulge in a myriad of breakfast choices from a bagel and fresh fruit to delectable macadamia nut pancakes while taking in sweeping resort and ocean views. Taste the local flavour each morning with a different, complimentary smoothie sample. Plantation-inspired design with green and gold and textured fabrics reinforce the connection with the landscape. Slow-moving fans and wood screens illustrate the relaxed pace of island life, a sense of place that is peaceful and verdant. Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am to 11am.
The Banyan Tree
Embark on a culinary journey while taking in spectacular sunset views from this open air, ocean view restaurant and lounge. The Banyan Tree features farm-to-fork concepts highlighting locally sourced ingredients, including those from the hotels abundant organic garden. Hawaii's freshest fish, meat and produce are prepared with simplicity for the perfect flavor balance. Innovative garden-to-glass cocktails are infused with fruits and herbs and served alongside Hawaiian-inspired share plates to create a culinary adventure that is as inspiring as it is memorable.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (513)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 513
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Desperately Seeking a Vacation
Business
San Diego
Jun 21, 2011

Deluxe Ocean View My [*]

What could possibly go wrong at the Ritz???? Everything! Total Disaster!!!! I booked a Deluxe Ocean View Room. The first room I was shown did have an ocean view, but was located right next to the Children's Pool and Playground. Now, why a hotel of this caliber would put anyone other than a family in that location, completely escapes me. I certainly did not want to hear screaming children all day long. So, I requested another room. The next room I was put in had no ocean view from the room or the lanai. You could see the ocean if you leaned out over the lanai, but that was it. This was no Deluxe Ocean View by any stretch of the imagination -although the hotel staff will tell you that they consider even a peek of the ocean an Ocean View Room. I rejected that room as well. I then spent several hours in the property, mostly in the lobby, waiting for them to find me the room I paid for. I was eventually told that the hotel was at high occupancy, and that they did not have the room I booked available. They would however move me to another unnamed but lesser property down the way. I did not accept that solution. I had paid for five star and I expected to get it. It was my understanding that if they could not give you the room you booked, that they would have to upgrade you or move you to a like property. As no upgrades were offered, I requested that they move me to the Grand Wailea. I was eventually told that they could do this, but it would cost me $700 more a night. Not an option. So, as I could not get the room I had paid for, and as suitable accommodations were not offered, I ended up flying home the next day after spending the night in the room with no view. Upon checkout, they attempted to charge me the daily resort fee. I reminded them that I did not get to avail myself of their resort, as I had spent the entire time there waiting for a room. So, they waived it. They also charged me for the Deluxe Ocean View room I had prepaid for - EVEN THOUGH IT WAS NOT A DELUXE OCEAN VIEW ROOM. Worst vacation ever! There was one good thing about this place. The Staff is fantastic! Truly professional and courteous. But, there was nothing that they could do. Some other points worth noting about this property which you will not find in the advertisements. It was really, really windy here. No gentle breezes. You could not sleep with the lanai door open if you had a palm tree outside your room due to the loud clattering of the fronds. Also, the beach is a LONG way from the hotel, and from the various warnings posted, not exactly one you could swim off of. Very strong current. Forget about snorkeling. I had really debated between this one and the Grand Wailea, which I have been to before. Go to the Grand Wailea. It was a much better situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabygu
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Oct 26, 2011

BEST SPA EVER! Great Rooms, Great Service, Food could be Better

The service is amazing and the Spa services were amazing. The food is average and does not reflect much of the local flavors. There was a big event at the hotel, I would've liked to know beforehand, since my main plan was to relax and it was noisy for a couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meechsayshi
Business
Henderson, NV, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Nice getaway

Relaxing. Good for peace & quiet before joining a girls trip over in Wailea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
go Clippers
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
May 14, 2014

Nice but not over the top

Due to the disruption of the burial grounds during construction near the beach, this hotel had to be built back a bit from the ocean. Still all of the amenities and service you would expect from the Ritz, but had a bit of a feel like the Westin Time Share villas in the pool area and looking at it from there. Weather in Kapalua can be rainier than other parts of the island. In hindsight, I would have preferred Sheraton Blackrock for the beach and snorkeling and families should do the same. Ritz Kapalua might be good if you planned to lounge by the pool, hit the spa and enjoy the pricey but good food. Had their breakfast buffet and it is worth the $38 each since you can eat that much in berries alone if you were to buy at the local store. All in all not bad, it is the Ritz in Maui so how can you really go that wrong?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Confidential
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 3, 2010

elegant upscale hotel

Modern spacious and quiet room on beautifully landscaped property. Nice pool with two jacuzzis. Surf at the beach on the rough side. If planning to travel to Hana, Haleakala or upcountry Maui, Kapalua is farther away from these destinations than other resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mklucky
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 15, 2009

Excellent resort, disappointing food

The poor economy meant that only three of the five restaurants were open (only two at dinner time). I ate dinner at the hotel twice, and both times I had to send the entree back. The first, a $65 Kobe Rib Eye at their high end "Banyan Tree", was overcooked and then sat around before they brought it out, so it was luke warm with wilted greens on top. The next time I ate dinner was at the bar, the "Alaloa Lounge." I ordered Ahi and was surprised when she asked how I would like it cooked, but said med-med/well - it came out rare (only seared top and bottom, raw inside)! These are basic things that definitely shouldn't happen at a Ritz-Carlton. I stayed at the Kapalua in the mid 90's a few times and had some excellent meals at the Ritz. But now that they have remodeled it has lost the luster that one would expect (and what I remember) from the Ritz, Kapalua. On the upside my Residence suite was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The property is extremely beautiful with a lot of nature and a lack of the mega-resort feel that has plagued most beach properties in Hawaii. The golf courses are excellent! The food at the Honolua Store was better than the Ritz at a fraction of the cost. The two golf course restaurants were excellent. Ultimately I had a very peaceful and relaxing vacation, but the Ritz has definitely lost what it once was (even after the $180 million remodel). Save $$$, stay at a Kapalua Villa to take advantage of a beautiful 23,000 acre property. Oh yeah, my card/key consistently took about 10 tries to unlock my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Honolua Store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mascha
Business
NY, NY
Aug 8, 2009

Ritz Capalua

Absolutely great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FlorenceOB
Business
Southern California
Jul 19, 2012

At your service!

I return to the Ritz Carlton Kapalua year after year. It is consistently high quality, and incredibly relaxing. All staff are empowered to solve problems, and assist in every way possible. Hotel is quiet. The three pools are gorgeous; (there is a separate kids' pool too.) Two outdoor hot tubs, great fitness center, and spa. Many delicious dining options right on the property. Breakfast buffet has gluten free options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SS Solo Sweetness
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 24, 2013

Wonderful escape

My Ritz experience on Maui was fabulous. From the rooms, to the pool, to the concierge...left nothing to be desired. The small beach and property overall were beautiful. The staff we helpful, friendly and knew when to engage you and when to leave you alone. The food on site was very good as well...a step up from the usual hotel food. If you are a golfer, I don't think you will be disappointed on that front either. The hotel is a short drive from other great sites and towns. Great for families and couples...but I traveled solo and had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doczie
Business
Chicago
Mar 16, 2014

Kapalua magic

It is not easy to tell you anything you don't already know about Ritz properties, this one included. The hotel/facilities/staff etc are all exceptional as with every Ritz property (and I've been to many). My personal thoughts… the beach at this property is not great compared to many others on the island. It is often quite windy and the water is not especially clear. The location is superb. The concierge staff get 6 stars (if that's possible) for making incredibly perfect last-minute reservations for dinner, helicopter tours, diving and more. The products for sale poolside are ridiculously expensive ($22 for a small bottle of sunscreen? Really?), but I suppose that's the price for convenience. There are good dining options at the hotel, but many more fine choices elsewhere. Doesn't really matter where you choose to eat… you will pay, but the food is high quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top